We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 127 hotels in Granada
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location but very overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Parador in October. It did have a fabulous location nestled within the Alhambra which I feel was the best in Granada. That being said, while the setting was gorgeous the price and quality of the room did not match up. Our room window had a lovely view of the outdoor dining patio and beyond but it was also a haven for the smoking clientele so we had to keep the window closed most of the time to avoid the cigarette smoke. Once you closed the window, the room was not much different than a standard room at a standard hotel. I went to the desk immediately upon checking in but they would not change our room. At over $650 a night to stay there, the quality and service was not worth the price. We have paid half that to stay in beautiful European castles with much higher quality.
The restaurant however was great. They included a fabulous buffet breakfast with the room cost which was the best we had on our trip to Spain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    148
    57
    31
    14
See reviews for
90
327
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC Area
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Parador is housed in a renovated monastery within the walls of the Alhambra. It is one of only 2 hotels thus situated (the other being the Hotel America). It is a luxury hotel in every sense of the word, from the rooms to the setting to the restaurants within to the public areas. It has its own gardens adjacent to the Alhambra gardens that provide a pleasant stroll. It also has free WiFi, a bit unusual for an upscale hotel.

We had a spectacular view of the Alhambra gardens from our room; most rooms have this view, and the ones that don't have an equally spectacular view of the city of Granada. Rooms are very modern, with "smart card" key entry (rather than swipe cards), remote lighting control, plenty of storage, a minibar that wasn't too overpriced, and comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern and practical.

Entrance to the Alhambra itself is just steps away.

Overall, as close to a perfect stay as you can imagine, and worth the price.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here, reserve VERY early; 3 months or more ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

It is not a huge or grand parador like the ones in Leon or Santiago de Compostela, but a lot smaller and intimate. Its location for a visit to the Alhambra and Generalife can't be better; it's literally a hop, skip and jump away, which made our morning visit a lot more convenient and less stressful. If you're driving, there's secure parking onsite, which is a big plus.

Our room was in the new wing, and was very modern, unlike many of the other paradors we've stayed in.

We had dinner in the terrace overlooking the Generalife gardens. The food and wine was not bad, but not spectacular.

Breakfast was another matter altogether. Pepe at reception had assured us breakfast was very good, and he was not kidding. We stayed at 4 paradors during this trip, and came to the conclusion that breakfast at any parador is "muy bueno". The breads were particularly good.

We had planned this trip to Granada rather late, and of course one can't visit Granada without touring the Alhambra. We had tried to book tickets online but all tickets for the day were sold out. So I contacted the parador and made it known that our trip to Granada and our intended stay at the parador was contingent on our procuring tickets to the Alhambra. I was assured very promptly that 2 tickets would be reserved for us, which made planning the trip a lot more certain.

We checked out the next morning prior to our visit to the Alhambra and Generalife and were able to leave our car and luggage at the secure parking area until the afternoon.

All in all, a very positive experience. I would highly recommend this parador to anyone visiting Granada. It is not a cheap place, but well worth the price in my opinion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property exceeded our expectations. Fantastic location, just outside the Alhambra, yet quiet. I recommend a stay in the modern section. The bathroom was lovely, modern, and large and a beds were quiet comfortable. We had a lovely stroll around the property without all of tourist fuss and were able to get early tickets for the Alhambra itself. The staff was very friendly and the onsite food was much better than it needed to be given the location. All in all an excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, va
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Parador de Granada fulfilled--and surpassed--our hope that the Alhambra would be the climax of a three-week journey through southern Spain. In fact, our stay in this parador, right inside the Alhambra yet sheltered from the sightseeing hordes, tops the memorable experiences which we have enjoyed around the world. Staying in the “unique room” 304, a duplex in the Torre del Alba, no doubt accounts for part of the bliss, but we are convinced that every room reflects the excellence of this hotel. In this former monastery de San Francisco, lovingly restored and ingeniously adapted, we found the most balanced combination of rich history, stunning surroundings, modern comfort, gentle friendliness, exquisite cuisine, and restorative peace. Everyone made us feel like VIPs, from the warm reception (especially by Ana) and the attentive dinner care (especially by Bartolomeo) to a personal tour by the Director, Señor Juan Carlos Sánchez Gálvez. Thanks to this extra treat, we could appreciate even better how wonderfully the Parador preserves the past while accommodating the present. This is convenience without compromise, luxury without frivolity, and class without ostentation. Reviewers have observed, quite sensibly, that this is a very expensive establishment. We found that this splurge was entirely worth the expense--even if it drained our piggy bank!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Granada is a real jewel and this parador location is a dream. Staff from arrival to departure was warm and faultless. You are in the Alhambra ... This is the secret and walking there under the stars brings you back to the Califat! But the room are small and you do pay for the location...don t expect too high standards. The restaurant food was good but again the restaurant itself could be less cold ... So warmer interior design would be necessary...after all it is Andalucia!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed here in 2002. It has since been upgraded and modernized but retains its charm and character.
Pepe and Nestor from front office were helpful and friendly. I was assigned a standard room - small compared to what I'm accustomed to in my Parador experience, but well appointed with modern anenities and very comfy!! Had it not been a busy weekend, Pepe would have upgraded me, as a returning guest, to a room with a city view. Food and service at the bar was fine. No complaints at all. I had run of the house and enjoyed exploring the old wing. Would I return? Yes, for proximity to Alhambra, the Parador de San Franciso just can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#13 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Escapio, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.