We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swish, central - but very glassy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Palacio de los Patos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Palacio de los Patos to your Saves list
Hospes Palacio de los Patos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Solarillo de Gracia, 1, 18002 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Swish, central - but very glassy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel has most of the 5 star hallmarks. Beautifully renovated, attentive staff, good breakfasts, central location, etc. It consists of an older hotel building which I gather has more traditional rooms, and a newer building which we stayed in. The rooms in the newer building are certainly spacious and well equipped. However, there is a lot of glass used in the design - including the wall between the bedroom and ensuite! You can cover this with a curtain, but it is still a little alarming! There is a lovely garden to relax in, either in, or out of, the sun. The hotel is on the pricey side, and maybe not quite 5 star, but a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future so we have the chance to show you the XIXth century Palace rooms. Let us know when visiting again Granada and I will take care personally of your reservation.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    155
    72
    27
    12
See reviews for
94
352
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We only stayed one night (20 June) but we had a wonderful time, our room on the top floor was delightful with good quality furnishings, the marble bathroom was fine but might have been improved being just a shower room as it was not huge. Clearly the hotel had been renovated with style and design panache, which we loved. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a superb Spanish/modern dinner from the tasting menu, beautifully cooked and presented.
The attractive terrace bar might benefit from more staff to serve aperatifs in the early evening.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have more character though first floor rooms are more grand and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your last stay in our Hotel. Your comments, that have been shared with all the departments, helps us to improve our services.

We llok forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaanderen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Impressive hotel, built in the prewar old German embassy. The hotel consists of two parts - the historical building and a new modern part. We stayed in the old part, so we cannot judge on the modern part. Upon our early arrival, we were told our rooms were not ready yet. Staff took immediate action to prioritize our room. At reception not all staff speak fluent english. We spent a short while in the garden waiting for our room to be ready. The garden is most impressive, with wistaria growing, giving ample shade.
The hotel is well situated, on a short walk from the cathedral and the plaza nueva (from where you can take shuttles to the Alhambra, the bario, etc. )
The room in the old building has a bizar lay out, with part of the bathroom (the sinks) actually in the entrance. I understand that you have to compromise when you build a hotel in an historical building, but the bathroom itself was spacious.
This hotel gets only three stars from me because of a few glitches
- the bizar lay-out of the room
- we booked a flamenco evening through the hotel service (Al-Andaluz package - good value for money though) and the pickup service was 30 minutes late
- most of all, in the breakfast area you saw the traces of the family party. It was not cleaned as I think a 5* hotel should do. I must add that any where else the hotel is very clean and well maintained

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay at Hospes Palacio de los Patos.

We like to offer you our apologies, unfortunately we did not meet your expectations of well being. Customers feedback is the key for us to keep improving our product and service standars.

We want to assure you that your comments have been shared with the flamenco company in order to improve the timeliness.

I thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Marc Passola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is very nice but it isn't 5 star. It is in a great position in the centre of Granada, a short walk from the cathedral. The building is lovely. The room was fine, not much storage space though,ours was in the old building and in spite of being near a busy road the double glazing did the trick so it was pretty quiet. There was a lush green outside area to lounge in which was a real plus and the staff on the front desk were generally pretty friendly and helpful. The spa was a little disappointing: a tiny dark pool and sauna/steam rooms that needed to be switched on when you get down there. The breakfast was on the whole excellent. Lots and lots of choice but the service was very very slow and quite unfriendly. All in all, I would probably stay at this hotel again because we had a lovely stay but it is probably fair to say it is slightly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your last stay at the Hospes Palacio de los Patos, all your comments help us to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May and liked it very much. We had a fabulous room in the old building (room 40) to be exact which was truly amazing!! It was on the top floor and only one of three rooms on that level. It was a duplex with an amazing curved wall of windows in the bedroom and a gorgeous and very modern bathroom downstairs. We never hear ny noise at all so I am wondering if the other reviewers who mentioned this were staying in the new part. It is in a very convenient part of the city in a beautiful old mansion. You need to take a taxi to Alhambra and Albazyn area. The patio with a gorgeous wisteria canopy was wonderful. However, the service there and at breakfast was the worst we have encountered in Spain. In addition, the servers at breakfast were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. This really needs to be fixed. The desk service was good but not 5 star. Staff was so-so. This hotel lacks the special touches that would make a 5 star hotel but our unique room made this a special experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion.

