We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastoral ambience, and a small museum with an identity issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sacromonte

Sacromonte
Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
+34-958-12-11-83
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sacromonte like an insider
Special Offer
$57*
and up
Private Tour: Flamenco Dance Lesson in a Granada...
Ranked #22 of 174 things to do in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large hill located close to the Albayzín that is known for its caves that have been turned into public places for flamenco performances.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pastoral ambience, and a small museum with an identity issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I echo other submitted reviews and implore travellers to set aside an hour to meander through Sacromonte. It's a mere fifteen to twenty minutes from Plaza Nuevo, and its simple charm and stillness is a nice respite from the commotion below.

That said the mesuem is something of a mystery. It's billed as a local cultural museum, and I admit I expected to learn more about the origins of Flamenco and the history of the Granada gypsies. Instead, I found more of an educational exhibit that focused a third on gypsy and Flamenco history. The remaining two-thirds described flora, fauna and even other countries with temples? The exhibits are informative, but the overall curating is needs to weave the exhibits into a better overall story. Other examples are the exhibits on basketweaving and metalworking. They discuss them in general terms but didn't go on to inform the reader why these were important to local gypsy life. While it's a cute I do not believe it's worth the 5 euro entrance fee. Also, those with mobility or heath issues be warned. It's a little bit of a hike uphill with many steps to get here.

To conclude I probably would not have stopped here had it not been in Sacromonte. Definitely come for the walk and the gorgeous views of the Sierra Nevada mountains and Al-Hambra, but don't be too disappointed if you miss the museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    195
    78
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A hike up the Sacromonte is a part of every trip I take to Granada. At the top is a church with a great view of Granada. The Gitano cave houses are very cool.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Sacromonte is a cute little town you can actually walk to from the Centro of Granada. You can spend a few hours wondering the streets eating a local restaurants etc. We didn't have much to do there so we went to visit the gypsy caves which are a tiring uphill walk. It wasn't the best thing I've seen but it's nice to visit if your not seeing anything else in sacromonte. Some very nice places to eat.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Museo Cuevas (not cave restaurants and flamenco shows)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Museo Cuevas del Sacromonte (the Cave Museum) is a substantial uphill walk from Granada town centre. We were confused by some early signs that seemed to identify the cave restaurants as the museum… they aren’t – keep walking up the road! Following a land slide, the temporary entrance now takes you up steps, around the edge of a music school and finally to the ticket booth which doubles as a small café.
The museum is well laid out, with explanations (Spanish and English) of how the Roma used to live as well as information on the geological events of the area, and the flora and fauna.
We enjoyed the variety of caves, the short film about early cave dwellers and the views to the Alhambra… but most of all we enjoyed the bullfrog chorus when walking past the composting area next to the weaving cave (my kids hadn’t heard frogs before).
I’d recommend this as a very reasonably priced attraction.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
267 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had high hopes for this because I had heard there were caves in which people lived or ran restaurants and flamenco shows, but it wasn't what I imagined and consists of high-priced tourist-oriented flamenco places where people are bused in from the Gran Via. There are some nice views on the climb back to the Albayzin (old Arab quarter of Granada). I did get a little lost coming back down but luckily found myself back by one of the main old portals to the Albayzin closer to the Gran Via.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacromonte also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Sacromonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacromonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.