We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely... and we'll be back for sure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abadia Hotel Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Abadia Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Abadia Hotel Granada
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Granada
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely... and we'll be back for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a nice hotel, hidden on a quiet street, yet, still in the centre… as many previous reviewers have said, don’t be put off by the graffiti. While the neighborhood/streets of the hotel are not very attractive, we felt very safe and the hotel itself is very, very welcoming. As soon as you step in, a very small but beautiful hotel opens up. The Andalusian courtyard is a perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing…

Staff was very friendly and very helpful in giving directions, bus routes to the best parts of the city, what to visit, where to eat. And they spoke perfect English.

The private parking is in an underground locked car park opposite the hotel, and we had it included in the price (we booked through www.booking.com, very good price and pleasant experience). It is such a relief to lock your car away and roam through Granada without caring if it is a one way street or not :)

During our 2 weeks trip to Spain, we stayed in 5 hotels, and, in our personal top, Abadia was the best out of all 5. Without being a highly rated or modern hotel, Abadia impressed us with the warmth and attention to details. Small touches everywhere, and although we came from a completely different part of the world, and although Abadia seems to be a very traditional Analusian hotel, we really felt at home here.

And during your stay, don't miss the awesome stretch of tables selling all kinds of incredible local teas and spices (at the end of Calle de San Jerónimo, if I remember well, but I'm sure the front desk staff will be more than happy to explain you where it is).

We would definitely stay here again, especially that we loved Granada and the 2 days spent there were not enough to visit everything we wanted to.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REVIEWS69, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your review.
we are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are really happy to know that you appreciated the hotel itself as well as the staff, the room and the services we offer.
we hope to see you again soon in our beautiful town
best wishes
Hotel Abadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    76
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
124
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our pros/cons are below, but in the surrounding area we wanted to note: the hotel is within easy walking distance to the cathedral and Plaza Bib-Rambla. You can catch the buses to the Alhambra and Albaycin from outside the cathedral entrance as well. At the end of Calle de San Jerónimo (the street you take from the hotel to get there) there is an awesome stretch of tables selling all kinds of incredible local teas. Not to be missed!

PROS: The hotel is actually very close to the train station, and within a comfortable walking distance if you have small bags. If you have larger baggage (like we did) a taxi was only about €6. Walking is more direct since vehicles have to follow certain one-ways or sometimes can't turn left at a articular intersection. The staff was awesome (many were French, but spoke perfect Spanish and English) and very helpful when we asked about sights and getting around. While the neighborhood/streets the hotel is on leave something to be desired (lots of graffiti, sad), we felt very safe and the hotel itself is very, very charming. Overall, Abadia is a deal at the price we paid.

CONS: I'm not sure if our air conditioning was working properly or not, but it wasn't particularly cool in our room ever. They did supply us with a fan (thank god) but it had an hour and a half timer on it--not very useful when you want it on all night, but thankfully things seemed noticeably cooler at night anyway. We also had difficulty getting the WiFi to work with our computer repeatedly, and it never connected with our smartphones. The bathroom could have been a bit nicer, and the sink water smelled kind of strange--my boyfriend described it as old gym socks--though seemed fine for drinking. Birds were a bit annoying in the morning, though maybe this isn't a problem for rooms on lower floors.

