We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, convenient, overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Granada
MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful, convenient, overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple nights. Plusses:

Great location. unbeatable if you want something near Alhambra. Easy to get to center of old part of town to but a bit of a hike back.

Food is good but the view from the restaurant of Generalife is spectacular especially when the lights come on at night.

Clean.

Minuses:

Very expensive. Not sure it is worth it. Rooms are small for what they are. Within the family we differ on whether it was worth staying here.

Somehow toilet paper must be pricey. Part of a roll in a room seemed to mean no more tp until that was used up. After asking a couple times, which produced another roll, we bought some.

Third person supplement is a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    172
    60
    33
    19
See reviews for
106
360
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

No better place to be than right on the grounds of the Alhambra! The window of our lovely room looked out on the amazing gardens and the Generalife. The architecture and history of the building are truly remarkable and, as far as the lodgings are concerned, no detail is overlooked. The only disappointment was the restaurant in the hotel, which was unfortunately not what you might expect in a place like this. The weather was cool, so we couldn't sit on the terrace, which might have made it more appealing, but the food, service, and atmosphere in the dining room left much to be desired.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for two days, three nights, on the grounds of the Alhambra and a ten minute walk to the Plaza Nueva in Granada. Access to both the Alhambra and to the old city is excellent. And note, it is as important and in its own way rewarding to visit the old city and to climb to the Mirador as it is to see the Alhambra.
The price is high and the rooms are very good - not outstanding (we've had better rooms at the paradors in Ronda and Hondurrabia). The restaurant is of high quality by any standard and excellent by parador standards. If location is everything for the tourist spending a few days in Granada, then this is the place I'd recommend. If the visit is to be a longer one, there are good hotels and better prices in town.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is a splendid setting in the grounds of the Alhambra. However, the price charged is not commensurate with other hotels where we have stayed ( in over 20 countries). In particular, the restaurant service is distinctly avearge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this property for 3 nights. The location is superb. You feel you are time traveling. Just to be able to stay in the Alhambra is magic. The hotel is beautiful with a magnificent view from rooms and also from its terrace. The only down note would be the front desk staff which did not seem to be very helpful. You felt you were interrupting them when you had something to ask or needed assistance. They seemed to be n a bad mood. But not even that can place a shadow on a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Parador is expensive but worth every penny. The hotel is located in a converted convent within the walls of the Alhambra, and the Alhambra is, to be honest, the only real reason to visit Granada. The Parador is classed as a 4* hotel and I think this is about right. It is certainly not 5* though the prices are, but so what, they have the best location in the town by far! THe hotel itself is difficult to find. Simple advice here: Go to Google maps and get directions and they will show you the approach from the back of the hill (Do not attempt to go through the centre of Granada itself or you will get lost!). Once at the top of the hill at the last roundabout (Left turn) by the public car parks, DO NOT go through the barrier into the car parks. You have to take a left fork before the car park barrier which feels all wrong as if you are going against the traffic coming out but there is a sign to the Parador (Very discreet). From there you drive through the trees to a barrier where you have to convince someone that you are staying at the Parador. You can then drive right in through the walls, past the taxi rank and up to the front door of the Parador where someone will valet park your car if you ask at the front desk (The Parador car park is chaos. Let them do it!). The front desk staff are helpful, the building charming and the terrace bar / restaurant is fantastic with beautiful views across to the Generaliffe. There is a modern wing with some of the accommodation and I think the rooms here are rather larger but with less character than in the old part of the original convent. The room we had in the new wing was comfortable, well appointed with splendid views of the Generaliffe, but the lighting controls were frankly incomprehensible. Four nights ad we never quite got to grips with them! I cannot fault the hotel overall but would recommend taking a taxi to one of the legion of good restaurants in town for the evening meal. Breakfast is great but expensive if you don't have an inclusive package.

Room Tip: Determine whether you want a room of character in the old part of the hotel and if so specify in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A couple of years ago we visited the Alhambra and as we walked past the Parador I commented on what a great place to stay it would be. My dreams came true and we have just spent an incredible 2 nights here, the 4th and final Parador on our trip.

It was everything I imagined it to be, helped with our luggage, smooth check in, the most amazing high tech room, with the bedroom window looking out to the gardens of the Generalife and the summer palace, and the bathroom window onto the snow topped mountains of the Sierra Nevada. We had some wonderful meals, took time to enjoy the building and the whole site, especially the central courtyard.

Beds are incredibly comfortable so we had wonderful sleeps in the most magical of places.
It is expensive, but for a special occasion, it is so worth it!

Room Tip: Room 302 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.