We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very helpful staff and reasonable facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta de Las Granadas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puerta de Las Granadas to your Saves list
Puerta de Las Granadas
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very helpful staff and reasonable facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just come back from a long weekend staying in this hotel and seeing the sights of Granada.

The hotel itself is ideally located. Sat on the road up to the Alhambra, just next to Plaza Nueva with Carrera del Darro running through it, which is directly next to the Albaicin area and just around the corner from the cathedral. Whilst this is a lot of references just a quick glimpse at the Granada top 10 things to do will tell you they are almost all next to this hotel.

With the hotel the most noticeable thing is how helpful the staff are. Prior to our visit they contacted us with details of how to get there from the airport and also organised our tickets to the Alhambra (essential). Their English is very good, something I usually take for granted but you'll notice quick enough in Granada that this is not a general skill, and they are always happy to help with anything.

The hotel is also extremely good value. We had the Alhambra room with views of the cathedral and the Alhambra and paid around what I might expect from a city centre travelodge. The room itself was clean and reasonably spacious but be warned if you book this room, or any on the 4th floor, that the stairs leading up to it (lift only until 3rd floor) are quite tight and I wouldn't recommend for a pensioner.

My only criticism of the hotel would be the bedding in that it was blankets and sheets rather than a duvet. To me this seemed quite old fashioned and wasn't as comfortable but that is a personal preference. They also fell foul of one of my pet hates of the hotel industry in recent years, this insistence of tucking the blankets, sheets, duvet etc under the mattress. You need to remove them to be able to get into the bed and by doing so it is impossible not to remove the sheet over the mattress at the same time. This results in you having to remake the bed yourself, tucking the sheet around the mattress again. This seems a small thing but I don't pay for a hotel to make my own bed and find it extremely irritating.

All-in-all a good stay and i'd happily stay there again, the 4 out of 5 is to do with the bedding as there is nothing else to complain about.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms have the best views but only book if you're mobile enough to get up a tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We feel deeply sorry that the bed was not up to your wishes and liking, we would have arranged it accordingly if we had been informed.

Likewise, We are very grateful for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you
.
We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    224
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
86
330
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in a great number of hotels including 7-stars, but every hotel pales in comparison to this little hotel tucked at the foot of the Alhambra. The reason? Incredible INCREDIBLE staff and service. I had a problem in getting the refund for an Alhambra ticket and the hotel staff sorted it out with great tenacity - talking to Alhambra for 3 months and finally making a refund themselves on Alhambra's behalf as Alhambra couldn't put it back on my card. I am sure it meant they had to make accounting adjustments and I do not know any other hotel that would go to such extent to help a guest who had stayed just once for 2 nights! I stayed in the Cathedral room - small but perfect for sleeping in the night as I do not expect anyone to stay in the room for long while in Granada. The staff was extremely friendly in explaining where to go and how - everything was within a short walking distance, very convenient location. A little gem. Thanks for your incredible help - Ana, Katia, Carmen, Francisco, and anyone else I may have missed!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cathedral room on the top floor - view is okay - try to get the Alhambra room opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words; We feel overwhelmed!!!

We are really glad that this entire situation did not ruin your memories of your visit to Granada and our Hotel. As you already know, We try to do our best trying to give a good service and we really appreciate your opinion.

Thank you so much for your patience; it was a pleasure to have you here with us, even if it was just for two days.

We hope to see you again in Granada!

The best regards, from all the Hotel Puerta de las Granadas' Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I loved staying at Puerta de Las Granadas, it's a small, charming, well-equipped hotel, very close to the Alhambra in the old part of town. I had the Allhambra view room and the views were so romantic - well worth paying that little bit extra for. The breakfasts were copious, and were available all day. But the best part, was the incredible service. Upon arrival I had lost some valuable luggage at the airport, and the staff spent an hour on the phone tracking it down for me, and arranged for delivery to my room. They were also so helpful with directions, reservations, advice etc etc, just really great people who are terrific at what they do, and also genuinely care about their guests. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Granada, and I will certainly stay there again when I return.

