We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic and Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Magic and Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place still fills as if the monks are walking around. It has a great since of peace to it. The views and gardens are great. The restaurant is charming, and the staff was very service oriented. Its walking distance to everything. Easy to walk down to the city, plan on cab fair back up, its very steep. We were there for the music festival, and city was alive for it, great time of July to be there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    204
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
135
444
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent personnel. You feel at home and cared about. People do spend time on you. You get tips and advices from the personnel about which places to visit and where to eat. A very stylish and a charming Andalusian house, a stunning patio,and cosy rooms... excellent location right in the city center, however, a very quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As I travelled to Granada with my elderly parents (with the main purpose of seeing the Alhambra), the location of the parador was perfect. The front desk staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our rooms had views of the Generalife and it was stunning. We also loved the outdoor restaurant, with the shade and breeze it was nice and pleasant even in August!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very slow, poor service from staff that do not want to serve you. Drinks slapped down in front of you so they spilled onto the table, begrudged service, . Despite 3staff and only around 20customers, plus Terraces closed, toilets filthy with no lights and no loo roll!
Ha ha! Try the 1star hotel America next door, knocks spots off the parador!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has to have the best location in Spain, if not Europe. We spent just one night here but had more than we could ask for, with the Alhambra a short, leisurely walk away. After arriving and checking in, we had a quick lunch in the restaurant before we went to the Alhambra, to see the great palace left by the Moors.

On return, we decided to have dinner in the parador, where we sat on the veranda, which proved to be a brilliant decision; becoming one of the best meals we had in our two week trip to Spain (due to the atmosphere and the food!)

After dinner we remained seated at the table and had a few more drinks and sunk all the atmosphere possible in. With that, we decided to retire to our rooms, leading to one of the best night's sleep i have ever had in the comfiest bed imaginable.

The next day we woke up early and attended breakfast which was delightful, as it needed to be to be worthy of it's hefty price tag! Finally after that, we departed but we will be back soon, it is a must stay at hotel, without a doubt!

-Pros:
incredible location, couldn't be bettered
steeped in history
exceedingly comfy bed
space-age like bathroom

-Cons:
The only thing you can argue with is the cost, as it is so much more expensive than any other parador, but considering what you get and where it is, you'd need to be very mean to feel grudged by it!
The Alhambra can be exceedingly busy in the afternoon, so i highly recommend going in the early morning!

Room Tip: as with many of the paradors, most double rooms come with two single beds, and ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a highlight of our two week trip to Spain. This Parador was the best value - the nicest hotel for the price in Spain. We stayed at a wide range of hotels and this one was special. We were in room 302 - great view, excellent wireless, each morning there was a perfect breakfast served on a lovely porch on the first floor. The hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra - you can't get better than that. Helpful staff, quiet location, lush gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almunecar
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent one night in the Parador as a birthday treat. We were, I think, in the old part, Cool patio with fountain orange tree and fountain with comfortable chairs in the centre.Lots of antiques and paintings. Room not large but very comfortable and well fitted, big modern bathroom and balcony overlooking the Generalife. Efficient airconditioning. Dinner on terrace under trees and softly lit was excellent staff friendly and interested and the fig ice cream to die for! Set in large sensory garden with scent of roses and lavendar and overlooking the Summer palace. After dinner strolled through to the Palace for a night visit (has to be prebooked). Very gently lit which shows the ancient palace at its best, and not as busy as day visits. Lovely views of Granada at night.
Superb location, expensive probably but worth every euro!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#23 of 127 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.