We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I first visited this amazing hotel 30 years ago and have returned to find it wonderful as ever but sensitively refurbished to a very high standard that respects the fabric and character of this stunning building. The Alhambra palace is a must see for anyone visiting this part of Spain, the Parador is right in the centre of the palace grounds and forms an integral part of the site. Very friendly, warm helpful staff make staying here all the more enjoyable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    167
    60
    33
    16
See reviews for
104
351
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A pleasant stay at the Parador in the Alhambra with dinner three nights in a row. The food is pretty good although don't relay on the accuracy of the English translations. We ordered the pork loin which turned out to be pork belly, a slight difference... But this is part and parcel of travelling so not a criticism as the food was well prepared and enjoyable. The service was good too.

Potential guests should be aware that the hotel is inside the Alhambra which means you are somewhat isolated from Granada town, although it's only a 20-30 minute walk or take a taxi. We had a car which made it easy and the hotel has a small car park next to the reception.

So highly recommended for it's historic location, good service and well cooked food.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 which overlooks the pond. There was some noise from adjacent rooms, but not too int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, España
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Parador in Granada in January 2013 and had the most wonderful time. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and upon entering the room we were met with the sight of a chilling bottle of cava and petit fours with the compliments of the manager and staff. Asked reception to book us a table for lunch in the restaurant and we were shown to a lovely table overlooking the patio. The waiter met us with a Happy Anniversary. We had a superb meal and were treated to a glass of cava with our desserts ... so the siesta in the comfortable bed afterwards was welcome.
The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable and bathrooms luxurious. It was bitterly cold outside during our stay but we were warm and comfy all the time. Wi-fi is perfect in this hotel. We stayed here some 7 years ago and since then the hotel has undergone refurbishment and it is now a luxurious and delightful hotel. My husband, who is an architect, was marvelling at the attention to detail throughout. It is beautiful to see how it has been possible to marry modern requirements with total respect for the fabric of the old building.
Highly recommendable with the added bonus of being situated within the Alhambra. There is a local bus running down to the town only 5 minutes walk away and a taxi into to town is only Euro 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We decided to split from a dreary experience in Estepona (if driving from Malaga airport, avert your eyes while rounding the bend near Torremolinos) and re-visit Granada. This parador is usually booked up tight, but in February and mid-week, we found an easy reservation in a lovely room facing the front gardens. Breakfast was included in the rate, a nice buffet of every kind of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit, and the restaurant space is clean and efficient. The service is impeccable, and parking in the garage is actually reasonably (for Spain) priced. This is all the good news.

Oh, more good news: Granada, the town, opens up at night, with a wild tapas scene (yes, one free tapa for each drink you order) and lots of young people from the university. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know more of this fine city.

The bad news? The parador is way way on top of the Alhambra hill, which means you need to go down to get to restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. If you don't mind the occasional walk up and/or down, or taxi rides, this is your kinda place.

Room Tip: They're all good, but depending on the time of year, you might get upgraded to a junior suite, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Anywhere you go in Spain, if a Parador is one of your options, it's often the best one - and nowhere is that more true than here. The Parador de Granada is not located near the Alhambra, it is PART of the Alhambra, physically on the grounds, in the original monastery buildings. Like most Paradors it is old (but well restored) on the outside, brand new and modern on the inside. The restaurant is up to typical Parador high standards, as are the front desk people. They can help you with admission tickets - no small perk if you have arrived without purchasing yours in advance (which I don't recommend, even off-season). There is a nice car park, which is locked up and guarded at night. We asked (as we always do) if they had any special deals, and they gave us a room that normally goes for 300 Euros/night without breakfast for 210 with breakfast. We normally don't like spending that much for a room; but here, it was worth every centavo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A previous palace/ convent converted into a hotel, with modern facilities. It has wifi in the room. The shower head is not only rain shower type and hand held shower, it has side jet shower heads too! The mattress is so comfortable. It is located inside the Alhambra complex that makes it so convenient to visit the palaces, Alcazaba and the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013



The ideal place to stay as it is situated in the generalife gardens. The terrace is a nice place for lunch and the food is excellent. The restaurant is also ideal for dinner and both the service and food are excellent. No criticisms at all except it is very expensive due to the fabulous location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.