We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parador de Granada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Parador de Granada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A pleasant stay at the Parador in the Alhambra with dinner three nights in a row. The food is pretty good although don't relay on the accuracy of the English translations. We ordered the pork loin which turned out to be pork belly, a slight difference... But this is part and parcel of travelling so not a criticism as the food was well prepared and enjoyable. The service was good too.

Potential guests should be aware that the hotel is inside the Alhambra which means you are somewhat isolated from Granada town, although it's only a 20-30 minute walk or take a taxi. We had a car which made it easy and the hotel has a small car park next to the reception.

So highly recommended for it's historic location, good service and well cooked food.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 which overlooks the pond. There was some noise from adjacent rooms, but not too int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    194
    69
    36
    20
See reviews for
123
417
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, España
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Parador in Granada in January 2013 and had the most wonderful time. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and upon entering the room we were met with the sight of a chilling bottle of cava and petit fours with the compliments of the manager and staff. Asked reception to book us a table for lunch in the restaurant and we were shown to a lovely table overlooking the patio. The waiter met us with a Happy Anniversary. We had a superb meal and were treated to a glass of cava with our desserts ... so the siesta in the comfortable bed afterwards was welcome.
The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable and bathrooms luxurious. It was bitterly cold outside during our stay but we were warm and comfy all the time. Wi-fi is perfect in this hotel. We stayed here some 7 years ago and since then the hotel has undergone refurbishment and it is now a luxurious and delightful hotel. My husband, who is an architect, was marvelling at the attention to detail throughout. It is beautiful to see how it has been possible to marry modern requirements with total respect for the fabric of the old building.
Highly recommendable with the added bonus of being situated within the Alhambra. There is a local bus running down to the town only 5 minutes walk away and a taxi into to town is only Euro 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We decided to split from a dreary experience in Estepona (if driving from Malaga airport, avert your eyes while rounding the bend near Torremolinos) and re-visit Granada. This parador is usually booked up tight, but in February and mid-week, we found an easy reservation in a lovely room facing the front gardens. Breakfast was included in the rate, a nice buffet of every kind of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit, and the restaurant space is clean and efficient. The service is impeccable, and parking in the garage is actually reasonably (for Spain) priced. This is all the good news.

Oh, more good news: Granada, the town, opens up at night, with a wild tapas scene (yes, one free tapa for each drink you order) and lots of young people from the university. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know more of this fine city.

The bad news? The parador is way way on top of the Alhambra hill, which means you need to go down to get to restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. If you don't mind the occasional walk up and/or down, or taxi rides, this is your kinda place.

Room Tip: They're all good, but depending on the time of year, you might get upgraded to a junior suite, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Anywhere you go in Spain, if a Parador is one of your options, it's often the best one - and nowhere is that more true than here. The Parador de Granada is not located near the Alhambra, it is PART of the Alhambra, physically on the grounds, in the original monastery buildings. Like most Paradors it is old (but well restored) on the outside, brand new and modern on the inside. The restaurant is up to typical Parador high standards, as are the front desk people. They can help you with admission tickets - no small perk if you have arrived without purchasing yours in advance (which I don't recommend, even off-season). There is a nice car park, which is locked up and guarded at night. We asked (as we always do) if they had any special deals, and they gave us a room that normally goes for 300 Euros/night without breakfast for 210 with breakfast. We normally don't like spending that much for a room; but here, it was worth every centavo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A previous palace/ convent converted into a hotel, with modern facilities. It has wifi in the room. The shower head is not only rain shower type and hand held shower, it has side jet shower heads too! The mattress is so comfortable. It is located inside the Alhambra complex that makes it so convenient to visit the palaces, Alcazaba and the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013



The ideal place to stay as it is situated in the generalife gardens. The terrace is a nice place for lunch and the food is excellent. The restaurant is also ideal for dinner and both the service and food are excellent. No criticisms at all except it is very expensive due to the fabulous location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This Parador was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. Set in the Monastery in the Alhambra the location is postcard perfect. The rooms are compact but fine and the Restuarant first class. Great selection of local dishes and a good wine and sherry list. Only quibble is that it was overheated. Why do rooms need to be set at 24 degrees? In the Restuarant I wanted only a tshirt and needed to retreat to the cold air half way through the meal!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.