We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Universal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Universal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Recogidas 16, 18002 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 128 hotels in Granada
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights in this hotel with my family (four people in total). The location of this hotel is so central we did not use the car or public transport, other than the tourist bus, the whole time we were there. The people are friendly, the hopping is amazing and you can immerse yourself in the history of the place completely as every corner contains another historic building or structure. The room we were in was roomy nod comfortable. The decor s a little dated but the hotel is being redecorated on a gradual basis. A great place to stay

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    46
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
67
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I kept changing my mind about this hotel, so I'll try and review this with the pros and cons.
Good points:
The location is excellent, near to everything.
The man on reception was fantastic and very helpful.
The car park is just opposite the hotel and reasonable for the centre of Granada (15€)
The breakfast is not buffet and is as you'd get in a café. You pay for what you order and we had an enormous freshly squeezed orange juice, toast and coffee for 5€ each. The waiter was very friendly too.
The rooms were clean.

Bad points:
The rooms were very small.
The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that goes on next door.
We had to sit sideways on our toilet because it was in a very strange position (almost under the washbasin).
The carpet in the hallways needs replacing. It looks very dirty and scruffy and is a shame as the rooms themselves seem to have been refurbished.

So, as you can see, I think there were more positive points about this hotel and to be honest, the location and the price makes this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions as I find the close proximity to the City centre very good. Last time we travelled by train from Almeria and then caught a taxi to the hotel. There is a very good car park and the staff are quite happy to park your car and retrieve it on departure from the bowels of the underground opposite. The cafe bar on the top floor is ideal for breakfast or a drink between shopping/sightseeing, and the views across to the Sierra Nevada are very good. The rooms are on the small side but it doesn't get much use normally, just for sleeping and showering. The Bib Rambla is just by the Cathedral and great for chilling out with a drink or tapas or wandering round the excellent shops. All in all excellent value for money in my estimation.

Room Tip: The fifth floor is very quiet, and not far from the bar, although the single rooms are very small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel in October 2011. I have no special impression of it, but it was clean, the staff very friendly and receptionists speak English, if it's important for you. Maybe I was lucky, but I didn't suffer from any noise. I think< it's a good decision for this price. Of course, the room was rather small ( at least mine, it was a single room), but if you're coming to see the city, but not to sit in the room, it's a good choise. And I like the location. In the city centre and not up the hill. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is in a great central location and ideally situated for visiting the central sights and shopping district. Although the hotel lobby has been updated recently and looks great in the photos, the rooms haven't been finished to the same standard which lets the hotel down.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable but are a little small and the one we stayed in faced into a gloomy internal courtyard, although they do have everything you need. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly & helpful, and the hotel has underground parking across the street (EUR14 per night) if you arrive by car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed two nights at this small two stars hotel. I was part of a group of bikers. The hotel is comprised of 6 floors and is located very well in the middle of town. There is parking across the street (E14 per night) and loading and unloading is easy. The rooms are small but nice and clean and so was the bathroom. The rooms are a little dark and the one I was in was facing an inner court. There is free wifi but is terribly slow. The other thing which is unordinary is the 6th floor coffee shop, which seems to be ran apart from the hotel and I found to be sub standard compared with local food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

This is a very centrally located hotel. The front desk staff are very helpful and most sights, excluding the Alhambra, are a short walk away. Breakfast is served on their roof top terrace and is worth the few Euro. We enjoyed our stay here, and if you don't mind hopping a bus to the Alhambra, this would be a great base for your Granada explorations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Address: C/ Recogidas 16, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 128 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel (Refurbished in 2008). Located in the centre of Granada. Services offered are cafeteria, car parking and hire, fax/photocopy facilities, laundry, free internet access via Wi-Fi throughout the hotel or in the computer lounge, TV lounge, change of currency, luggage storage and full central heating. The rooms are fully air conditioned with Wi-Fi, telephone (direct line), minibar, Digital Plus and fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.