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences encountered in your last stay in our Hotel. Your comments have been shared with the concerned departaments and an action plan is already in place to improve our services.

I thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a very modern hotel from the inside and classic from the outside. We checked in and were offered our requested room right away or to wait two hours and get upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Well, duh!!!! We waited two hours--actually went out to lunch and toured the wonderful Cathedral in Granada and came back to our suite. Had a soaking tub, shower, sitting room and deck. It was a treat.

The breakfast in the morning was very nice. A great buffet with your choice of ordering hot items--not necessary since the buffet was outstanding.

We were staying at a time when the Granada soccer team won a berth into the "top league" so there were a lot of firecrackers, horn tooting, and yelling into the night. We enjoyed the enthusiasm and pride of the locals for their team (altho wore ear plugs when went to bed!!). The Alhambra tour the next day was amazing. You have to plan ahead and get tickets for this.

My last thought on this hotel is that I would consider staying at a hotel right in the Alhambra. Our tour guide referenced it as a "penzionne????" and said you had to make reservations 6 months in advance. I would look into this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are pleased to know you had a nice stay in our Hotel and hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This really is a 2 star hotel. We are use to staying in really nice hotels,,, anywhere that Amex has as one of their "Fine Hotels & Resorts" - in this case we went with what Made for Spain suggested. Made for Spain really dropped the ball with this one. When we first arrived we were really impressed. The outside is beautiful, the entry way is grand and the front desk (literally, it's just a desk) folks were eager to help (something you learn not to expect in Spain). They quickly checked us in and brought us up to our room. At first glance, and being told this is a 5 star hotel, we thought it was nice. The first clue that we weren't in a 5 star hotel was the floor in the master bedroom. It looked very dirty but we assumed it was just old. I grabbed some toilet paper (there are no tissues in the room), wetted it a bit and swiped it on the floor ---- it came up black (gross). The shower / toilet room were OK, nothing fancy but not bad. The entry room held the sinks which have ZERO counter top space for toiletries. Not a big deal but worth noting (my wife and I like to spread our stuff out in the bathroom).

The Internet was "being worked on" when we arrived so I couldn't get online. No big deal but the point of this story is how the hotel continually dropped the ball. My wife and I went for a walk around town and when we came back a few hours later and the Internet was working. I got online and quickly realized the connection was about as fast as an old dial up modem. While I was getting some work done there was a knock at the door. They said they needed to check out the AC. Ok, our AC was fine but they said the neighbor's wasn't. They proceeded to move the bed, remove the headboard and start cutting open the wall. There were five guys in our room for over an hour, perhaps two. They put the room back together as best they could but they didn't want to repair the wall because "it make you head smell all night" - I guess he didn't want to paint that late in the evening. They never said thank you and never offered anything, even a drink.

At night it got worse. We got back around 12:30 and got ready for bed. While laying in bed, just about asleep, someone dropped something down the stairs. It sounded like 50 frying pans crashing down the stairs. Then I realized, we could hear EVERYTHING in the hotel. There were people upstairs walking around, talking, doors opening and closing (doors closing are the LOUDEST), the trash dumpster all night, the street. We travel 80% of the year, we're use to noise here and there,,, no big deal. This was, to say the least, excessive.

Other quick notes:
- The Internet never got faster
- They charge 3 Euro for Ice to your room
- The longest spa service is 50 minutes for 180 Euro and there are no alternatives in town

I would never stay here again and I would go out of my way to find another hotel. Best of luck

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio de los Patos, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests enjoy a fully revitalising experience.
First of all, I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies. Unfortunately, during your stay at Hospes Palacio de los Patos we did not meet your expectations of relax, well-being.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. I guarantee you we are already working to ensure that this will not occur again in the future.

I hope you visit us again so that we may have a second chance to show you our sound philosophy on guest relax and care.

Best regards,

Marc Passola
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Palacio de los Patos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio de los Patos

Address: Solarillo de Gracia, 1, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Granada
#3 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio de los Patos 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hospes Palacio de los Patos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio De Los Patos Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Palacio de los Patos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.