We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing beats staying inside the Alhambra walls!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Granada
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Nothing beats staying inside the Alhambra walls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The long waits and difficulty of getting into this hotel is absolutely worth it! Our room, though modest, was very comfortable and had amazing views of the Generalife villa and gardens.

Pro
- AMAZING location
- Great room & view
- Great & free wifi + outlets, usb chargers and ethernet connection on the desk
- Parking inside the Alhambra!!
Con
- The bellboy had us get our own luggage from the car! (They did take it up to the room)
- Restaurant is so-so, but they think they are the bees knees! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    137
    54
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
300
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found staying at this Parador to be a delightful experience after arriving with some nervousness having read a few other reviews. Every member of the team were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. I think visitors need to remember that making the effort to say a few words in Spanish and to say thank you go a long way. Some staff are a little more reserved but a smile and hola smooths things along!

Room 202 was lovely, huge comfy bed and all mod cons. Food was enjoyable and well presented. Remember the Parador itself is a museum in its own right so take the time to explore and look at all the information and treasures. Bonus of being in the heart of everything, with a base to sit or lie down when the walking, crowds and heat get too much! Little bit of sanctuary in fabulous surroundings and free, secure parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just spent four nights in this hotel. What a magnificent setting, in the grounds of the Alhambra palace, the hotel is actually a museum. It is a perfect place to stay for visiting the palace, and most people only stay 1 or 2 nights. The only down side (which is why 4 stars not 5) is the food, the waiting staff were quite surly at first and only cheered up when then they realised we were staying longer than the normal one night. This is quite understandable in a hotel which has 100% occupancy 365 days a year, the staff don't have to put on a show for the customers, as for most it is a "one-off" visit.
We had lunch and dinner there on the first day of our stay and the food was average for a 4* hotel. The breakfast buffet was only reasonable and catered mostly for the Far Eastern clientele.
However, the walk to Granada was only 10 mins downhill and there are numerous eateries there which are worth visiting.
Overall, I would recommend the hotel for it's location but would suggest eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: To get a room of your choice, it is recommended to book at least 12 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let’s face it, you don’t stay here for swaddling luxury. You stay here for the ambience of being in a beautifully modernised but near-1000-year-old convent/palace, and having easy access to the Alhambra. It’s very difficult to get a room – probably block-booked by the Japanese tour groups indulging in mass photography – and expensive, but worth it. In spite of my expectation, you aren’t actually in the tourist bit of the Alhambra; the Parador has its own beautiful and very extensive terrace and gardens but they are separated from the main gardens by a serious wall, so make sure you have a valid-all-day ticket or you may end up having to walk half-way round the outside of the walls to get back in. Views are wonderful across to the Generalife – especially at night. People have moaned here about the cost of the restaurant; I disagree, as the food is outstanding. Rooms are of a very good standard – and so they should be for the price - but a bit of a triumph of style over practicality in some areas, especially the Kafkaesque and hilariously impenetrable lighting system and the smart wooden floors, which echo like drums when the aforementioned tour parties clatter about at crack of dawn rumbling along with suitcases on wheels. Noisiest rooms are 109 & 110 on the ground floor, because everybody goes past on the way to & from the lift & restaurant, and people clomp about upstairs as well. All goes quiet at night, though. As I said, all that is trivia – it’s one of life’s great experiences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've stayed in about 30 paradors over the last few years and have wanted to stay here for a long time, so decided to splash out and stay in this, their flagship hotel (well their most expensive anyway) on a visit to Granada. Experience tells me that first impressions of a parador at reception are usually very accurate. Unfortunately this was the case here. This parador stay was a disappointing experience which we will not repeat (we'll still stay in paradors though).

On arrival by car the parador can take a little bit of finding, as it is easy to get mixed up in the traffic for Alhambra parking, but it makes you feel a bit special to be able to drive into the Alhambra itself and then into the parador car park. The car park is small, cars are packed in tightly, so you have to leave keys at reception to let them move cars about when needed.