Room Tip: Go for the Alhambra view room - overlooking the beautiful tiled rooftops, with the Alhambra so close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment.

We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our Alhambra Viewpoint Room..

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests to feel "like home", and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Puerta de las Granadas is a fantastic option for seeing the best sights of Granada. Located about a 10 minute walk from the Alhambra with easy access to the cathedral and the best tapas places as well. My single room was no frills - you shouldn't be expecting a room with all kinds of flourishes. But it was very clean, had great water pressure in the shower, no problems with SI-fi, etc. Breakfast was pretty standard Spanish fare (cured meats, cheese, etc.). The staff is incredibly helpful. They pointed out a lot of great tapas places in the area (highly recommend Los Diamantes on Navas) and ordered Alhambra tickets for me (also highly recommended to buy tickets in advance to skip the massive queue). This is a great value option hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive opinion and your kind words.

We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city,

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madaba, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location was excellent and the people were so helpful. Even before we arrived, they booked our Alhambra tickets for us. During our stay, they were always happy to give information or answer questions. It was a very welcoming place with a terrace, rooftop viewpoint, downstairs cafeteria, and brandy, anis, and sweets out in the arrival area to which guests could help themselves. The rooms were clean and spacious enough with a nice TV and well-stocked minibar. The bathrooms were a bit small, but the showers were great and there was plenty of hot water. We felt like we got an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor zero have no windows, only a skylight. Rooms that face the street have small balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your so kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I agree with most reviews here, the hotel is very well located, just a couple steps from the main entrance to the Alhambra going uphill, and just around the corner from Plaza Nueva going downhill. It is on a quiet side street, and the double glass windows help block the noise of any eager early visitors on their way to the Alhambra.

The other great 'pro' of this hotel is the service: they really want to make sure you make the most of your visit in granada and will help you get into the Alhambra if you left buying tickets to the last minute. Very eager to give directions and recommendations.

The hotel is small, probably around 10-15 rooms only, all quite small. Most people only stay for 1-3 days in order to visit the Alhambra, and this hotel will do fine, but I would like more space if kids are involved or if staying longer. Room is quite small, and so is the bath.

Although there was nothing noticeably dirty, the room didnt feel quite spotless, I think it is the usual wearing down, and because it was quite humid, the bath did have a bit of smell.

The beds were not the most plush or comfortable, but I was able to get a good night sleep.

Overall I had no major issue with the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. Your review will help us, for sure, to improve the quality of our services.
. Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Further on in Andalucia, we booked in to Puerta in Granada. I had communicated our frustration with the noisy rooms in previous hotels, and to our delight we were upgraded to the Alhambra view room (top floor, walk up the last story from the elevator that stops on 3) if we agreed to buy breakfast each day. No question at all it was worth it. Great support before arrival, including help with booking the Alhambra (absolutely essential in warmer seasons); advice on where to park (a bit distant, a 7 euro taxi ride each way, but a discounted rate paid to the hotel); close to the Alhambra itself and to taxi stands and bus 30 to take you up to the top (do that, save your energy for the visit); good buffet breakfast. Our room (I think the only one called Alhambra view) has that and also a good view of the cathedral and town. There are several outdoor balconies to sit in warmer weather. Individual heat/cooling, but beware that a wall switch in addition to the key-card switch has to be activated. Minibar/refrigerator. One issue: the “matrimonial” was twins pulled together, but on wheels they easily moved apart (tie bed legs together or re-sheet the beds sideways with the lower sheets overlapped crosswise). No question we’d come back to Puerta again. Not the best hotel on our trip, but a close runner-up.

Room Tip: The two upper level rooms may be worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your kind words and your opinion in TripAdvisor. As you know, all the staff of the Hotel always tries to do its utmost to be helpful. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#16 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta de Las Granadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.