We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Berlin, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Better than the photos! Charming and modern. Ask for room 26 with the balcony!! Location was perfect for walking to shops and the bus to the Alhambra. The restaurant on premise was excellent as well. Would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    189
    67
    11
    8
See reviews for
99
315
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel has a good location. Alhambra and Sacromonte are within a short taxi ride. Also, shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The hotel is in pretty good condition. The only negative thing with the rooms is that apparently smoking is allowed in some rooms and those rooms are also given to people requesting non-smoking rooms (at least our room was such).

The courtyard is just brilliant - a perfect place to chill and just enjoy the atmosphere. The restaurant was nice but nothing special.

If you are looking for that smooth Marriot service you might find the front desk a little bit clumsy.

Having said this, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very charming hotel with a nice Old World feel to it. The location was perfect for our stay in Grenada as it was in the heart of the downtown area and a short taxi ride to Alhambra. The service in the hotel was exceptionally good; for example, when I asked for directions they would print them out for me and even give me an alternate route.

I'm not sure if I actually got the room I paid for as I don't recall there being a desk or sofa bed as stated in the description. . . but I guess it didn't matter as I didn't even realize it until after I left the hotel! The room we did have (supposedly a suite) was very comfortable; however, I did notice other rooms could be very small so make sure you get what you want! The bed was very comfortable and this hotel provides lots of nice amenities . . . the nicest touch being the free minibar! The Internet was VERY slow, and on the floor we were on one was better off using the Internet connection that was from the lobby (and free!). The breakfast was pricey but very good . . . I didn't care for the dinner we ate at the hotel as the main portion was dinky and not very interesting for something that had the pretense of being creative.

I should mention I got the best rate on the Marriot website.

My wife and I had a great stay here!

Room Tip: make sure you view your room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of a tour through Andalucia. It was wonderful, very relaxing and beautiful. We didn't try the restaurant, though it looked great and it is a beautiful building (converted from a monastery and moorish house).

We used the spa area and they staff turned the steam room and sauna on for us which only took about 10 minutes to warm up.

Great location, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed at the front on the main road. rooms have double glazing, but you may want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The building is very beautiful and the location is convenient for everything.

The room was pleasant and included a fruit basket and free minibar.

Free internet in the rooms was not included however. The options were to sit in the lobby or to pay for internet. Neither of which are really satisfactory for a 5 star hotel. I've stayed at budget guesthouses that throw in free wifi in rooms. Shouldn't be an issue at a luxury hotel.
I sat in the lobby using the wifi and heard guest after guest asking how to get on the internet and being told they need to pay extra.

Breakfast was decent but nothing special. Worth it only if it's included.

Staff was OK. No complaints, but no raves either.

All in all, a great building and an average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently visited Granada for two nights to see the Alhambra and stayed at the Palacio de Santa Paula (owned by Marriott). So glad we chose this hotel. It was amazing. We were 3 couples and reserved 3 rooms in the convent section. As soon as you arrive at the hotel the people in reception welcome you warmly and continue that though your stay. Very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is lovely and has an old world charm with modern efficiency. Our rooms were wonderful and had views onto the courtyard below. The rooms were all spacious and beautifully decorated. Plenty of room and very comfortable beds. The large bathrooms were fantastic with double sinks and a great shower. Free minibar that they restock (amazing...I have never seen this before). Robes, slippers, hairdryers, toiletries in each room. Free wifi available in the lounge area of the hotel and there was plenty of room there to sit and communicate with those at home. Location of hotel is perfect. Walking distance to almost everything you want to see and easy bus transportation right across the street. Great shopping also! We ate dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant El Clostro. Great restaurant! We ate outside in the courtyard and had a delicious meal with wonderful ambiance.

Room Tip: Stay in the convent section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early October. It is on a main street so you need to pull up and park outside and they will park you car for you but the parking is 20 euros per night. The hotel was an old convent so is very historic with fantastic architectural features. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Very well situated to walk around the city and close to the Alhambra by taxi. My only gripe was that we were put in the basement with no window so there was no natural light in the room at all although it was very well appointed. To be fair it was hosting a wedding on the day we arrived so I charitably assumed that the family had booked all the other rooms and that we got the last one even though we booked 6 months ahead. Good feature was that the mini bar was free but yes there was no tea of coffee in the room. If I stayed here again I would insist on an unpstairs room. They also give you good directions to leave the hotel by car which are absolutely essential.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Address: Gran Via de Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#15 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.