We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Ladron de Agua to your Saves list
El Ladron de Agua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at El Ladron de Aqua with a group of friends in the beginning of March. It was a pleasure from beginning to end. Service is excellent, the location superb, breakfast both Spanish and European, beds comfortable, bath room spacios and the information about the history with all the rooms dedicated to Spanish writers and composers interesting. We will surely go back and will recommend the hotel to everybody going to Granada

Room Tip: The rooms towards the river might be noicy, but they supply earplugs and they have the fantastiv vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you found the hotel so much to your liking. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    102
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
274
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights in mid February. The staff was excellent, arranged our Alhambra tour and provided a lot of information. Breakfast was nice, but nothing hot. Hotel is well located just off the Plaza Nueva and close to many sites.

Our room was nice, bed was 2 twins together more or less, so a bit short but very comfortable. We did use the jetted tub which was a nice plus. We would give this a 5* review except for the thin walls. We were well aware of our neighbors bathroom habits both late evening and early morning. We understand the old building but it did impact our enjoyment of the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

No detail has been missed in this delightful boutique hotel nestled just below the Alhambra. The decor is a beautifully designed blend of Old World and New, and the staff is top notch. The exceptionally comfortable beds have a wide array of pillows and a soft duvet. This is our third stay, and we'll be back again when we visit lovely Granada!

Room Tip: We love the Generalife Suite - large, comfortable and stunning views - great value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Always a pleasure to have you stay in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

When visiting Granada, a beautiful city, a stay at this wonderful hotel is a must. Situated right along the river Genil, with views of the Alhambra from some of the rooms, this is a 15th century building which has been lovingly restored. The entrance is through a tall wooden door, and leads you into the reception area where we were made to feel welcome right away. There is a aura of peace and elegance as soon as you step into the central courtyard. A beautiful fountain suggests a restful atmosphere. The rooms are not numbered, but named. Each has a history which you will be handed along with the key to your room. The decor in ours was elegant and simple at the same time. Crisp linens, Molton Brown amenities, big fluffy towels, every detail thought out to make our stay memorable. Breakfast was plentiful, coffee delicious. After a long day of sightseeing, a nice glass of wine in the library was a fitting end to the day. We will be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the river. The view of the Alhambra from our window at dusk was breathtaking. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It is so nice to know that you were so happy with our hotel, its location and the comfort and services we offer. Welcome back to magical Granada and "El Ladron".....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are visiting the beautiful city of Granada, and don't want to stay in a typical formula hotel, then treat yourself to this individual gem. It combines traditional courtyard layout with modern amenities.

In the pedestrian area at the foot of the Moroccan-style old town, above the cascading river and with the Alhambra peering out above the opposite bank, you are in the middle of things and can walk to most parts of the city that you will want to see. The taxi rank is in the nearby square.

The helpful staff came to our aid, with a shaving kit for me and headache pills for both after overindulgence in the local wine at a nearby restaurant. The local tapas trail is very tempting...

Good breakfast buffet with plenty of fresh fruit and excellent coffee. Relaxing library for reading and resting.

Can't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Alhambra views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Please come see us again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is really stunning and in the best location in Granada. Every aspect has been carefully thought out and beautifully executed. Although the building dates back to the fifteenth century and retains all that charm and character, nevertheless the hotel is state-of-the-art in delivering its services. For us it was a truly wonderful experience, which we can confidently recommend to others.

Room Tip: Our room was "Fantasia Betica" on the second floor. The small balcony opened onto a stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are happy that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. Welcome back to magical Granada and "The Ladron"....!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

In the Albacin, and right beside the river. A gem of a boutique hotel. Couldn't have been better. Lovely comfortable beds, well equipped bathrooms with Molton Brown accessories, tv, friendly staff, a library full of books in various languages, bar/coffee shop in the entrance which is beautifully decorated - modern but blends perfectly with the lovely old building. And lovely and Fab.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and the comfort and services we proudly provide.
Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramón Jimenez’s journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern… all these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ladron de Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.