We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Santa Ines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio de Santa Ines to your Saves list
Palacio de Santa Ines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santa Ines 9, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average experience in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that the location is great: in the old part of the city, just by the river and the cobbled street that runs along it to the square. I had thought we had booked a superior room with a view of the Alhambra: however when we arrived we got a room facing a wall and the sideways view of the city up the hill behind us. The staff were very friendly (even if we had to wait a while to check in) and helpful, and there is plenty of information on visits and the attractions of the city. The central atrium of the old palace makes a fantastic foyer and the complementary sangria in the afternoon was a nice touch.
My major gripe with the hotel is the rooms: ours had very ordinary decor with extremely hard mattresses and terrible artwork on the walls (laughably horrible portraits of strange women). When you're visiting a lot of places in succession the quality of the beds is important and on this trip, this was definitely the worst bed. After one uncomfortable night we asked if it was possible to change rooms because our sleep was so broken: "unfortunately no", they couldn't because the hotel was full. However they did make the beds up with additional duvets and blankets under the bottom sheet, which was appreciated.
You can imagine our faces when we came out of our room on the second morning ready to leave and found ... a brand new mattress standing outside our room. In fact, brand new mattresses standing outside all the rooms on our floor. Seems like we missed the new mattress boat by two days.Breakfasts were good with a wide range to chose from to suit different tastes, however you might have to queue for the coffee pot.

Room Tip: If you've asked for a room with a view of the Alhambra, insist that you get it when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    136
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
77
216
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A wonderful overnight stay at this hotel in the heart of Granada. We stayed in a family duplex room with the rest of our party in a superior double room (it was very large) with a view of the Alhambra. The hotel is perfectly located to explore Granada and the staff could not ave been more helpful both prior to and during our stay. They helped to book a guided Alhambra tour with pick up a couple of minutes from the front door of the hotel. Breakfast was good, although the breakfast room itself was quite small and it was a bit of a squeeze at times when trying to serve yourself. Can't recommend highly enough for an overnight stay in a beautiful building in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a unique hotel in a large, updated 15th-16th century residence that has about 35 rooms in an almost perfect location---right in the heart of the old city, but within an easy 10-15 minute walk of the modern city core. We had a wonderfull room with glass-enclosed sitting area with a great view of the Alhambra. Bathroom was fully updated . But note that this hotel has 4 stories and no elevator---so ask for a room on a lower floor if you don't want to be running up and down the stairs each time you leave and return to the room. They serve modest breakfast each day for a reasonable rate. Staff was efficient and welcoming. A highly recommended place to stay when in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCIONPALACIO, Gerente at Palacio de Santa Ines, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your kind review.

Most of the hotel rooms has lift, just a few have not lift because this part of the building has the hightest protection for a historical building and it is not permitted. This a little inconvenience that we try to compensate with pampering to our Guests and with the best staff of the world.

Consider this your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our experience here was one of the highlights of our trip to Spain.The hotel has tons of character and charm and in the historic area of old Granada.Close to everything! My partner and I asked for a room with a view of Alhambra-opened our door when we first arrived and were stunned by the views of Alhambra and the charming large room with antique furniture(you want room #32) Some of the rooms are smaller and no views. I did it over internet-pd extra (think it was called a superior room) and thought it was a good value when compared to other places we stayed while traveling through Spain.One review mentioned no lift-not sure what their talking about as there was an elevator right off our room! Also the staff was great,especially Patricia ! Very helpful with suggestions on restaurants, places to see etc.they better keep her around! All in all a great experience and would highly recommend this place! Note..if there on Thur. night they have a Flamenco show not far from hotel for 8 euros (only thur night and fantastic) ask Patricia and she will make reservations for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCIONPALACIO, Gerente at Palacio de Santa Ines, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, your review is very kind.

I will personally gratulated with Patricia for her excellent Guest care.

I hope see you soon again.

Consider this your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very good location right in the heart of things, but note there is no vehicular access by private vehicle. Avoid room 16, if you can. It is right opposite the linen store so I was woken by the maids early in the morning (on a Saturday!) jabbering away and clattering around.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here with my two teenage children. We were given a twin room with a separate sitting room, which suited us very well. The location of this hotel is perfect. We could walk everywhere. The staff were excellent. We had to alter our booking at the last minute, due to a storm affecting flights from London, and they were so helpful and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The pros: Convenient location, front desk staff responsive and helpful, quaint & unique.
The cons: After being dropped off by taxi it requires a short walk up a a number of steps with a smooth stone texture with a slight slant . If pulling a couple suitcases it is easy to slip and fall (I know because I did!) The mattress was hard. There was a room freshener releasing a sweet smell every 15 minutes, which I did not care for. There was supposed to be a safe in the room which was not in our room for some reason. The spiral staircase to the 2nd floor loft was OK, but didn't seem to make sense being in front of the bathroom door if someone walked out of the bathroom in the dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio de Santa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Santa Ines

Address: Cuesta de Santa Ines 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Granada
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#18 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacio de Santa Ines 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th-century Palacio De Santa Ines, in the Unesco World Heritage Albayzín district, is a 5 minute walk from Granada Cathedral. Crossing the small hall at the entrance, visitors will be fascinated by the courtyard beauty because of its fountain, columns, balustrades and in particular, of Renaissance frescos painted by Alexander Mayner and Giulio Romano, Rafael’s disciples, who came to Granada in 1520 to paint the Peinador Queen of the Alhambra and ... Palacio de Santa Ines.This picturesque hotel consists of 35 rooms, consists of two small sixteenth century Mudejar buildings. The first one is called the Eternal Father's House, restructured in 1995, gave rise to the Hotel and has been expanded in 2001 with the renovation of the building adjoining the St. Agnes’ s laundry. The hotel terrace offers panoramic views of the Alhambra. All the rooms are equipped with a safe, minibar, private bathroom, hairdryer and free toiletries. Some rooms are duplex, meanwhile the Superior Rooms offer Alhambra view.A buffet breakfast is available and the hotel offers tea and coffee in the afternoon. Free Wi-Fi is available and there is 24-hour front desk. Hotel staff can reserve tickets for shows, guided tours to the Alhambra Palace and other events. They also help you with travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palacio de Santa Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Santa Ines Hotel Granada
Palacio De Santa Ines Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Santa Ines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.