We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Star Stay + Five Star Stay = Four Star Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Three Star Stay + Five Star Stay = Four Star Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Parador during our visit to the Alhambra. In short, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Granada.

Our first room was on the first floor with a view out onto a very stagnant water pond and bars on the windows. The decor looked a bit worn, and I believe I found the least comfortable armchair in the Western hemisphere in that room.

We were visiting the Parador as part of a trip of a lifetime with my Mom, and I went to the front desk nearly in tears, asking if there were another room that we could transfer to. They were full that night, but the desk manager assured me he'd try his best to move us the next day. Throughout our stay, he and the other front desk staff were incredibly warm, polite, and friendly.

The next morning, he was as good as his word, and we were moved up to a second floor room with a gorgeous view of the Alhambra. The decor was noticeably fresher, and it seemed even the ventilation was even better in this room.

We had breakfast included in our rate, and this was definitely worth it. The buffet has a very tasty selection of traditional Spanish foods. The service at breakfast was quite good, but the service for other meals was laughably bad. As other people have noted, you can wait for a long time before anyone asks you for your order. I'm pretty sure the only reason someone materialized when we arrived for lunch was because I was poking around behind the bar trying to find some water after waiting for over half an hour.

So, between the 3 star room at the beginning of our stay and the 5+ star room at the end of our stay, I'd say that the Parador evens out at a very nice 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    194
    69
    36
    20
See reviews for
122
418
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have never stayed anywhere quite like this Parador. Yes its expensive but nonetheless great value. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite for our 3 nights. WOW what a room. With the most modern electrics, beautifully appointed and the very best view of the Generalife. The room was completely quiet at night and the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning was very sophisticated and kept an accurate temperature quietly.
The terrace cafe/bar was beautiful, cool and shady, fantastic respite from the heat of the day. Lunch was really good with fresh cava and lovely wines. The terrace leads onto a beautiful quiet terrace garden which is enchanting at night.
Evening meals in the restaurant were of a very high standard although somewhat expensive. The menu was also coded for Gluten Free status, of real interest to my Coeliac wife. However you are isolated from the city which limits choice, although there are two other small restaurants close to the entrance. The parador itself is in an old convent but has been restored and modernised lovingly, higher than the four stars it boasts. And then there's the convenience of being close to the Alhambra itself. We had an 0830 ticket to the Nasrid Palace, went in with the first tranche in the cool of the morning. The light and atmosphere were wonderful. Also don't forget to book your Alhambra tickets online before you go or you may not get in !!!
You can however wander much of the grounds freely and at night when they are largely empty that is a magical experience.
What an absolutely fantastic stay this was. If you are going to see the Alhambra then try to do it in style and stay at the parador.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view of the Generalife but the 2nd floor is higher. Might be worth asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderfull. The staff is very friendly en the accomodation is at a high level. It's very special to stay in this hotel which is located in the Alhambra. A unique experience. Breakfast is also very good. For us, the dinner however was not at the same high level. But this was maybe due to the fact that it was to quick served. Despite this the Parador de Granada is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hired car in Malaga , drove to Alhambra car park for hotel guests, immediately staff there to take luggage and greet us . Room large, better than we expected, ultra modern bathroom, everything at your fingertips, very quiet at night. Loved the fact that we could wander the grounds at night, after tourists had left. Had a brilliant meal on the terrace overlooking the valley, food excellent as was the service, went back the following night, did nt realise this was a Michelin star restuarant. Could not fault it. Alhambra blew me away, really enjoyed the tour, and our free time , well worth the. Small detour if you are going to costa del sol.

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor, all rooms there similar, upstairs not quite as modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms were perfectly appointed. Modern fittings expertly blended into the ancient building. Staff were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing and pushy. Breakfast was excellent with great choice including extensive gluten free options if required. The terrace bar/ restaurant with sumptuous views of the Generalife. Romantic yet perfectly family friendly. Dinner menu was expensive and not especially suitable for younger children. Food however was excellent and recommended. Possibly the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, most rooms seemed to a great views no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place still fills as if the monks are walking around. It has a great since of peace to it. The views and gardens are great. The restaurant is charming, and the staff was very service oriented. Its walking distance to everything. Easy to walk down to the city, plan on cab fair back up, its very steep. We were there for the music festival, and city was alive for it, great time of July to be there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent personnel. You feel at home and cared about. People do spend time on you. You get tips and advices from the personnel about which places to visit and where to eat. A very stylish and a charming Andalusian house, a stunning patio,and cosy rooms... excellent location right in the city center, however, a very quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.