We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with great facilities for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino de Granada Hotel

Save Saved
You added Camino de Granada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino de Granada Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Antigua de Malaga S/N, 18015 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 127 hotels in Granada
Nelson
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with great facilities for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had three nights in this hotel and chose it for these reasons: easy parking (on the street for free or underground carpark under hotel for 6 euros a night), easy to get into the city by bus, and it has a gorgeous swimming pool and nice, reasonably priced restaurant and bar. It is in a fairly bland area of Granada but the price was really good and we didn't want to be in town becuase of the cost of hotels and the huge cost of parking (most hotels seem to charge 16 or 17 euros per day). There are other restaurants very close by, but the hotel one is nice and you can get things like a wood fired pizza for eight euros. Having read other reviews, we asked for a room in the so-called new block of the hotel, which is separate to the main building and was very quiet with a large spacious room, 2 wider-than-single twin beds and a view of the pool There are only 2 floors and I would recommend 2nd floor facing the pool, as other rooms probably don't have much of a view, if any. Sadly no fridge in the room, which is always a bit disappointing, but otherwise we had a great room with plenty of space. There is a bus, number 4, that takes you into the centre of Granada, and the bus stop is opposite the hotel, so that was a definite plus for us, as driving in Granada is a total nightmare. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms 401-419 which are on the 2nd (top) floor, large and face the swimming pool, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The rates were so reasonable (i.e. cheap) that we booked 2 rooms for 3 people for 2 nights. We parked the car in the front lot (free) and took the very conveniently nearby bus into the city for 1.2 euros. We wisely didn't want to deal with parking in Granada. The rooms were no frills, but spotlessly clean and we slept well, although one of us heard noise in the hallway made by people coming in late at night. We did have very reasonably priced drinks and tapas in the hotel's food court and the waitress (Pam I think) could not have been friendlier. The extremely helpful woman at the front desk told us where to go for tapas in Granada and she sent us to a perfect location (Bodega Castenada - the kind of place you want to go to experience the locals). Climbed the steep steps thru cliffside village to Albayzin area (I loved both the climb and the area, although some in our group were a bit complaining) and then walked to the Alhambra. I have since learned that the red and white mini-vans marked Alhambra take you up to the Albayzin area for free.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the "new building" after reading tips on TA. Each room had a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Having booked the hotel through Onhotels.com we payed €78 for 3 nights B&B. We wondered if it would be a tip of a place.But to our amazement the place was really nice. Yes it was located in an industrial estate,but the staff were very pleasant indeed and spoke broken English and very helpful. The rooms were quite large, airy and clean ( Zona Club ) Breakfast did its job by filling us up until late afternoon.On the first day we had no hot water but when we reported this to reception it was sorted immediately. As with other reviews there were no plugs in the bathroom,so we purchased one from a Ferreteria for €1 and had a lovely hot full bath.Ideal after walking around the Alhambra! The bus service in Granada is second to none, with the bus stopping outside the hotel every 10 minutes. Overall we were very satisfied with what this hotel offered.

Room Tip: Ask for Zona Club and take your own bath plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is an out of the city hotel and not very far from the A-44. The room, in the Zona Club section, was spacious, clean and comfortable, but plugs in the bath and basin were missing. There weren't any tea/coffee facilities either. There's wooden flooring throughout this part of the hotel and it can get noisy when guests from coach parties go to breakfast very early.
As for breakfast, by about 9.15 the bacon was luke warm and the majority of the other dishes were cold.
On the other hand, the restaurant attached "La Cocina De La Abuela Maria" does a good Menu del Dia for 10 Euros and it includes a drink. The Cafeteria is also very pleasant.
Leave the car behind and get a number 4 bus into the city.The bus stopped on the other side of the road and the fare was 1.20 Euro. The Cathedral stop at Gran Via is where you can alight. (Ctra. Malaga 8 or 9 are the stops for the return journey.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had hired a car and found this hotel with little difficulty, it's well signposted from the main road and we had no problem getting parked outside the hotel. We were welcomed and checked in with no bother as the reception staff spoke some English and we had some useful Spanish words &phrases. Our room was in the attached 'new building', it was really clean, spacious and quiet, the bathroom had the usual (hairdryer, towels, shampoo, soap etc), was lovely and bright and had plenty of hot water.
Any request we had was met with courtesy and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a couple of beers in the cafe and some lovely tapas (which were free as in most parts of Granada).
We used this hotel as a stopover as we had planned to spend the following day in and around Granada and were travelling on from there.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone travelling by car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
featherstone
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Went by car for a couple of days sightseeing,should have stayed in another hotel but when we arrived it was closed,apparantly air con not working so we were advised tu go to Camino ,really good as we were very near city centre,the hotel was spotless, we overlooked pool which was clean and a couple of families were using.we booked room only so cant comment on quality,but when we arrived back in the evening there was bbqs in the outside dining area on both nights and plenty of people were eating.There is a bus stop opposite so we left car there ,fare was 1.20euros a journey but if you paid a particular lump sum you could have several trips saving you money

Room Tip: there are only 2 floors so you cant really have a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel itself was pleasant, reception was helpful and the general area of the hotel are nice to look at - lots of water features.

However, the room was just OK. There were NO WINDOWS in the entire room, only a tiny balcony which overlooked the inside of the hotel.... which wasn't very pleasant.

There were no English TV channels at all.

The breakfast was awful, it said it was on until 10am but if you got there after 8am they would not replenish the food and it was stale and cold.

There was one computer for pay per minute internet in the bar. The bar food was ok. The bar staff were rude and overcharged us for a bottle of wine and made us wait ages just to get the bottle opened.

Don't order pizza from reception. We ordered and specifically asked for vegetarian pizza and received ham and pineapple.

It is easy to get a taxi into Granada (about 7-8 euro) and the receptionists were always helpful in ordering a taxi, but if you get lost and can't find a taxi in Granada they won't help you get back!!

The pool was disgusting. It was full of dirt and dead wasps the whole time.

The hotel is useful if driving to Granada as we were, but I would stay somewhere else if I had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camino de Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino de Granada Hotel

Address: Carretera Antigua de Malaga S/N, 18015 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 127 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino de Granada Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although this hotel is located on the outskirts of Granada and on the road to the airport (which is just 15 minutes away), it is easy to reach, as there is a bus stop right opposite the building. The hotel has two floors, and it is decorated in the purest Andalusian style and surrounded by gardens. The rooms are all fitted out with the most up-to-date fittings and furnishings, while there are also beautiful gardens and swimming pools, making it an ideal place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Camino de Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino De Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino de Granada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.