We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Granada
hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As I travelled to Granada with my elderly parents (with the main purpose of seeing the Alhambra), the location of the parador was perfect. The front desk staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our rooms had views of the Generalife and it was stunning. We also loved the outdoor restaurant, with the shade and breeze it was nice and pleasant even in August!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    163
    60
    32
    15
See reviews for
101
347
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very slow, poor service from staff that do not want to serve you. Drinks slapped down in front of you so they spilled onto the table, begrudged service, . Despite 3staff and only around 20customers, plus Terraces closed, toilets filthy with no lights and no loo roll!
Ha ha! Try the 1star hotel America next door, knocks spots off the parador!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has to have the best location in Spain, if not Europe. We spent just one night here but had more than we could ask for, with the Alhambra a short, leisurely walk away. After arriving and checking in, we had a quick lunch in the restaurant before we went to the Alhambra, to see the great palace left by the Moors.

On return, we decided to have dinner in the parador, where we sat on the veranda, which proved to be a brilliant decision; becoming one of the best meals we had in our two week trip to Spain (due to the atmosphere and the food!)

After dinner we remained seated at the table and had a few more drinks and sunk all the atmosphere possible in. With that, we decided to retire to our rooms, leading to one of the best night's sleep i have ever had in the comfiest bed imaginable.

The next day we woke up early and attended breakfast which was delightful, as it needed to be to be worthy of it's hefty price tag! Finally after that, we departed but we will be back soon, it is a must stay at hotel, without a doubt!

-Pros:
incredible location, couldn't be bettered
steeped in history
exceedingly comfy bed
space-age like bathroom

-Cons:
The only thing you can argue with is the cost, as it is so much more expensive than any other parador, but considering what you get and where it is, you'd need to be very mean to feel grudged by it!
The Alhambra can be exceedingly busy in the afternoon, so i highly recommend going in the early morning!

Room Tip: as with many of the paradors, most double rooms come with two single beds, and ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a highlight of our two week trip to Spain. This Parador was the best value - the nicest hotel for the price in Spain. We stayed at a wide range of hotels and this one was special. We were in room 302 - great view, excellent wireless, each morning there was a perfect breakfast served on a lovely porch on the first floor. The hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra - you can't get better than that. Helpful staff, quiet location, lush gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almunecar
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent one night in the Parador as a birthday treat. We were, I think, in the old part, Cool patio with fountain orange tree and fountain with comfortable chairs in the centre.Lots of antiques and paintings. Room not large but very comfortable and well fitted, big modern bathroom and balcony overlooking the Generalife. Efficient airconditioning. Dinner on terrace under trees and softly lit was excellent staff friendly and interested and the fig ice cream to die for! Set in large sensory garden with scent of roses and lavendar and overlooking the Summer palace. After dinner strolled through to the Palace for a night visit (has to be prebooked). Very gently lit which shows the ancient palace at its best, and not as busy as day visits. Lovely views of Granada at night.
Superb location, expensive probably but worth every euro!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This wonderful parador has a spectacular location right in the heart of the Alhambra over looking the Generalife and gardens. We stayed 3 nights and used the opportunity the location afforded to spend chunks of time in the Alhambra attractions on each day. We had a comfortable room, not huge, but with good facilities. Like other paradors, the service and amenities here can be a little variable. The reception staff especially have a rather governmental attitude. The restaurant / cafe area, though, was wonderful with a lovely covered terrace with water sprays during the day and a glorious open area for evening. The evening meals were good enough that we had no desire to eat elsewhere. We ate a range of local speciality dishes, beautifully prepared, in a stunning location. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

No better or worse than any other Parador and certainly not as well sited as Hostal dos Rei Catholicos in Santiago, this Parador has the cachet of being actually inside the Alhambra. One pays very handsomely for this privilege, probably 30% more than an equivalent Parador in a less ritzy location; 849 Euros for five for one night in two rooms with tapas and main course apperatifs and one bottle of wine at the Parador's terrace restaurant, and breakfast. That's a lot for a Parador.

Rooms were good, clean and well equipped, like any Parador, and the service was efficient and polite without being in any way special. Very noisy music from the town kept us awake until 1am.

Complimentary car parking made an 8.30 guided tour of the Alhambra per se a breeze.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest that's very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Escapio, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.