Reception is not too well signposted but straightforward to find. Receptionist (man) - efficient and brusque to the point of rudeness, he only seemed interested in getting my car keys (which I was not ready to give him as we had still to unpack our luggage). Unlike most paradors no information re where the restaurant is, if booking is needed, what time it is open, where breakfast is served and at what time etc etc. Nothing. Not even a smile. How can you have a receptionist who doesn't smile?!!

Porter took us to our room.

Room badly in need of refurbishment. Very poor standard compared to most paradors and terrible when you consider their prices. Furniture was basic and well used to broken. Room offered little comfort. Bathroom ok but huge trough of a double sink left no room to put anything in the dry. Badly designed.

As an Amigo (Paradors loyalty club) we get a free welcome drink so we went to the terrace to
have a beer. It was mid afternoon and there were several free tables (though most of them were covered in crockery and litter from previous occupants) and a good number of staff. They all ignored us, so we sat ourselves down. The staff seemed to be setting the tables for the evening. After 20-25 minutes I got tired of the "lets see how long it takes them to serve us" game, walked over to on of the waiters and told them we were waiting to order. He continued to do whatever he was doing and eventually came to take our order.

We decided to have dinner in the parador as we normally do. Food very ordinary, unique view, surly, lazy staff. Don't eat here.

Breakfast. Reasonable buffet breakfast but with a poorer selection that other paradors ... they're really not trying here. We found the member of staff who was cheerful and smiled.

This is a parador in name only. It does not deserve to be part of the group as it is so badly run. New management is needed here. The staff are lazy and unwelcoming. Everything is just too much trouble for them to be bothered. They have a unique location and are trading on that, but seem to have forgotten that paradors (generally) provide excellent, friendly service and put their guests first. The contrast with the excellent staff the previous night at Parador de Alcalá de Henares was unbelievable.

I'd advise anyone to stay instead in a decent hotel in Granada at probably 30% of the price. You'll enjoy the trip more and save a lot of money. Buy your ticket in advance for Alhambra, get up to the car park early (8:00) and look round Generalife before it gets hot, have breakfast at Jardines Alberto Restaurant and continue your visit into the Alhambra.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ... choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay earlier this month. Our room was small but comfortable -- ad had a great view of the Generalife. The building is historic and is a sight in its wn right. The restaurant had very good food and was not unreasonably priced. A few tips: 1) e-mail in advance and request a room with a view - many rooms don't; 2) the parking lot is very small; you'll likely need the staff's help and have to leave your keys; 3) even with GPS, it can be hard to find; 4) if you prebook your tickets with Ticketmaster, be aware that you'll have a 10 minute walk to pick tem up -- make sure you allow yourself enough time, and 5) if you panto eat at the Paradr, make your reservation by e-mail before you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Disappointing. The location is unique, but the Alhambra is overrun well into the evening with hordes of visitors and all that implies. Some with sleeveless T shirts, tattoos, sunburn, ill-advised shorts etc. Many of them wander into the hotel. It is a 20 minute walk from the old town where all the action is - cabs take nearly as long and cost about £8. Our "superior room" was not large, and maintenance was somewhat skimped (nothing serious, but there was some mouldy bath sealant, limescale, scuffed paintwork and furniture, and a leaking shower-screen). The room was rather plain - without achieving the stylish minimalism it presumably aspires to. The bathroom was starting to look dated and the water pressure and flow were poor. The bar and restaurant are not inviting, in fact they have a bleak and distinctly institutional atmosphere. And please bear in mind that this is a public sector enterprise with a corresponding customer service ethic. The hotel clearly trades on its location and I doubt it gets or needs repeat business. It's simply not worth the £640 we paid for two nights - without breakfast. The Ladron de Agua is 60% cheaper, more stylish and much better located. Stay for a couple of nights if you don't mind the price, and if you are happy to be able to stagger exhausted from the Alhambra straight into your room, but once you have "done" (ghastly concept) the Alhambra, move down into the town. On the plus side, I must record that the receptionist was strikingly pretty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel
Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.