We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Déjà vu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 128 hotels in Granada
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Déjà vu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed here in 2002. It has since been upgraded and modernized but retains its charm and character.
Pepe and Nestor from front office were helpful and friendly. I was assigned a standard room - small compared to what I'm accustomed to in my Parador experience, but well appointed with modern anenities and very comfy!! Had it not been a busy weekend, Pepe would have upgraded me, as a returning guest, to a room with a city view. Food and service at the bar was fine. No complaints at all. I had run of the house and enjoyed exploring the old wing. Would I return? Yes, for proximity to Alhambra, the Parador de San Franciso just can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    149
    57
    32
    14
See reviews for
94
332
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and found the Parador to be a wonderful experience. The location is stunning and the building within which the Parador is housed is full of history. It's worth taking the short tour which is described in the hotel material. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable and we had wonderful views of the Generalife and gardens. The staff were helpful and considerate. It is also only about 10 minutes walk into town (downhill) and a regular bus is available for the return (uphill) trip. That meant we had the best of both worlds - we could wander around within the Alhambra walls, but could also venture out to Granada in the evening to explore the bars and restaurants. Obviously this is not a cheap place to stay but for that special ocassion, it's quite an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful and peaceful oasis above the busy chaos of Granada! We arrived after a circuit of the hotels nearby. The signage as you approach the Alhambra is very confusing - ignore the barrier entrance into the Alhambra parking lots and wiggle to the left and down the hill. After about 500 metres look out for the signs to the Parador on the right and turn in to the barrier entrance. Press the button and tell them you have a reservation and you're through! Park in the courtyard and sort out your luggage before walking through the gate in the centre to the reception. After checking in our luggage was collected from the car and delivered to our room - the car was then parked by a member of staff. The grounds around the Parador are spectacular and it is wonderful to be so near to the main purpose of our visit. However don't plan on walking easily into town! We caught a bus into the centre and took a cab back - well worth it to avoid the steep climb and considerable distance to the restaurant areas of the city. Overall a great stay at this historic classic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The long waits and difficulty of getting into this hotel is absolutely worth it! Our room, though modest, was very comfortable and had amazing views of the Generalife villa and gardens.

Pro
- AMAZING location
- Great room & view
- Great & free wifi + outlets, usb chargers and ethernet connection on the desk
- Parking inside the Alhambra!!
Con
- The bellboy had us get our own luggage from the car! (They did take it up to the room)
- Restaurant is so-so, but they think they are the bees knees! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found staying at this Parador to be a delightful experience after arriving with some nervousness having read a few other reviews. Every member of the team were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. I think visitors need to remember that making the effort to say a few words in Spanish and to say thank you go a long way. Some staff are a little more reserved but a smile and hola smooths things along!

Room 202 was lovely, huge comfy bed and all mod cons. Food was enjoyable and well presented. Remember the Parador itself is a museum in its own right so take the time to explore and look at all the information and treasures. Bonus of being in the heart of everything, with a base to sit or lie down when the walking, crowds and heat get too much! Little bit of sanctuary in fabulous surroundings and free, secure parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just spent four nights in this hotel. What a magnificent setting, in the grounds of the Alhambra palace, the hotel is actually a museum. It is a perfect place to stay for visiting the palace, and most people only stay 1 or 2 nights. The only down side (which is why 4 stars not 5) is the food, the waiting staff were quite surly at first and only cheered up when then they realised we were staying longer than the normal one night. This is quite understandable in a hotel which has 100% occupancy 365 days a year, the staff don't have to put on a show for the customers, as for most it is a "one-off" visit.
We had lunch and dinner there on the first day of our stay and the food was average for a 4* hotel. The breakfast buffet was only reasonable and catered mostly for the Far Eastern clientele.
However, the walk to Granada was only 10 mins downhill and there are numerous eateries there which are worth visiting.
Overall, I would recommend the hotel for it's location but would suggest eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: To get a room of your choice, it is recommended to book at least 12 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let’s face it, you don’t stay here for swaddling luxury. You stay here for the ambience of being in a beautifully modernised but near-1000-year-old convent/palace, and having easy access to the Alhambra. It’s very difficult to get a room – probably block-booked by the Japanese tour groups indulging in mass photography – and expensive, but worth it. In spite of my expectation, you aren’t actually in the tourist bit of the Alhambra; the Parador has its own beautiful and very extensive terrace and gardens but they are separated from the main gardens by a serious wall, so make sure you have a valid-all-day ticket or you may end up having to walk half-way round the outside of the walls to get back in. Views are wonderful across to the Generalife – especially at night. People have moaned here about the cost of the restaurant; I disagree, as the food is outstanding. Rooms are of a very good standard – and so they should be for the price - but a bit of a triumph of style over practicality in some areas, especially the Kafkaesque and hilariously impenetrable lighting system and the smart wooden floors, which echo like drums when the aforementioned tour parties clatter about at crack of dawn rumbling along with suitcases on wheels. Noisiest rooms are 109 & 110 on the ground floor, because everybody goes past on the way to & from the lift & restaurant, and people clomp about upstairs as well. All goes quiet at night, though. As I said, all that is trivia – it’s one of life’s great experiences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Escapio, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.