We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you have found it, you will love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Morisca to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Morisca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de la Victoria, 9, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Diekirch, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“When you have found it, you will love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For those arriving by car, only one solution: find the Plaza Nueva, following the "Reyes Catolicos" (or coming via la "Via de Colon" turn left into the Reyes Catolicos). Continuing straight to the Plaza Ana, you will see a dead end sign, ignore it and continue on the "Carrera del Darro" nearly to the end, turn on the left into the, really dead end street "Cuesta Victoria". You will have the hotel on your left.
The hotel is perfect, the "famous"Victor very helpful, breakfast more than perfect for a small hotel. Finally you have 2 city buses ( C1 and C4) down on the Carrera del Darro.

Btw, room number 4 has a small balcony with a view on the Alhambra.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    140
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
300
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby Ontario Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I quite enjoyed this location. If you can drive the crazy old streets of Boston or Old Montreal, you can drive to this hotel. Print the directions and hand them to your co - pilot.

Follow the photographs and carefully check off each as you crawl deeper into the crazy, narrow one way streets of Granada. Arrive mid afternoon when you have daylight, expect to encounter streets that you may want to fold your mirrors in before entering.

Worth it as this hotel has free parking right outside.

Friendly, courteous helpful staff. Great room, not large, but comfortable. Our TV did not work, oh well, we were given a small discount which was appreciated.

If you want to be able to walk to the Alhambra, this is a superb location.

Room Tip: We were given #2. A bit noisy in the morning, but we were not there to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we travelled Andalusia for a couple of days, staying in various types of lodging over a few nights and Morisca made our trip wholesome. We asked reception for recommendation for dinner and they also helped us booked the restaurant (Estrellas) at the top of San Nicholas which was romantic. we didnt get a view of Alhambra but it didnt matter had we already had that view over dinner and also of course we spent a whole aftnoon there. Breakfast is served at underground in a 'cave'. It had a good continental spread and if you like, order a fried egg/ omelette with the service lady. if driving to casa morisca, pls do not follow the GPS as it will take you via the TINIEST road - 1.8m wide (san juan del los reyes) of granada, cars like Audi A4/ BMW 3 series will not be able to get through. we asked for suggestion for stopover as we continue our car trip and it was Nerja we got it. another lovely beach stop. absolutely one of the bestest recommendation we had.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The casa Morisca is a historic building in Granada, updated to a charming hotel.
The courtyard outside the reception area is not for sitting, but there is a comfortable seating area through the patio.
The place is up a small hill, directly off the Paseo de los Tristes - a main walking area, across from a plaza with open air bars and restaurants.
Our room was comfortable, looking out over the side street.
The people at the front desk were friendly, but a couple of them were not proficient in English - I felt very fortunate to be able to speak Spanish.
Their recommendations seemed to me to be mainly big tourist places - both for restaurants and activities. If you want to go somewhat off the beaten track, don't ask them for suggestions.
That said, our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful place in the heart of Granada. A bit expensive but worth it for a special, luxurious treat. The patio and courtyard are lovely and it's quiet at night so you can sleep. A little difficult to get to if you are in a car mind you, as the one way system through the narrow streets is quite hard to negociate. Parking space is reserved for you just outside the hotel though, which is excellent.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

PROS:
1) Near the Alhambra, at the base of the hill (can see it from some rooms)
2) Exceptionally beautiful styling and very comfortable bed with high thread-count sheets
3) Very close to Albayzin neighborhood attractions
4) Nice breakfast area in the basement
5) 10-minute walk to the many Plaza Nueva-area shops and restaurants
6) 15-minute walk to Cathedral, Capilla Real, Gran Via
7) Parking spaces directly across from the hotel itself (a novelty and huge convenience)
8) Victor at the front desk is very professional and helpful.

My traveling companion and I had wanted to stay at this hotel for both nights of our two nights in Granada. We could unfortunately only get one night. The reviews and photos on here were so amazing that we went ahead and booked another hotel for night one and then switched to Casa Morisca, just to experience it, for night two. We're glad we did; it's a beautiful hotel.

A gentleman by the name of Victor seems to be the head of the operation at Casa Morisca, and he was exceptionally helpful and courteous to us. He speaks both Spanish and English, fyi.

The breakfast buffet in the basement is very nice. The lobby area is beautiful, as are the wooden walkways leading to the rooms.

CONS:
I hesitate to write any Cons for this hotel because it's fantastic. The first listing here is from an unfortunate (and I'm sure isolated) experience with a night desk clerk, and the second listing is merely a "fyi" consideration for older travelers/those with walking issues.
1) A night desk clerk caused multiple problems for us by staying on the phone too much as well as not writing down/giving us our wake-up calls for the next morning's departure. The guy was younger, and there could very well have been some language confusion involved (although he clearly said "Ok" when I asked for a 7am wake-up call for two rooms). I am very confident that this unfortunate experience was isolated and in no way is a regular occurrence at this very fine hotel. If I had been able to speak Spanish fluently, the wake-up call part would not have happened. Not sure why he was on the phone so much and therefore delayed helping us with two time-sensitive issues that we had.
2) The hotel is in the lowest part of the hilly Albayzin neighborhood, and, as such, it is located in the middle of a street that goes up at a pronounced angle. There are several low-height "sidewalk" steps to walk up to get to the hotel (if you are in fact walking there) Note: Taxis stop right at the front door on the street, negating any need whatsoever to walk up or down any sidewalk steps. These many steps could be possibly difficult for older people with any walking issues (it was no issue for me), but, in fairness, virtually all Granada hotels in the Albayzin District have the same issue because it is a very hilly part of the city. I mention this only to let those travelers who have issues with steps know that you will encounter some if walking to/from this hotel.

Bottom line: Stay here, if you're lucky enough to book an available room. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps leading up to their doors as well as steps inside the room leading to the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

You will be blown away by this hotel. It could not be any closer to the Alhambra. Hundreds of years old but perfectly updated with everything one could need. The service is attentive and personal. The breakfasts rock.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta de la Victoria, 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Morisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.