We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Alhambra as it is situated in the generalife gardens.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Save Saved
You added Parador de Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador de Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 130 hotels in Granada
Solihull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Alhambra as it is situated in the generalife gardens.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013



The ideal place to stay as it is situated in the generalife gardens. The terrace is a nice place for lunch and the food is excellent. The restaurant is also ideal for dinner and both the service and food are excellent. No criticisms at all except it is very expensive due to the fabulous location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    137
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
299
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This Parador was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. Set in the Monastery in the Alhambra the location is postcard perfect. The rooms are compact but fine and the Restuarant first class. Great selection of local dishes and a good wine and sherry list. Only quibble is that it was overheated. Why do rooms need to be set at 24 degrees? In the Restuarant I wanted only a tshirt and needed to retreat to the cold air half way through the meal!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are 'Amigos de Paradores' which is the loyalty club you can join if you like Parador hotels in Spain...we love them so have been members of the club for quite some time. We knew this property gets book up months in advance as they only have 40 rooms in a converted old convent built in the grounds of the Moorish Alhambra Palace in Granada. So we booked about 10 months beforehand...and it was worth it!
If you like being surrounded by history and having the grounds of an ancient palace on your doorstep...and exclusively yours in the evening...then you'll love this hotel.
We arrived mid-afternoon and used the information the hotel had sent us to find the small car park used exclusively by the hotel guests...just next door to the hotel. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon suite, which is on two floors of a small tower. From the large bed you could see all around the Generalife gardens and down towards Granada itself as it had seven separate windows...it was like sleeping in a lighthouse, except more romantic and luxurious. So much so that we decided to have Room Service and enjoy one of the best views in town.
The menu offers lots of regional dishes...my veal just melted in the mouth and the special dessert tasters were delicious.
Everybody in the hotel was extremely helpful, especially Carlos in Reception who showed us to our room, booked a tour around the Alhambra Palace for the next day and also made a reservation for a table at 'Las Estrellas de San Nicolas' restaurant across the valley from the Parador, with wonderful views of the Palace at night. He was extremely helpful and really made our stay special.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and seemed newly painted and the bathroom was huge and beautifully appointed with marble and chrome.
We didn't need to use our car for all our stay in Granada as the Palace is on a hill and a delightful walk through the woods down into the Plaza Nueva, where we shopped and had delicious tapas. We walked a lot as Granada always seems to have something fascinating to visit 'just around the corner'...lots of small squares with beautiful restaurants to eat at in the surprisingly warm winter sun...then got a taxi back to the hotel for less than four euros.
This wonderful hotel has so much to offer and Granada is the sort of place you really want to re-visit...this was our second time there as we only touched on the sights last time.
I would recommend this hotel without any doubts as we had a purely magical stay...I hope you do too!

Room Tip: Ask well in advance for the suite in the tower as it really is very special...but book it way in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This parador is really unique. You stay in a historic building, in a location that could not be better (right in the Alhambra), the rooms are very nice, the views from the room are soothing, the food is very good. This parador is a dream-come-true. An unforgettable experience.
Tip: go for the Alhambra Night experience, which gives you admission to almost all places you can visit during the day, but without the crowds. Ask the front desk. UNFORGETTABLE!!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Roig, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was planed as a lifetime exsperience. Slightly overpriced but location is everything. So if you want to spoil yourself with the special experience to stay in an old convent right in the middle of the Alhambra this is the place. The service and food is exellent as one will expect in a hotel like this

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

if you are visiting la Alhambra then this is definitely the place to stay (if you can afford it) as there could not be a better location! You have views to the Generalife, delicious food (breakfast and dinner), modern rooms and welcoming staff. If you do would rather not have dinner in the hotel (though I highly recommend the food) you can go to one of the "carmens" and eat there as it is round the corner to the entrance of the Alhambra.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Where else can you stay on the grounds of a 13th century place? In a restored convent filled with antiques and history? Wander around at night, under a full moon? We loved this place, it was our splurge for the Spain trip, but well worth it. We stayed 2 nights in a room in the old wing, overlooking the pool and grounds. The room was enormous and very clean. It was well-stocked with modern amenities, turn-down service, fluffy towels, comfy beds, and a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet, while pricey, was extensive and delicious; you can sit outside on the patio overlooking the Alhambra grounds, with St. Nicholas and the Generalife in the distance. Even if you don't stay there, at least go for lunch, or coffee, or a drink - the food is as delicious as the view. Pros - all, cons - none. For us this was a one-of-a-kind experience and I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel
Address: Real de la Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.