We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in energetic Granada Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Ladron de Agua to your Saves list
El Ladron de Agua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An oasis in energetic Granada Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have visited many cities and areas of Spain, it is a vibrant country for sure.
When visiting a city however, it is often difficult to find a hotel that is in a good location for sight seeing while at the same time is peaceful enough to get the rest you so need to enjoy a new day out! Hotel Ladron de Agua is just such a place.
Moreover, the staff are bi-ligual and extremely willing to assist you in any way they can.
They are indeed a representation of a gracious host. You will sleep in dreamy comfort and whether you chose to wander the streets of the Albacin, trek up to the Alhambra or just indulge in some of Granada's fine cuisine for the evening... it's all just a saunter outside your front door!
I suppose the local "scene" could become a bit much in nearby Plaza Nueva in the heat of summer! But then you would not be in Granada then, would you?
Oh no, join the rest of the Spanish people and get ye to the playa!
All joking aside, this is a gem of a hotel in every way.

Room Tip: I did not eat at the hotel, save one day of 6 for breakfast. That is just my way. I generally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    97
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
263
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

WOW! Location, superb, very close to the main square and the beginning of the walk to the Alhambra, and close to the Moorish quarter.
Room, fanstastic, individual style with an amazing bed, not to mention the bathroom.
Very friendly staff who seemed to want to have guests rather than going through the motions.
And the price, even though it was Easter, the price was a steal.

Room Tip: As we only stayed in one room, and they are unique, its hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very well situated for the Alhambra and City Life. Staff are very friendly and the hotel combines the charm of the past with all modern ameneties. We stayed in February and it was cold outside.. Apart from the Alhambra all the other tourist attractions were closed for one reason or another.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in El Ladron del Agua for a short break in december. I chose the hotel because of the great location, but I must admit it was a great surprise. Amazing staff, always willing to help with directions or personal suggestions.

The room had a good standard. It wasn't massive, but enough for our stay. Very well featured, it has everything we needed. The corridor may be a bit too noisy during the morning, but it's not a big deal. I definitely will go back to this hotel in my next visit to Granada

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I looked carefully at the map of Granada to choose this hotel. I wanted to be in the Albiaicin area (old town) but not far from the centre with the Cathedral and Royal Chapel. I did not want to climb up steep hills in order to get back to the hotel each night.
This is a stylish boutique hotel, which is perfectly placed in a picturesque spot by a stream; an oasis in what can be a bustling area. We had a standard room, so no Alhambra views but the minute you were in the street, the views were there. The room was very comfortable, the reception staff were very helpful with competent English language skills. The hotel displays art work and is is proud of the history of the building
Breakfast was not included but we found it good value and served in an attractive basement cellar. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGV, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As others have noted, the location is excellent. You can walk to the Alhambra (up a very steep street) not too far from the hotel, or take a bus from the Plaza Nuevo, which is a few minutes away. There are many tapas bars within a short walking distance. The Cathedral and the Royal Chapel (that contains the tomb of Isabel and Ferdinand) are around a 10 minute walk away.

The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming. They had a complimentary aperitif in the "library", which was a unique touch.

We paid a bit more for a deluxe room, which had a nice view of the Alhambra from a small balcony. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub with a shower head; however, it did not have protection (e.g., no shower curtain) when taking a shower, so the water splashed over the floor. The curtains and window shutters do an excellent job of blocking out the light. It is a little noisy, but the hotel provides earplugs. The room had hardwood floors; the bathroom had a brick floor. The stencils near the ceiling were a treat to have in the room. The wireless internet connection was not working when we were there. While there was a computer downstairs for guests, it also lost its internet connection.
The taxi from the train station to the hotel was around 7 euros. Even thought it is a pedestrian street, the taxi took us to the front door.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juan Ramon Jimenez room, which had a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is located at the foot of the hill where the Alhambra is located. It is on a quite street. This part of Granada is off limits to private cars so you must park outside the controlled area and take a taxi to your hotel.

The hotel is wonderful and I would highly recommend for any tourist visiting the Alhambra. the rooms are large and clean. The bathroom is also very nicely appointed. There are many restaurants within a block or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera del Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#15 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramón Jimenez’s journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern… all these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ladron de Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.