We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, wouldn't return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camino de Granada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Camino de Granada Hotel to your Saves list
Camino de Granada Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Antigua de Malaga S/N, 18015 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 128 Hotels in Granada
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not great, wouldn't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel itself was pleasant, reception was helpful and the general area of the hotel are nice to look at - lots of water features.

However, the room was just OK. There were NO WINDOWS in the entire room, only a tiny balcony which overlooked the inside of the hotel.... which wasn't very pleasant.

There were no English TV channels at all.

The breakfast was awful, it said it was on until 10am but if you got there after 8am they would not replenish the food and it was stale and cold.

There was one computer for pay per minute internet in the bar. The bar food was ok. The bar staff were rude and overcharged us for a bottle of wine and made us wait ages just to get the bottle opened.

Don't order pizza from reception. We ordered and specifically asked for vegetarian pizza and received ham and pineapple.

It is easy to get a taxi into Granada (about 7-8 euro) and the receptionists were always helpful in ordering a taxi, but if you get lost and can't find a taxi in Granada they won't help you get back!!

The pool was disgusting. It was full of dirt and dead wasps the whole time.

The hotel is useful if driving to Granada as we were, but I would stay somewhere else if I had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

While for most people, the fact that this hotel is outside of the city centre is a negative aspect, for road trippers, it means that parking is free, convenient, and stress-free! Granada is one of the most difficult cities in Spain to park, but there is ample outdoor parking outside of the hotel, and a convenient bus will take you into the city centre in about 15 minutes. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! The interior decorating is amazing and mimics the Alhambra Palace. The hotel also has a beautiful pool which is open for swimming in the summer.

Should you stay here, book online through quierohotel.com as they usually have the cheapest rate. Request a room in the "ZONA CLUB", which is the newer section of the hotel and the rooms are bigger and better than the older part. The breakfast buffet is OK, but nothing special. Rather than paying for it, I'd recommend ordering breakfast in the hotel restaurant, where you can get a much nicer coffee, fresh juice, and a tostada. In the summer, the restaurant also runs an outdoor barbecue at night which is absolutely fantastic.

This was my third stay at the Camino de Granada, and I plan to return again this summer!

Room Tip: Request a room in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed 3 nights on a room only basis and was very pleased with our stay.
Great location if travelling by car, as said before, great bus service across the road, therefore no need for driving into Granada.
I had checked location on google earth and so had no problem finding hotel, also very easy to get back onto Autovia Sierra Nevada without going near Granada centre.
Everything fine, beautiful pool and surroundings, even if a little overdone, we had breakfast one morning and it was not very good, but I would recommend room only, and perhaps we were just a little unlucky with our breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenshelado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We arrived to this hotel by car. It was easy to find but it is outside of the tourists maps. We left the car outside but if you prefer you can park inside with a small rate. We traveled to the city center by bus. You can go an visit everything and is quite cheap. The room was very good. A lot of space and the bathroom was fantastic. We enjoyed the pool. It is open from 10 am.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed here two nights in late October. The hotel is a great value considering that the main sights in Granada are a 20 minute bus ride away. Our room with private bath was very clean and quiet, beds were quite comfortable and staff was friendly and helpful. Based on previous reviews, we asked to be put in the new section and were happy with that part of the hotel. Breakfast was not included but we purchased it on one of the two mornings that we were there and it was one of the best we had on a 7 week trip. We also ate dinner there and it was also good. I would consider staying here again if I did not care about being in the center of things. Others reported the hotel as being diffiuclt to find, but our taxi driver (from the bus station) knew exactly where it was.

The only thing that we found unpleasant was a very strong odor outside. The hotel is on the edge of town and we think that some fertilizer smell was blowing our way. I expect that this was an unusual occurance, but it made being outside (e.g. at the pool) impossible. Fortunately, with doors and windows closed, none of the odor bothered us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed here three nights. Would go back if we could get in the back section, which is newer.
The bus stop across the street is a plus--would not recommend taking a car into Granada. Industrial neighborhood. We parked car across street to save the hotel fee. Be sure you know exactly how to get there upon arrival in Granada--we had trouble finding it the first time. I would go in from airport.
First room terrible. Bad smell, room kinda shabby, no air conditioning, lots of street noise meant sleepless night. It was HOT and I asked at desk about A/C and was told they had not converted all rooms over from heating systems yet. The next morning, I complained to manager about odor, street noise, and odor and they moved us to back of property, MUCH nicer room, larger, better bed, so much better situation. Desk clerk is pleasant, helpful, and cordial but only speaks a little English so glad when my daughter could help with room issue.
They are fixing up lobby, hope the next project is the rooms in older section--they really need update and odor is pretty bad. However, I would stay there again if we could be placed in newer section due to easy parking and bus stop.

  • Liked — Location near bus stop, second room really nice
  • Disliked — First room bad odor, no air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

The hotel is nice and clean, with big rooms even it is a little far from the town.
BUT...
-it was very hard to find
-if you want to use the parking beneath the hotel there is an extra charge (however you can park outside for free if you find a place)
-the swimming pool was not functional

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino de Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino de Granada Hotel

Address: Carretera Antigua de Malaga S/N, 18015 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino de Granada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although this hotel is located on the outskirts of Granada and on the road to the airport (which is just 15 minutes away), it is easy to reach, as there is a bus stop right opposite the building. The hotel has two floors, and it is decorated in the purest Andalusian style and surrounded by gardens. The rooms are all fitted out with the most up-to-date fittings and furnishings, while there are also beautiful gardens and swimming pools, making it an ideal place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Camino de Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino De Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino de Granada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.