We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel concept in the excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Ladron de Agua to your Saves list
El Ladron de Agua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Granada
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel concept in the excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a pleasure of staying at the hotel during my business trip to Granada and absolutely love it!

This boutique hotel is full of character with a rustic Spanish deco, modern touches like Molton Brown products, flat screen TV and an art gallery inside! The hotel beautifully embraces the concept of literature and art with monthly art exhibitions in the courtyard, library with wonderful books and Granada guides (make sure to try a glass of sherry and tapas that are left there for hotel guests!). Each room is not a number but takes its name from one of Spanish poems – these days you don’t get this very often.

And the location? Imagine a narrow street next to the romantic river, a stone away from Alhambra and 2 minutes from the best tapas bars in town. Make sure to look up and notice the art on the front wall of he hotel - stunning!

Of course, great staff makes a great hotel. They genuinely care about your stay and will provide you with plenty of suggestions in terms of great restaurants, tapas bars, flamenco shows etc.– always with a big smile on their face!

Thank you very much for making my visit to Granada very special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you found our hotel such a great experience. That´s why we are here, to serve you and make your stay comfortable.
Your comments about our staff, is much appreciated. I believe they do a terrific job and I will pass on your comments.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    101
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
273
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had the El Sueño de Isabel room on the third floor. Very quiet nice room with a partial view of the Alhambra. Nice bathroom and 5 windows in the room/bathroom. The location of the hotel could not be better to see the sites of this wonderful city. The decor and style of the rooms are wooden beams and rustic. Really liked it.The staff were very helpful and friendly. They offer free local sweet wine and olives and potato chips at 7-9pm in the library. They offer a breakfast for $12 Euro a person- did not have it so can't comment. Will for sure stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Had room El Sueño de Isabel room. Liked it. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...The room you stayed in is my favourite room; it is airy with lots of light and a views of the Alhambra. Our complimentary drinks and snack service is a favourite amongst our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed itl. It is also comforting to know that you were satisfied with the service and our staff, they are very dedicated and all of them have an intimate knowledge of Granada, its culture, the places to see, the best restaurants and tapas bars, and how to get around the city. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I knew the location was perfect before arriving but I was surprised at how nice the room was. I had a very large bedroom and bathroom with high beam ceilings. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was the perfect retreat after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for an ideal hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Nothing make us more happy than satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your experience. My staff will certainly appreciate your kind comments (and so do I!). Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and magical Granada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have visited many cities and areas of Spain, it is a vibrant country for sure.
When visiting a city however, it is often difficult to find a hotel that is in a good location for sight seeing while at the same time is peaceful enough to get the rest you so need to enjoy a new day out! Hotel Ladron de Agua is just such a place.
Moreover, the staff are bi-ligual and extremely willing to assist you in any way they can.
They are indeed a representation of a gracious host. You will sleep in dreamy comfort and whether you chose to wander the streets of the Albacin, trek up to the Alhambra or just indulge in some of Granada's fine cuisine for the evening... it's all just a saunter outside your front door!
I suppose the local "scene" could become a bit much in nearby Plaza Nueva in the heat of summer! But then you would not be in Granada then, would you?
Oh no, join the rest of the Spanish people and get ye to the playa!
All joking aside, this is a gem of a hotel in every way.

Room Tip: I did not eat at the hotel, save one day of 6 for breakfast. That is just my way. I generally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

WOW! Location, superb, very close to the main square and the beginning of the walk to the Alhambra, and close to the Moorish quarter.
Room, fanstastic, individual style with an amazing bed, not to mention the bathroom.
Very friendly staff who seemed to want to have guests rather than going through the motions.
And the price, even though it was Easter, the price was a steal.

Room Tip: As we only stayed in one room, and they are unique, its hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very well situated for the Alhambra and City Life. Staff are very friendly and the hotel combines the charm of the past with all modern ameneties. We stayed in February and it was cold outside.. Apart from the Alhambra all the other tourist attractions were closed for one reason or another.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in El Ladron del Agua for a short break in december. I chose the hotel because of the great location, but I must admit it was a great surprise. Amazing staff, always willing to help with directions or personal suggestions.

The room had a good standard. It wasn't massive, but enough for our stay. Very well featured, it has everything we needed. The corridor may be a bit too noisy during the morning, but it's not a big deal. I definitely will go back to this hotel in my next visit to Granada

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramón Jimenez’s journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern… all these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ladron de Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.