We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel and location, the old town ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Ladron de Agua to your Saves list
El Ladron de Agua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Granada
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel and location, the old town ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a open-courtyard casa, situated on the river, eliciting the ambiance of old Granada. It is located at the beginning of the old town, perfect location to feel the ambiance and to explore the old areas and the new downtown, walking distance to the entry of Alhambra. the hotel and the rooms are great, spacious, with a small balcony facing the river and the central street. the service was friendly, the rooms clean, the rooms and bathroom spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location second to none in Granada.
Also pleased to learn that you appreciated our staff and service, as well as our luxurious amenities.
Hope to see you back in magical Granada soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    101
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
273
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in September. Our room was the one at the top, the Generalife Suite.
The view from the room over the river and up to the Alhambra was magical, especially at night lying in bed. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. It was surprisingly quiet being so high up despite there always being a lot of activity on the street and along the riverside. The reception staff were always friendly, helpful and attentive. It was close to the main area of Granada and the Old Quarter which was a bonus. There are lots of nice places to eat nearby and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Granada at the El Ladron.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid the street noise. Rooms with a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are delighted that you so enjoyed you stay at our hotel and enjoyed our service and amenities. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lovely hotel with funky decor blending a modern fitout in a historic building. But what set El Ladron de Agua apart was the service. Even while booking online from Australia they were quick to answer queries and when we had issues booking Alhambra tickets, they went above and beyond to try and assist (even if in the end, through no fault of theirs, nothing was able to be done). This even went to extent of the hotel staff going to a local bank (who also sell tickets) a few days before we arrived to see if they could buy our tickets for us.

When we arrived, they apologised for not being able to assist, upgraded our room (room with a great view over the lower walls of the Alhambra) and provided a range of suggestions as to how we could make sure we get our Alhambra tickets...

The wine in the library between 1900 and 2100 is also a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff so helpful. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of October. As others have said location is excellent, and we found our room to be spacious and beautiful. The library area is a nice space to relax with a book but I was sorry that there wasn't an outdoor space such as a garden or roof terrace. There was very little noise from outside, but the sound proofing between rooms was very poor. Our neighbours liked to sing while using the bathtub bubble jets. We were lucky they weren't early risers! We didn't ask to change rooms but I'm sure the friendly and helpful staff would have accommodated this request, as we got the impression they wanted to look after their guests. Despite these minor points I left feeling pleased with my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are happy you were so pleased with our hotel, its location and our staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. Fantastic location, wonderful staff and federico di lorca(our room) was clean,comfortable and a lovely oasis. We enjoyed coming home in the early evening and opening our doors to hear the calming river sounds. Sherry and some nibblies every night in the lounge area is a nice touch.
We needed to leave VERY early on the morning of our departure and the overnight staff member made us tea and gave us a bag packed with water and some fruit for our train journey. Very thoughtful gesture.
Highly recommend

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
"Ticks all the boxes"…The best compliment anyone could give us. Thank you! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us on your next visit to magical Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exile in Utah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We happened upon this hotel while searching wifi at the last minute and we are so glad we found it. It had great reviews and we now know why. The location is wonderful, just across a stone street (wide enough for one car) across from the gently flowing river. It is mainly a pedestrian street and we found the night to be a quiet one although the hotel room was proactively provided with ear plugs....didn't need them. Upon entering through the fabulous old Granadan wood/iron door one feels a sense of timelessness and anticipation of finding treasure of some sort. But then again, I like really cool doors. The anticipation did not disappoint. Timelessness: a courtyard lobby open to the sky were it not for the canvas shade, appointed with comfortable furniture surrounding a softly bubbling fountain. Very relaxing and inviting after a busy previous week. The helpful staff was able to get Alhambra tickets for us for the next morning (more on that in another post.) Violeta was beyond patient with us as she explained for what must have seemed to her the 100th time which was the correct bus to take, where to catch it, what time to be there, etc. etc. Always with a smile, a genuine smile. She also directed us to a restaurant that satisfied our craving for a rather hefty meal.
After we checked in we went up to our room (named not numbered) and enjoyed the treasure of seeing antique style furnishings...a writing desk, a blanket chest, and a very comfortable bed. We stepped out onto our little balcony and enjoyed taking in the atmosphere of old Granada and the view of al Alhambra. After a bit of sightseeing we returned to our room to change for dinner and availed ourselves of the complimentary wine and tapas hour in the library room of the hotel. I wanted to stay there and enjoy the numerous books of Spanish poetry, biographies, travel guides, Spanish art history, picture guides of Spanish sites, history books, etc. etc. I was inspired to go onto Amazon and buy the Kindle bio of Federico Garcia Lorca after staying here. No time to tarry, we went on to dinner. And bonus...we enjoyed a rainy night in Granada...a rare treat. It was a delight to leave our balcony door open and enjoy the fresh air and rain all night. As we had the early tickets to Alhambra, we had to check out early since we would be heading to Costa del Sol after our tour. Once again, the amazing staff cheerfully offered to store our luggage while we did our sightseeing. Upon returning we were warmly greeted and assisted with whatever we needed. I would love to visit Granada again and see some of the things off the beaten path. I would definitely stay at El Ladron de Agua again and would hope to stay for more than one night. Special thanks to Violeta and the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are happy you so enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Your comments about Violeta are greatly appreciated. She is always service minded, friendly and has a great sense of humor….Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

When we were searching for a unique boutique hotel to spend our nights in Granada, this property ticks all the boxes in my criteria. Good review, central location, small but unique design and robust service. I can testify that those were really delivered when we stayed there. It's located at the centre, Plaza Nueva is just stone throw away, Cathedral and the shopping as well as bar and restaurants are all over this place. There is a small stream in front of the hotel and if you don't mind lifting your head a bit there's Alhambra on top of the hill also at the front of the hotel. It's a beautiful heritage building with a modern inner design, contemporary paintings and modern furniture blended nicely with antique stairs and railings. Makes no mistake, this is not an overwhelming contemporary hotel which is trying too hard to exist. Room is very nice, vintage finishing on the furniture equipped with a very comfortable bed. But alas, the shower is a bit small as well as thin wall hence we can enjoy the soap opera of the couple fight next door. But those are small things not overshadowing the overall experience. Staffs are really helpful and friendly, with a very good recommendation for place to eat. Try Carmella for all day tapas kitchen just about 10 minutes walk and you will not be disappointed. We tried the breakfast on the first day, small spread but quite adequate to start your day. Transport everywhere is very easy, Granada bus no. 31 makes a stop very near to the hotel and taxi is always available at Plaza Nueva. Recommended place to make your Granada visit a perfect one.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a bit more, room with balcony overlooking the cobblestone street and Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, General Manager at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted that you appreciated our hotel, the location and our staff. It is alway gratifying to have discerning travelers such as yourself give us such high marks. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramón Jimenez’s journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern… all these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ladron de Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.