We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
washington, va
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Parador de Granada fulfilled--and surpassed--our hope that the Alhambra would be the climax of a three-week journey through southern Spain. In fact, our stay in this parador, right inside the Alhambra yet sheltered from the sightseeing hordes, tops the memorable experiences which we have enjoyed around the world. Staying in the “unique room” 304, a duplex in the Torre del Alba, no doubt accounts for part of the bliss, but we are convinced that every room reflects the excellence of this hotel. In this former monastery de San Francisco, lovingly restored and ingeniously adapted, we found the most balanced combination of rich history, stunning surroundings, modern comfort, gentle friendliness, exquisite cuisine, and restorative peace. Everyone made us feel like VIPs, from the warm reception (especially by Ana) and the attentive dinner care (especially by Bartolomeo) to a personal tour by the Director, Señor Juan Carlos Sánchez Gálvez. Thanks to this extra treat, we could appreciate even better how wonderfully the Parador preserves the past while accommodating the present. This is convenience without compromise, luxury without frivolity, and class without ostentation. Reviewers have observed, quite sensibly, that this is a very expensive establishment. We found that this splurge was entirely worth the expense--even if it drained our piggy bank!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    201
    73
    37
    20
See reviews for
132
434
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Granada is a real jewel and this parador location is a dream. Staff from arrival to departure was warm and faultless. You are in the Alhambra ... This is the secret and walking there under the stars brings you back to the Califat! But the room are small and you do pay for the location...don t expect too high standards. The restaurant food was good but again the restaurant itself could be less cold ... So warmer interior design would be necessary...after all it is Andalucia!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed here in 2002. It has since been upgraded and modernized but retains its charm and character.
Pepe and Nestor from front office were helpful and friendly. I was assigned a standard room - small compared to what I'm accustomed to in my Parador experience, but well appointed with modern anenities and very comfy!! Had it not been a busy weekend, Pepe would have upgraded me, as a returning guest, to a room with a city view. Food and service at the bar was fine. No complaints at all. I had run of the house and enjoyed exploring the old wing. Would I return? Yes, for proximity to Alhambra, the Parador de San Franciso just can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and found the Parador to be a wonderful experience. The location is stunning and the building within which the Parador is housed is full of history. It's worth taking the short tour which is described in the hotel material. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable and we had wonderful views of the Generalife and gardens. The staff were helpful and considerate. It is also only about 10 minutes walk into town (downhill) and a regular bus is available for the return (uphill) trip. That meant we had the best of both worlds - we could wander around within the Alhambra walls, but could also venture out to Granada in the evening to explore the bars and restaurants. Obviously this is not a cheap place to stay but for that special ocassion, it's quite an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful and peaceful oasis above the busy chaos of Granada! We arrived after a circuit of the hotels nearby. The signage as you approach the Alhambra is very confusing - ignore the barrier entrance into the Alhambra parking lots and wiggle to the left and down the hill. After about 500 metres look out for the signs to the Parador on the right and turn in to the barrier entrance. Press the button and tell them you have a reservation and you're through! Park in the courtyard and sort out your luggage before walking through the gate in the centre to the reception. After checking in our luggage was collected from the car and delivered to our room - the car was then parked by a member of staff. The grounds around the Parador are spectacular and it is wonderful to be so near to the main purpose of our visit. However don't plan on walking easily into town! We caught a bus into the centre and took a cab back - well worth it to avoid the steep climb and considerable distance to the restaurant areas of the city. Overall a great stay at this historic classic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The long waits and difficulty of getting into this hotel is absolutely worth it! Our room, though modest, was very comfortable and had amazing views of the Generalife villa and gardens.

Pro
- AMAZING location
- Great room & view
- Great & free wifi + outlets, usb chargers and ethernet connection on the desk
- Parking inside the Alhambra!!
Con
- The bellboy had us get our own luggage from the car! (They did take it up to the room)
- Restaurant is so-so, but they think they are the bees knees! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found staying at this Parador to be a delightful experience after arriving with some nervousness having read a few other reviews. Every member of the team were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. I think visitors need to remember that making the effort to say a few words in Spanish and to say thank you go a long way. Some staff are a little more reserved but a smile and hola smooths things along!

Room 202 was lovely, huge comfy bed and all mod cons. Food was enjoyable and well presented. Remember the Parador itself is a museum in its own right so take the time to explore and look at all the information and treasures. Bonus of being in the heart of everything, with a base to sit or lie down when the walking, crowds and heat get too much! Little bit of sanctuary in fabulous surroundings and free, secure parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.