We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The area makes for a gorgeous view of the alhambra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacromonte

Sacromonte
Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
+34-958-12-11-83
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sacromonte like an insider
Special Offer
$57*
and up
Private Tour: Flamenco Dance Lesson in a Granada...
Ranked #22 of 171 things to do in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large hill located close to the Albayzín that is known for its caves that have been turned into public places for flamenco performances.
India
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“The area makes for a gorgeous view of the alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were fairly museo-tired so we skipped the museum and just clicked pictures.

For people who have trouble walking, it is painful to climb up from plaza nueva. However, for those who can, it offers a truly exceptional view of the Alhambra. Do visit in the morning, the sun is opposing you in the evening and prevents a really nice shot.

I pushed my kid's pram, and was quite happy that we made the effort :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    194
    77
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sacramonte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fascinating place with lovely cave houses. Went into a cave house museum which was very interesting. You can go and hear the flamenco music but we decided not to go as we didn't know whether we'd be able to eat the food they provided as we're both on special diets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gypsy museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We took a taxi up and walked back which worked out fine. Gypsy museum was good, but seemed more about geography and living spaces than about the actual people. An added bonus is great views of Alhambra (you are above it within Sacromonte)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Fascinating Sacremento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a real find. We had at least two visits to Sacremento. The museum at the top of the hill was great value for 5 euros each and gave a real insight into the history of the area and the origins of Flamenco. Again no one hassles you through you can spend as much time as you like in the museum area and they have the poshest loos in a cave! If you can, get tickets for some authentic Zambra at Zambra Maria la Canastra brilliant show excellent value for 20 euros. Address for museum is Museo Cuevas del Sacromonte. If going up at night you can take a taxi but the road is well lit and safe to visit on foot. Best value for two beers and free tapas at local bar around the corner from the Flamenco venue.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Some houses in the mountain, good walk just in the morning

N it has a wonderful view of Alhambra n it's green mountains

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacromonte also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Sacromonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacromonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.