We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room in old courtyard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa 1800 Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful room in old courtyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

First of all. This hotel is extremely cheap compared to the quality of the room and the extra stuff.

Plusses:
Wonderful room. Well furnished and great bed.
The place contains an old courtyard, which is roofed in the colder months. Really nice to sit in and have breakfast.
Afternoon tea. Nice extra feature. Tea, coffee, fruit and snacks.
Location couldn't be better.

Minusses:
The staff seemed a bit too eager about the check in and needed all sorts of details, suchs a register number for our car. We didn't use the parking service, so why bother.
Aside from that, the staff was ever as friendly and helpful.
It is TOTAlLY impossible to drive around Granada. And the hotel is central and therefore only accessible by taxi or foot.

Buttom line:
We would have loved to have stayed longer and just hanged out.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    221
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
137
565
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a high end hotel that is located in the heart of the historic district. the staff will go out of their way to make your trip enjoyable including arranging taxis, dinner reservations, tour guidance and following up to confirm pre-made tour arrangements. It is good value for the money. We were upgraded to the second level room for free. I did notice that the lowest level rooms (I saw room #1) were less that I would have expected for a hotel of this quality. The room we had (#12) was very nice with the upgrade. The breakfast is great for a extra cost of 9.5 euros per person. The hotel is in a great location in the historic district. Parking is not available. You will need to park at a garage and then walk or taxi to the hotel. One staff member, Jose, was particularly helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I loved this hotel from the minute I walked through the door. It had a calm and relaxing atmosphere and a very authentic look, a charming hotel. I would love to stay here again. The hotel was perfectly located, just off the main street in a quiet alleyway, walking distance to the Alhambra. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. I loved the look of the room, which was upstairs overlooking a small courtyard. The sounds from the fountain were very peaceful. Afternoon tea was a wonderful bonus. No fuss, just serve yourself and stay as long as you like. We stayed for 2 nights in February. I felt like I had chosen the perfect hotel in this city! The only small things I could mention are, wifi is not very good. Also, with tile floors and heavy wooden doors, there is a certain amount of noise when people are coming and going. I would recommend a room away from the housekeeping closet, which I believe was right below our room. Also, breakfast and tea service in the courtyard, which was right below our room, added some additional noise. But, the hotel is very small so there are never that many people around. I would not let these things keep you from staying at this lovely hotel. I loved my time there and hope to return.

Room Tip: Away from the courtyard and the housekeeping closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at Casa 1800 in a Junior Suite with our two children, it turned out to be a very good choice.

Location:
=======
Casa 1800 is located in a narrow pedestrian only street very close to Plaza Nueva. The easiest way to reach the hotel is by taxi, however you need to walk the last 100 meters (very short walking distance). We arrived in Granada by car, left the car in a public parking and took a cab to the hotel. Arrival is described well on the hotel’s website. Pretty easy.

The location of the hotel is almost perfect for sightseeing and restaurants.

The building and rooms:
===================
The hotel is located in an old historic townhouse, which is renovated in a very nice way, keeping the old elements. The place has a main staircase and an elevator but some rooms are reached through different, smaller staircases. This means that some rooms can be reached by elevator, some not. In general all rooms seem to be different in size and location. I think for couples the top floor deluxe rooms with Alhambra view are probably the best choice, while for a family I would take the Deluxe Suite. Unfortunately the large suite was booked so we took a Junior Suite. It had a sofa and coffee table and there was more than enough space to fit an extra bed and a baby cot. The room did not have a lot of windows and was rather dark, but this was not a problem. Be aware, there is quite a difference in location of rooms, some are considerably nicer than others. It might be worth calling ahead to make sure you get a good room (avoid room Nr. 4).

Food:
====
The hotel serves a small buffet breakfast (good but not very special) and a free afternoon tea. Both can be taken in a very nice breakfast room or in the patio. Very nice and peaceful. There is no restaurant, which was not an issue as there are many restaurants close by, however it would be nice if they would have a bar service and serve some drinks and snacks in the patio in the early evening. There is also no room service, but rooms are equipped with a minibar.

Service:
=======
Service was excellent, very friendly and efficient staff.


Overall a very good choice if you want to stay in a nicely renovated historic Granada townhouse.

Room Tip: For couples take a Deluxe Alhambra view room, for families try to book the Deluxe Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014, a really lovely boutique style hotel, very tasteful and the location is excellent - right in the heart of Granada and very close to local amenities. We had a superb room with hydromassage shower and the hotel offers daily complimentary afternoon tea. The cleanliness and comfort of this hotel was fantastic and the hotel reception staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. It made a nice change to stay in a smaller more intimate hotel rather than in a larger corporate hotel where you can sometimes feel like a number rather than a paying guest. We loved Granada and if we find ourselves back in this wonderful city then we will definitely return to Hotel Casa 1800.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Friendly hotel with staff who want to help. We splashed out on a suite, wow I could imagine Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor in here. Huge ceiling and room. Chandelier and lovely furniture. Good complimentary afternoon tea and breakfast is fairly priced. Some rooms very small and look into courtyard so choose carefully. Only reason for 4 starts is there is no restaurant or swimming pool, but we did have a double Jacuzzi in our bathroom. Very centrally located for all major sights.

Room Tip: Watch out for centre courtyard rooms as a lack of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is such a lovely little hotel, every attention to detail is paid. The reception staff are helpful, the hotel itself is gorgeous and tres chic, an afternoon tea is put on (included in the price) nand the breakfast worth paymg that little bit extra.
AND we all were all upgraded to sumptuous suits. Wiłl go back again for sure. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a junior suite , much more space than the standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Alhambra. Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is located at the Miguelete´s house a seventeenth century building located in the historic center of Granada, the Albaicin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 1800 Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.