We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with the terrace restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Gordon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the terrace restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We Have just arrived at this magnificant and beautiful hotel for a three night stay. The rooms are great and the view is Spectacular. The Front Desk was extremely friendly and helpful and that is where it stopped. We went to the terrace restaurant for lunch, and waited. The number of staff was more that adequate for the clientele. After three other tables of people that arrived after us were served, my wife attracted a waiters attention who nodded and walked off on another mission, later she then attracted a waitress and was told by her to have patience. We then taxied to the town to eat. On our return we decided to test our luck by having a drink in the restaurant, we left to have a drink in our room after two other groups who arrived after us were served. We do dress tidely and are well mannered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    201
    70
    37
    20
See reviews for
130
431
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location is key at this beautifully restored monastery. Very tasteful and sympathetic renovations, friendly and attentive Reception staff. Arrived mid afternoon and just managed to squeeze car into car park. Porter was there with trolley before we got out of car, friendly and helpful. Room on 2nd floor overlooking gardens very good quality, as expected from four star property. Terrace restaurant excellent and location perfect for Alhambra. Then comes the disappointment. Bar was desolate, no servers and no atmosphere. Food in restaurant very good but it all felt like somewhere a coach party might stop at, not helped by DEAD roses on the table. Four star hotel, maybe two star restaurant and zero stars for bar!

Room Tip: High floor, keep window open to hear surprise 8am bugle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The parador is in a former palace, later a convent, with beautiful grounds right in the middle of the Alhambra, with glorious views from the terraces. The guest rooms (only 38 by our count) are thoroughly modern and comfortable, with free wifi. There was no bath, but the shower was large, with multiple jets. We found the staff courteous and helpful in details like allowing us to leave our car in the car park after check-out. Service was also good in the restaurant which, like other paradors, has some interesting regional dishes on the menu. But the hotel is undoubtedly pricey for its quality, even taking into account the historic building. Fundamentally you are paying for the amazing location. We reckon it's well worth it for a night, maybe two, but after that we would look to change our base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The only reason to stay at the Parador in Granada is location, location, location. You go to Granada to visit the Alhambra and the Parador is within the Alhambra complex -- parts of it are even an old Franciscan monastery where Ferdinand and Isabella were first buried -- and the Parador is the only upscale hotel within the Alhambra.  It's hard to beat that. The Alhambra is at the top of a steep hill that overlooks the rest of Granada so by staying at the Parador you avoid the climb, whether by foot, bus or taxi, and you are right at the entrance when you want to start your visit. And the Parador itself has beautiful gardens that overlook the Generalife Gardens and the Albaicín section of Granada, where you go for the best views of the Alhambra itself. We arrived by car -- the Parador would have been difficult to find without GPS -- and were greeted by the staff in their free locked parking lot.  We were escorted through a lovely garden to the attractive reception area. Then we were led to our room. Imagine our surprise when we walked down a corridor of paired doors that looked just like a Marriott or Sheraton in Anywhere USA. And then we entered our room which, although very modern in a European way, was quite small, considering how much we paid (it's expensive). But we knew we were paying in part for the view so imagine our surprise when we opened the shutters to find the view was of a flat gravel roof, a modern brick wall and some trees.  I asked the front desk if any other rooms were available and got some vague comments about upgrading to a junior suite and blaming the room on our having booked on the Internet (I booked through the Palace Tours website, but the rate was not a bargain rate, and I imagine everyone reading this review will book on the Internet). So we were stuck with the viewless room. That might have been okay but it had no place to unpack -- no drawers and no shelves not otherwise occupied by the safe and the mini fridge -- so we had to live out of our suitcases for two days. And the bathroom had no place to unpack our toilet kits except for the bidet.  The room and the corridor reeked of a very strong scent, like someone had put plug-in air fresheners into every available outlet. On the plus side, the included breakfast was excellent, with fresh eggs cooked to order in addition to the usual buffet items. And the restaurant for lunch and dinner is pretty good, although no bargain. I'm unlikely ever to return to Granada -- it's amazing, but probably a once in a lifetime kind of place -- so it's hard to say if I would stay at the Parador again but, despite its many faults, I'm glad we stayed there as it made our Alhambra visit much more convenient and special than it would have been otherwise. I just wish the Spanish government, which owns all the Paradores, had put as much thought into building the newer wings of the Granada Parador as they have into conserving the historical buildings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A grand old place and in the right place If Alhambra was your reason to visit. All a bit old and tired and general quality of food, service etc average. Pleasant base to walk down to town from and easy to get a taxi back. If you want help with bags forget it but all in the joys of travel.
The setting on a hill in gardens with views made a relaxing change. Breakfast average to poor as an inclusion though lunch setting and food and service fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is in the most gorgeous setting. In fact, the grounds are so beautiful they brought me to tears. Our room was right next to the swimming pool which is really not for swimming but full of fish which wa cool but made our room smell kind of like fish. The room was large and the bathroom was fine but this place really needs to add a few more touches to charge $500 a night. The view and the grounds are worth it for a night but if you are staying longer in Granada, I would recommend staying here for one evening and then staying somewhere with nicer rooms and more reasonable rates. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sheets were old. The parlors are tastefully decorated and the courtyards are gorgeous. The grounds were a plus 5 but the rooms are average at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to be in the middle of the Alhambra. It is expensive but you are paying for the location.the rooms, pay for a view are excellent.the staff good and helpful food in the restaurant is good worth having dinner once good breakfast and great terrace.

Room Tip: Pay for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.