We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta de Las Granadas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Puerta de Las Granadas to your Saves list
Puerta de Las Granadas
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Recently spent portion of our honeymoon re-visiting this lovely hotel (my 2nd, my hubby's 1st). The likes: Where do I start?! OK, location, location, location. Nothing beats literally walking straight up from the hotel to get to the always amazing Alhambra - perfect! And walk in the opposite direction and you're in the middle of all the hustle & bustle that makes us love Granada - restaurants/tapas bars, transporation, more incredible sights.

Now let's talk other hits - Charming, great rates, well appointed with comfy bed, free wifi, great water pressure, lovely patio, and for just a bit extra, a great breakfast bar! They even had bubbly to help us celebrate our honeymoon - awesome! And the staff is so helpful & knowledgeable. I worked with Anna in getting our hotel reservations and Alhambra tix. Love her! She also helped in finding out about day trip into to Cordoba (which was iffy due to low interest). Once we arrived, the staff stayed on top of our Cordoba request, and it happened!! This team is the best!

The only miss is that if you're a luggage hog, which unfortunately described us :-( 'cuz we waaay overpacked), then just know that you're cutting down on the floor real estate. However this isn't enough to stop us from rating this this wonderful little gem of a hotel from getting a stellar rating!

Can't wait for our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard is quieter if you're a light sleeper. We had 3rd floor (think it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing our Hotel again to celebrate your honeymoon.

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city.

Our Hotel will always be delighted to return to greet you and although we have only a few rooms, we will always find a hollow for you here.

We are at your disposal for anything you need from Granada and from this small team that works for you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    204
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
77
307
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently during a sightseeing tour of Andalucia, well some of it! The hotel was excellent, great location for visiting the Alhambra and other sites and areas of Granada. We booked room 401 giving us great views of the Alhambra and the Cathedral, the room was very good, clean and spacious. The bathroom was a bit small but this was not a problem and the shower was good. Breakfast was good, continental as you would expect, and relaxed.The staff were excellent,friendly and helpful. On arrival we were welcomed warmly in fluent English and given good practical advice regarding visiting the Alhambra, restaurant recommendations were good ( they suited us). Would definitely recommend and use this hotel again.
ps There is no lift to the 4th floor,it finishes at 3rd floor but this was made clear on booking and it wasn't a problem. We arrived early and our luggage was in our room when we returned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your so kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, specially our Alhambra viewpoint room, and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yawk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are coming to Granada as a tourist, this is a wonderful hotel. I say this not in terms of the charm of the facility, but rather that the combination of the attitude of the staff as well as the location of the hotel make this a good choice for the traveler who plans primarily on exploring the city of Granada. In no way do I mean this as a criticism, but this is a hotel for people who do not seek a "resort experience" when traveling. The rooms are quiet (although the hotel is situated on the side street that leads to the Alhambra, and even this side street can get busy during the day) and comfortable. Free internet access via the hotel's computers is a nice perk, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your so kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our bottle of wine. We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The recommendation for choosing the hotel from Tripadvisor was spot on. The location is perfect, the hotel is spotless and attractively decorated for a "3star" property, which some of the commentators seem to have forgotten or have inflated egos but don't want to pay. The charming welcome on arrival is even enhanced with the provision of detailed verbal information on check-in. Can't fault it and will definitely stay there again at the next time.

Room Tip: Upper floors with view towards the Alhambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive opinion and your kind words. We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city. We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets.

For sure, It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We picked Puerta from the list in Lonely Planet's guide to Spain. I booked 2 days before via email using my phone in Lisbon airport. Almost immediate response in good english, explaining how to park in La Caleta public parking and take a taxi to the hotel. Yes, it's one of the closest hotels to the Alhambra, very handy. Our room was on the 4th floor (lift only goes to 3rd but the staff will carry your bags). Room smallish, but cosy with views across the city's tiled roofs. Bathroom not luxurious, but who cares. Buffet breakfast great value. Wifi great. Quiet. Friendly. Best of all, Carmen, the manager, is a goddess! SO helpful. SO knowledgable about what the tourist needs to know to enjoy Granada. Couldn't ask for more. She deserves to succeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your so kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, especially about Carmen, and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaitape, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May -- the location of the hotel is excellent and is within walking distance from most of the sights you would want to see in Granada. Rooms are very small, and breakfast is uninspiring. Staff were very nice and helpful. If you're planning to make a reservation here, come with the expectation that it's a two star hotel. I honestly felt that the place was not good value for the money I paid and I would have second thoughts about returning for that reason only. Other than that, kudos on the staff and location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your input. We fell sorry that the Hotel was not up to your wishes and desires.

Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff that always tries to do its utmost to be helpful.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently when visiting The Alhambra. Very good location about 20 mins downhill from the place.

We had room 401 which overlooks The Alhambra. It's a good size and very clean, with compact shower room, flat screen tv, safe and mini fridge.

Breakfast was very good, with choice of cold food including rolls, croissants, toast, hard boiled eggs, hams, cheese and jams, as well as cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit. You can help yourself to tea, coffee and juice throughout the day.

Staff all very helpful and fluent in English.

Nice terrace on second floor, where you can sit with a bottle of wine after a busy day sight seeing, and use of two computers on first floor. There is also a small terrace on the four floor where you can sit.

No parking at hotel as down a narrow street, but the hotel will give you directions to a carpark to use which was a 6 euro taxi journey, and if you pay for the carparking at hotel it's half price.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 401 has a lovely view and is larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive opinion, which helps us to grow and to recognize that we do things in a correct way. We cannot help but be glad that your stay with us has been so successful.

We appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We hope to return to welcome you on another occasion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
#12 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta de Las Granadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.