We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 128 hotels in Granada
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tranquil and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms were perfectly appointed. Modern fittings expertly blended into the ancient building. Staff were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing and pushy. Breakfast was excellent with great choice including extensive gluten free options if required. The terrace bar/ restaurant with sumptuous views of the Generalife. Romantic yet perfectly family friendly. Dinner menu was expensive and not especially suitable for younger children. Food however was excellent and recommended. Possibly the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, most rooms seemed to a great views no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    149
    57
    32
    14
See reviews for
94
332
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place still fills as if the monks are walking around. It has a great since of peace to it. The views and gardens are great. The restaurant is charming, and the staff was very service oriented. Its walking distance to everything. Easy to walk down to the city, plan on cab fair back up, its very steep. We were there for the music festival, and city was alive for it, great time of July to be there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent personnel. You feel at home and cared about. People do spend time on you. You get tips and advices from the personnel about which places to visit and where to eat. A very stylish and a charming Andalusian house, a stunning patio,and cosy rooms... excellent location right in the city center, however, a very quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As I travelled to Granada with my elderly parents (with the main purpose of seeing the Alhambra), the location of the parador was perfect. The front desk staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our rooms had views of the Generalife and it was stunning. We also loved the outdoor restaurant, with the shade and breeze it was nice and pleasant even in August!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very slow, poor service from staff that do not want to serve you. Drinks slapped down in front of you so they spilled onto the table, begrudged service, . Despite 3staff and only around 20customers, plus Terraces closed, toilets filthy with no lights and no loo roll!
Ha ha! Try the 1star hotel America next door, knocks spots off the parador!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has to have the best location in Spain, if not Europe. We spent just one night here but had more than we could ask for, with the Alhambra a short, leisurely walk away. After arriving and checking in, we had a quick lunch in the restaurant before we went to the Alhambra, to see the great palace left by the Moors.

On return, we decided to have dinner in the parador, where we sat on the veranda, which proved to be a brilliant decision; becoming one of the best meals we had in our two week trip to Spain (due to the atmosphere and the food!)

After dinner we remained seated at the table and had a few more drinks and sunk all the atmosphere possible in. With that, we decided to retire to our rooms, leading to one of the best night's sleep i have ever had in the comfiest bed imaginable.

The next day we woke up early and attended breakfast which was delightful, as it needed to be to be worthy of it's hefty price tag! Finally after that, we departed but we will be back soon, it is a must stay at hotel, without a doubt!

-Pros:
incredible location, couldn't be bettered
steeped in history
exceedingly comfy bed
space-age like bathroom

-Cons:
The only thing you can argue with is the cost, as it is so much more expensive than any other parador, but considering what you get and where it is, you'd need to be very mean to feel grudged by it!
The Alhambra can be exceedingly busy in the afternoon, so i highly recommend going in the early morning!

Room Tip: as with many of the paradors, most double rooms come with two single beds, and ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a highlight of our two week trip to Spain. This Parador was the best value - the nicest hotel for the price in Spain. We stayed at a wide range of hotels and this one was special. We were in room 302 - great view, excellent wireless, each morning there was a perfect breakfast served on a lovely porch on the first floor. The hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra - you can't get better than that. Helpful staff, quiet location, lush gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#12 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Escapio, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.