We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same good experience as at sister hotel in Sevilla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa 1800 Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Same good experience as at sister hotel in Sevilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We (57 y.o. married couple) stayed at Hotel Casa 1800 Granada for 2 nights in mid-June 2014 after traveling from a 3 night stay at their sister hotel in Sevilla. We liked the Sevilla hotel and we also liked the Granada hotel. The Granada location is great for walking to all tourist sights. It's just a short block off Plaza Nueva, hidden away in the beginning of the maze of pedestrian streets (and stair/streets) that is the Albaicin district. We took the train from Sevilla to Cordoba (day trip) and then on to Granada, arriving at about 21:40. A short cab ride deposited us at Plaza Nueva, and the hotel's directions made it easy to find on foot by 22:00. We had previously communicated our late arrival, and someone was at the desk ready to check us in, offering two glasses of sherry and a bit of cheese from the set-up in the lobby. Like the Sevilla hotel, Casa 1800 Granada is a chic renovation of a courtyard house, and it is nicely decorated. The rooms and baths are a bit small by U.S. standards, but perfectly nice. Ours had a small window that looked into the internal courtyard, so yes, a bit airless as a previous reviewer noted. The solution for this (in the late springtime) is to leave a keycard in the slot when you go out, turning off all the lights but leaving the small AC unit on. Removing the keycard not only turns off all the lights automatically, but it cuts all power to the room, even that connected to the AC. Since there is no central system, your room can become a bit stale with the AC off. I recognize that this thwarts some of the energy-saving objectives, but Americans will not be happy returning to a room that has had no AC nor ventilation all day. Otherwise we experienced the same great staff service, same good quality €9 breakfast, and same free afternoon tea as in Sevilla; and we benefitted from the same great ambiance and central location. Plaza Nueva is a 2 minute walk away, the Cathedral a 4 minute walk, even the Alhambra's Pomegranate gate is only a 10 minute walk up nearby Cuesta de Gomerez. Based at Hotel Casa 1800 you are also surrounded by the Albaicin's tapas bars (I recommend Bodegas Castaneda on Calle Almireceros as the real deal, not the similarly named Antigua Bodega Castaneda), tea houses (we had fun in the Ali Baba on Calle de la Caldereria Nueva), and even a Flamenco tablao (we saw a good show at Le Chien Andalou on Carrera del Darro as a quicker alternative to a walk up into Sacramonte). Final tip if staying in this area: we had one of the best 'free walking tours' that we've ever had in any city with Nicolas of Pancho Tours. His Albaicin and Sacromonte walking tour meets every day at 11:00 at the Plaza Nueva fountain, and is not to be missed. He is a font of humor and information, and you will gain access to spots that you will never find on your own.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    245
    61
    13
    9
See reviews for
151
619
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent customer service! Jose was super helpful! I've emailed him while we were on the train heading to Granada to enquire about the best way to reach the hotel and also request for an additional bed in the junior suite we booked and everything was arrange for when we got there. When we arrived at the train station there seemed to be a shortage of taxis so I called him to get his advice on what to do and he called the taxi company and asked them to send more taxis our way which they did! Location wise it's perfect as you can walk to the city centre in a few mins, lots of options for eating around, shopping, taxi stand 2mins away....
I would def stay here again and will recommend it to my friends. They have a hotel in Seville too which we tried to book at as we were heading there next but unfortunately it was fully booked. We've passed next to it though when we were in Seville and it's right in the city centre so perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having stayed at the wonderful sister hotel in Sevllle this was a huge let down
The location is reasonable at the bottom of the Alhambra hill but having to negotiate Granada to a car park then lug cases up to street level, then take a 6 euro taxi ride, then a 100 yards with cases over cobbles, it is just not worth the effort for the location alone.
The hotel is in a very well restored old building but having said that it lacks warmth and a certain quality and colour.
Our room was perfectly adequate, quiet and reasonably comfortable except for the shower. The hotel boasts of offering fantastic aqua massage showers, ours was impossible, it shot out jets of very hot water in all directions and would not switch off. The shower cubicle had no sealant along the wall/door join. The result was a bathroom flood. True we were given towels to soak up the waiter and a man moped the floor. We asked that the shower be mended, nothing was done and in truth nobody seemed to care. When we checked out the woman on the desk said they did not really understand the hi tech showers !
Afternoon tea was a very good addition
All in all a disappointing stay, although not terrible I am sure I could find a better option

Room Tip: Don't accept a room with aqua massage shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had an overnight stay at this lovely modern & clean "casa" hotel. Fantastic location for visiting Alhambra & old city, very welcoming & helpful staff. Helped us to book Alhambra tickets in advance (a must) prior to arriving into city especially if you're not intending to stay many days. The Alhambra website was hopeless! The city's lookout at highest point (as suggested) by staff at sunset is also a fantastic idea & we would've liked to stay for dinner or drinks if we knew there were options - the view was amazing. Finally after all our walking it was great to come back to a soothing quiet room & big bathroom & to some snacks left out for us as we missed official afternoon tea. Only negative free wifi very poor! Worth it's 3 stars & bit more thanks for great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

we booked this hotel because of an excellent experience at its sister hotel in seville. please don't make the same mistake. first of all although this casa 1800 looks good, the living reality is not. the rooms are very hot and airless even when it is cold outside. the rooms are also incredibly noisy because they back onto the central eating area, so you can't get a lie in and a siesta is difficult, because you have to have the windows open because there is no air and when you open the windows you get noise. the original building is very old and have not been properly adapted to allow for ventilation and noise management. so you can't sleep comfortably or rest at any point in the day or night. another pleasure is the outside door. previous reviewers have complained of the outer door being open and them not feeling safe.
as a consequence the management have decided to lock the outer door from 12.00, not early in spain. so as we came home we found the door locked against us. we used the intercom and were asked for our name and room number which we gave very clearly, we were told that our names and room numbers were incorrect and the doors remained locked against us, it was only with a good deal of ringing and raised voices that we wee finally allowed into the hotel. when we got in there was no apology just bowed guilt heads and silence. and this is when you meet the real horror of this hotel the staff. the staff in seville were polite, helpful and professional, the staff in Granada were the opposite, incompetent, unhelpful and rude. on our final day, a cleaner decided to empty a large bag of carefully collected receipts, which we had gathered during our trip which was a business trip and for which we needed to claim expenses, the receipts had been cleaned up. we reported this to reception because this mistake by their staff was about to cost us a lot of money. they looked at us as blankly, it was our problem, there was nothing they could do, the cleaner had gone home, they finally agreed to have a look through the rubbish, but nothing was turned up and nothing was done.
the building is badly constructed and the staff proved to be utterly useless, avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: ask if there are any rooms without noise and without stifling heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tucked one block behind the main street in the old Granada section, easy to walk to everything but quiet. Very friendly staff. Old courtyard building with modern conveniences, and good value. Will definitely return here with my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Fabulous hotel, great staff, very comfortable rooms, marvelous ambience. Walking distance to all the sights, and central to restaurants and shops. Enjoyable breakfast and afternoon tea in a charming courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Alhambra. Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is located at the Miguelete´s house a seventeenth century building located in the historic center of Granada, the Albaicin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 1800 Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.