We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abadia Hotel Granada

Save Saved
You added Abadia Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abadia Hotel Granada
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 127 hotels in Granada
Germany
1 review
“A romantic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The ABADIA is a jewel in a somewhat poor neighborhood (however, we felt completely safe at all times). It is situated within a few minutes' walk to bus stops leading to both the central bus station in the north and the Alhambra in the south. The cathedral and the city center can be reached on foot within 10 minutes. Two reasonable supermarkets are close by. Some people may miss the breakfast (however, northerners will usually not miss the standard Spanish breakfast anyway). We were quite happy with a boiler to get tea or coffee anytime (the hotel offers the necessary items if needed) and a refrigerator. The hotel is indeed very romantic with its beautiful courtyard/patio. A nice place to sit outside on a summer evening with a bottle of red wine (recommendation: Marquez de Carceres, € 7 at the supermarket). The hotel is situated in a very quiet surrounding. The employees are very friendly and competent. Summing up we were very happy with our stay at the ABADIA and can recommend this charming place to everybody who prefers an individual touch to the way of living at international hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    162
    48
    21
    15
See reviews for
39
240
38
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010 via mobile

For a modestly priced hotel you certainly get your creature comforts and friendly service. The rooms are kept very clean, noise shouldn't be a factor. You might hear some occasional noise from the nearby university but it's never intrusive.
The staff are trilingual and happy to assist and help you with maps.
One setback was that the location was nothing special, but a 5-10 min walk and you're in the best parts of Granada.
As far as budget hotels go, this one is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The hotel is small and charming, very clean and about 10 minutes walking distance of the city center. It is near the University. There are lots of restaurants nearby. My friend and I are older women and we felt safe. The room looked down on the lovely flower bedecked patio. Nice place to have a glass of wine and relax. The young staff was very helpful, the desk was staffed 24hours and we were able to use their computer to get boarding passes for our flight from Madrid and to check on the ash situation and see if any of our airports were closed. I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I travel a lot and I can say that this is one of the better hotels I have stayed in for a while. It is small, intimate, very good staff and a good location. Try the Boogaloo club round the corner on Sunday evenings if you dig Jazz jam sessions. A delightful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

To answer so the problems other people have mentioned. The gypsy show they offer is a form of flamenco, it is mentioned in various tourist books; the deal they offer include transportation and a guide in that area you can book it yourself. The area is a middle class area. Most of the streets are well lite and you can avoid the unlit streets but walking a little out of the way. This is a major city so use the same discretion you would if you were in a large city back home.

There are plenty of local bars/restaurants that provide good, non-tourist food at local prices. Don't expect English menus.
The cathedral is about 10-15 mins away. Bus stops for all the lines are less then 5 mins away and there are full time taxi stops at the bus area.

Problems:
The walls and floors are very thin so make sure you get an upper floor room, besides that no problem with noise.
Also the signs pointing to the hotel are small and only visible if you come from a certain direction. The sign over the hotel is not that visible during the day, the wording is close to the color used for the sign, at night with the back light on it is visible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is a nice little hotel. On arrival, we were offered an upgrade to an apartment for the same price as our booked room, but as we had been travelling for over 12 hours, we were happy just to be where we were. Our room was small but pleasant just off a courtyard that would be lovely in fine weather. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is very good – we took a taxi from the train station as it was late, but walked back when we left. It is easy walking distance to the town centre and shopping district and, if you're keen, the Alhambra (but we caught the bus). Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed for two nights in a room on the 3rd floor. Room was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly though the street they recommended for dinner was expensive and not so good. Also they try to sell you on some gypsy show which seems a bit scammy. They have a locked room you can keep your bags in the last day. Close to the bus to the airport bus, see the location on the map they give you. The street its on looks a bit sketchy and its about a 20 min walk from the centre. A bit noisy. REMEMBER TO BOOK YOUR ALHAMBRA TICKETS IN ADVANCE ON THE INTERNET!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abadia Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Hotel Granada

Address: Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 127 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abadia Hotel Granada 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer 19 fully furnished rooms with television, telephone, fridge. Free WIFI high speed connection in all the hotel. Other facilities are 24-hour security and reception desk support only on week-end. A partner restaurant 100 metres from the hotel, with typically granadian cuisine. Air conditioning (or central heating), and a complete bathroom with hair dryer, bath products and some rooms with individual hidromassages bath(10 € extra), and one Suite room with Jacuzzi(30 € extra). The Apartment Abadia is situated 500 meters from the Abadia hotel and in a beautiful Granadian Patio too.ABADIA Hotel Granada (Casa-Patio del siglo XVI), uno de los más encantadores, romántico y fabuloso hotel al más puro estilo antiguo. Conocido dentro de la categoría de hoteles con encanto. A 10 minutos caminando de la Catedral y Albaicín y diez minutos en autobus de la magnífica Alhambra. El apartamento Abadia esta situado a 500 metros del Hotel Abadia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Abadia Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Abadia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abadia Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.