We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is a splendid setting in the grounds of the Alhambra. However, the price charged is not commensurate with other hotels where we have stayed ( in over 20 countries). In particular, the restaurant service is distinctly avearge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    204
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
135
444
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this property for 3 nights. The location is superb. You feel you are time traveling. Just to be able to stay in the Alhambra is magic. The hotel is beautiful with a magnificent view from rooms and also from its terrace. The only down note would be the front desk staff which did not seem to be very helpful. You felt you were interrupting them when you had something to ask or needed assistance. They seemed to be n a bad mood. But not even that can place a shadow on a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Parador is expensive but worth every penny. The hotel is located in a converted convent within the walls of the Alhambra, and the Alhambra is, to be honest, the only real reason to visit Granada. The Parador is classed as a 4* hotel and I think this is about right. It is certainly not 5* though the prices are, but so what, they have the best location in the town by far! THe hotel itself is difficult to find. Simple advice here: Go to Google maps and get directions and they will show you the approach from the back of the hill (Do not attempt to go through the centre of Granada itself or you will get lost!). Once at the top of the hill at the last roundabout (Left turn) by the public car parks, DO NOT go through the barrier into the car parks. You have to take a left fork before the car park barrier which feels all wrong as if you are going against the traffic coming out but there is a sign to the Parador (Very discreet). From there you drive through the trees to a barrier where you have to convince someone that you are staying at the Parador. You can then drive right in through the walls, past the taxi rank and up to the front door of the Parador where someone will valet park your car if you ask at the front desk (The Parador car park is chaos. Let them do it!). The front desk staff are helpful, the building charming and the terrace bar / restaurant is fantastic with beautiful views across to the Generaliffe. There is a modern wing with some of the accommodation and I think the rooms here are rather larger but with less character than in the old part of the original convent. The room we had in the new wing was comfortable, well appointed with splendid views of the Generaliffe, but the lighting controls were frankly incomprehensible. Four nights ad we never quite got to grips with them! I cannot fault the hotel overall but would recommend taking a taxi to one of the legion of good restaurants in town for the evening meal. Breakfast is great but expensive if you don't have an inclusive package.

Room Tip: Determine whether you want a room of character in the old part of the hotel and if so specify in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A couple of years ago we visited the Alhambra and as we walked past the Parador I commented on what a great place to stay it would be. My dreams came true and we have just spent an incredible 2 nights here, the 4th and final Parador on our trip.

It was everything I imagined it to be, helped with our luggage, smooth check in, the most amazing high tech room, with the bedroom window looking out to the gardens of the Generalife and the summer palace, and the bathroom window onto the snow topped mountains of the Sierra Nevada. We had some wonderful meals, took time to enjoy the building and the whole site, especially the central courtyard.

Beds are incredibly comfortable so we had wonderful sleeps in the most magical of places.
It is expensive, but for a special occasion, it is so worth it!

Room Tip: Room 302 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is unparalleled; the gardens sublime. The design sleek and modern is aesthetically pleasing, but with no consideration for comfort in the rooms and with very uncomfortable beds, as has been mentioned in other reviews. Most important of all, the service is deplorable: no one to help with suitcase upon arrival and a front desk that made horrendous recommendations, steering us away from the venues for tapas and show that we had researched and selected based on tripadvisor reviews, and sending us instead to the worst evening experience we had during our trip in Spain.
Specifically, upon our arrival, the staff at the desk dissuaded us from attending the flamenco show and tapas restaurant we had chosen from reading tripadvisor reviews. The staff member insisted instead that the best show in town was the tableau flamenco in Albaycin. When I expressed reservations, he insisted that the dinner was wonderful and that he had high recommendations from everyone he sent there. To our chagrin, we followed his advice. Not only were we the only people at dinner in the entire restaurant, but we were the only ones at the flamenco performance who did not arrive by tour bus. The dancers looked bored and all performers were very young. We left very upset by the experience, and Euro 124 poorer. When I returned to the parador, I checked on tripadvisor and found that the show is geared to large tour groups and includes transportation by minibus from and back to the hotel. It did not quote any prices and was ranked 47 on tripadvisor, whereas the show we had wanted to see was ranked the best on tripadvisor and would have cost Euro 40 for two. Since the desk staff had steered us away from the top rated flamenco show to the worst rated one, which also charged twice the cost and had no price listed anywhere, we naturally felt deceived and taken advantage of. There was a sign at the desk stating that forms were available to register complaints, but we were too upset to fill out the form and just wanted to leave as soon as possible the next day.
We had a second issue with the front desk. When we arrived, they scheduled a private guide for us to tour the Alhambra, for which they informed us the charge was Euro 285. Later, when we went to the room, we looked up the Alhambra site and found that the tour on the weekend cost Euro 202 plus Euro 30 for admission for two, so the charge should have been Euro 232 and not the 285 the front desk staff charged. In other words, the front desk was charging upwards of 20% commission for making the phone call to the Alhambra ticket office, which was right next to the hotel. As the charge was significant, we felt that good service required that they bring to our attention that they levied a very high commission on making the phone call for us. In summary, if you do not rely on the front desk for advice and do not expect a good night's sleep and do not expect great food in the restaurant, the location of the hotel and restaurant is without parallel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We Have just arrived at this magnificant and beautiful hotel for a three night stay. The rooms are great and the view is Spectacular. The Front Desk was extremely friendly and helpful and that is where it stopped. We went to the terrace restaurant for lunch, and waited. The number of staff was more that adequate for the clientele. After three other tables of people that arrived after us were served, my wife attracted a waiters attention who nodded and walked off on another mission, later she then attracted a waitress and was told by her to have patience. We then taxied to the town to eat. On our return we decided to test our luck by having a drink in the restaurant, we left to have a drink in our room after two other groups who arrived after us were served. We do dress tidely and are well mannered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location is key at this beautifully restored monastery. Very tasteful and sympathetic renovations, friendly and attentive Reception staff. Arrived mid afternoon and just managed to squeeze car into car park. Porter was there with trolley before we got out of car, friendly and helpful. Room on 2nd floor overlooking gardens very good quality, as expected from four star property. Terrace restaurant excellent and location perfect for Alhambra. Then comes the disappointment. Bar was desolate, no servers and no atmosphere. Food in restaurant very good but it all felt like somewhere a coach party might stop at, not helped by DEAD roses on the table. Four star hotel, maybe two star restaurant and zero stars for bar!

Room Tip: High floor, keep window open to hear surprise 8am bugle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#23 of 127 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.