We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it, my wife was less keen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Del Cobertizo

Save Saved
You added Carmen Del Cobertizo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmen Del Cobertizo
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   C./ Cobertizo de Santa Ines, 6, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Knowle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I loved it, my wife was less keen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I like staying in all types of hotel and enjoyed this one as it is slightly quirky and has an intimate feel. Welcomed at the large wooden door by one of the owners who spoke less English that I speak Spanish but greeted us with a large smile.

Our room was on the first floor, spacious enough and I found the bed comfortable although it could not be described as the best bed I have slept in. Shower room was definitely quirky. Water pressure not good and the shower curtain, although clean got the thumbs down from my wife.

Great location in Granada. Eat out for all meals and walked to most places although got a taxi for the sunset over the Alhambra Palace.

I would happily stay again, but I would be by myself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    15
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fantastic old-school palatial hotel, hidden in narrow old-town passages, with a courtyard garden and an alberca (arab-style fountrain serving as a mini swimming pool) for cooling down. You can see the Alhambra from the top floors. Very close to all important places and amazing bodegas with wine and tapas. Super polite and friendly service, especially the concierges Alejandro and Raul. Bit of a splurge, this one, but worth the extra euros for a feeling you're in a 19th/early 20th century style hotel filled with art and history. We kept joking it's like a mini version of the Grand-Budapest Hotel from Wes Anderson's new movie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I confess that I just don't get the overwhelmingly positive reviews for this place.

I stayed here 2 nights in June, 2014.

First, the positives. Excellent location, close to the city, close to the old section and close to the Alhambra. Charming and quaint, a restored 16th century building. The proprietor is very nice and exceedingly helpful.

Problem #1: This place represents itself as a "bed and breakfast", but BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE ROOM RATE. Give me a break.

Problem #2: The rooms are not air-conditioned. When I was there, it was 98 degrees at 2pm. While Granada does indeed cool off at night, this is irrelevant because…

Problem #3: the windows don't have screens. Now, basically all European windows don't have screens, but you either have to have screens or you have to have air conditioning. This place has neither.

So, the staff is very nice, and the building is charming, and the location is excellent, but, at the end of the day, the purpose of this transaction was for me to get some sleep. Not possible, at least not for me, at least not in the hot summer season.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Such a quaint place to stay in Albaycin area...so close to everything.
No mod cons like air con, TV or phone but not really necessary. The beds could've been a little more comfortable and the rooms got a little hot so wheat to change over the blankets and quilts a bit. Shower was great but just using shower curtain water tended to flow quite liberally onto the bathroom floor...perhaps shower screens might be better or a "lip" to stop water falling from the recess .
Staff were fantastic...so helpful land knowledgeable...thanks Raul, Sylvia and Alejandro.
Building steeped in history and antiques, high level of cleanliness.
Great...would definitely go again

Room Tip: We had a ground floor garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a really beautiful, historic small hotel in an excellent location in the Albaicin district at the foot of the Alhambra. On arrival we were offered a choice of room and chose to stay downstairs with direct access to the pretty patio which has a view of the Alhambra up above. The super friendly, helpful staff made our stay extra special and they recommended some great tapas bars and tea shops locally. A wonderful continental breakfast is served in the covered central courtyard which is a beautiful space with many interesting pictures and ornaments. Can't find fault with anything - we had a perfect 4 night stay here just wished for longer. We will be back hopefully next year.
NB. If you do drive to Granada you cannot access the Albaicin district so will have to leave the car at a car park and walk or taxi to the Carmen. We actually parked up at the Alhambra from where its a 20 minute walk up / down the hill. Its 18euros per 24 hours though if you don't like a steep hill you may be better off parking in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very close to the city centre and handy for the old quarter and the Alhambra, this traditional Spanish house has been converted into a 7 roomed hotel. The staff are very friendly and really try to be helpful, breakfast is provided and the setting is relaxed in the open courtyard.
Check if they have fixed the air conditioning in the bedroom we used if your going to use it (the Alhambra suite) before going, as it can get a bit noisy at night if you leave the window open to cool the room.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, warm air rises hence the comment on the air con. There is a lift for lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Property was beautiful, old Spanish Villa in great location, convenient to everything. However, if you have a car there is NO parking close by. You must park in public parking and take a taxi to hotel, you still have to carry luggage up two flights of stairs to get to get there. Room was spacious with charming vintage decor, that looked out into a pretty courtyard, bed not very comfortable and it was two twin beds pushed together so I got stuck in crack all night. Host and hostess were very accommodating and made us feel at home. Breakfast was good, home made yogurt and lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmen Del Cobertizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Del Cobertizo

Address: C./ Cobertizo de Santa Ines, 6, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmen Del Cobertizo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granada is the city of the Cármenes. One Carmen is a green space típcamente granadino, has something of garden and ... something of garden, quietude, smell of jazmines and lemon trees, ripple of water, trills of birds and conference wonderful of the Alhambra. And, in addition, in this case one impressive marries palace of the SXVI with a Shed of the SXIV, the ancient mas of oriental Andalusia. It has 4 rooms, all with bath, they can have breakfast, if they wish it and the service of cleanliness is included. If he needs some additional service it can put in touch with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carmen Del Cobertizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Del Cobertizo Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen Del Cobertizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.