Room Tip: Birds were a tad loud in the morning. We were on the second floor--maybe the ground or first would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REVIEWS69, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
dear customer,
thank you very much for your words.
we are really pleased to read that you liked the position of our hotel as well as our staff and we hope that you might consider coming back to our marvellous city.
Best wishes
Hotel Abadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My hubbie and I stayed at this hotel two years ago and were very pleased with our choice then. This time, we took two other couples with us and booked through booking.com, so got a very good room rate. The hotel is VERY difficult to find if you are driving, as we were, as it is enveloped in the one-way system, and my Sat Nav took us unto the city the 'wrong' way for the one-way system, but we gradually navigated ourselves around to the right direction and once you have done this, and can turn left at the hospital then you have cracked it. The private parking is in an underground locked car park opposite the hotel, and the manager on the desk came out to park our cars for us - it is a very steep drop into the car park, and after negotiating Granada to get to the hotel this was sheer bliss. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the very pleasant and knowledgeable staff we met during our two night stay. There is a very reasonable drinks menu (and a neat little fridge in the room). A large bottle of water was 1 euro - and it was chilled - perfect to buy on your way back into the hotel from a hot day's sightseeing. The front of the hotel is very poor - so as someone else has said please do not be put off by this. The rooms are very clean, and spacious. There is air conditioning. There is a kettle, mugs and glasses in your room - you can fill your own fridge if you want. You can buy a one person tea/coffee pack from the desk for 5 euro - or buy your own locally. The feel of the rooms surrounding the beautiful 'moorish' courtyard is so relaxing and seems very traditional to me. The hotel is quiet (and I sleep very badly) even though it is very central - perfect for the Grand Via and buses up to the Alhambra Palace. We did not take breakfast at the hotel preferring to all meet up at local cafes for tostadas and coffee. I would definitely stay here again, although having 'done' Granada twice in two years it may be some time before we return. I also have to mention the young woman on the desk our first night who helped us to book our Alhambra tickets, on-line, late one night after I had realised I had not booked them in advance (very important to do this)- I had forgotten to do this. She was superb - a real professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
dear customer,
we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your second stay in our hotel.
we are also really happy to know that you appreciated our efforts in trying to give our guests the best service we can, starting form car parking to drinks and so on. reading your comment it is clear that you appreciated all the little thing we offer to our guests and this is menas a lot for us. as you will surely know our hotel is quite new so we try to improve the service and its quality day by day.
we hope to see you again soon
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel is handsome and relatively centrally located, but did not stay here as the staff were nice enough to upgrade me to an apartment about a 5 minute walk away for 5 nights for the same price as the hotel. Got a living room, kitchen, washer/dryer, two bedrooms and bathroom. Staff was very helpful and it was nice to feel settled and comfortable for the 5 days I was in Granada. Cleaned every day, although the floors somehow always seemed to be dirty and uncleaned, which is my only complaint. Otherwise, loved the apartment and location, although a little out of the way. Extremely nice of the staff and owner to move me to the apartment for the duration of my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear customer,
we are really happy to read that you liked our apartment option and that you had a nice stay. actually, what we try to do is to make our best in order for the guest to feel confortable and to enjoy the stay here in our beautiful city.
we hope to see you again soon
best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

what a pretty hotel, tucked away yet right in the centre, the outside is a lot to be desired but dont be put off its a little oasis
the rooms were comfortable
the staff friendly and helpful
an excellent place to relax after a hard days sight seeing

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great value, stayed here for 2 nights. Small hotel with nice courtyard. Booked it short notice. As others have said, don't be put off by the graffiti, once inside you will find a nice simple hotel that is perfect to use as a base when exploring Granada. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Nice little hotel and very good value. Good location. SatNav recommended if you are driving - makes it easier to negotiate the one-way roads around the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Very quiet at night. Lovely courtyard for early evening drinks.

The only problem we had was that the air conditioning was a bit temperamental at times.

David B

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room overlooking the courtyard (10€ a night). I think it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REVIEWS69, Manager at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We were pleased to learn that you liked both the hotel as well as the city.
We hope top welcome you again in the future
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abadia Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Hotel Granada

Address: Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abadia Hotel Granada 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer 19 fully furnished rooms with television, telephone, fridge. Free WIFI high speed connection in all the hotel. Other facilities are 24-hour security and reception desk support only on week-end. A partner restaurant 100 metres from the hotel, with typically granadian cuisine. Air conditioning (or central heating), and a complete bathroom with hair dryer, bath products and some rooms with individual hidromassages bath(10 € extra), and one Suite room with Jacuzzi(30 € extra). The Apartment Abadia is situated 500 meters from the Abadia hotel and in a beautiful Granadian Patio too.ABADIA Hotel Granada (Casa-Patio del siglo XVI), uno de los más encantadores, romántico y fabuloso hotel al más puro estilo antiguo. Conocido dentro de la categoría de hoteles con encanto. A 10 minutos caminando de la Catedral y Albaicín y diez minutos en autobus de la magnífica Alhambra. El apartamento Abadia esta situado a 500 metros del Hotel Abadia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abadia Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Abadia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abadia Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.