We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind your step” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carrera del Darro

Carrera del Darro
Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 104 attractions in Granada
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mind your step”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a lovely cobbled street with the river running along side and views of the Alhambra from the bottom of the hill.

However taxis, buses and other cars love to hurtle down this very narrow street so watch out for them!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    164
    26
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Neat side walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Well, first off I got the wrong impression by what some people wrote here. I thought this was a "WALK", meaning that it was super uphill and would cause me to have a heart attack. Wrong. I didn't find this any more challenging than my own backyard. Anyway, it's a nice little jaunt, but I wouldn't do it in the middle of the day. The sun loves this street and would've fried me more (I'm Irish-I'm gonna fry anyway) had we gone between 12-4. There are lots of little places to stop off and tour while you're on the street. Do it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An amazing base!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our hotel was situated just off the Carrera del Darro so we walked it many times, sometimes en route elsewhere and sometimes just for its own sake, a historical journey, many sites, shops and places to eat and drink, busy and full of life, especially in the evenings

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scenic and lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The only thing I didn't like so much was the taxis as they pushed their way up this street that was never made for cars. You had to hug the side of the road if you saw a taxi coming

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the easier walks in Grandad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not quite as steep as some of the roads in the older quarter of Granada. Very busy with pedestrians and road traffic; only taxis and the mini electric buses can use this road but as it is very narrow in places you do sometimes have to get out of the way quickly.
There are lovely views of the Alhambra towering over the river and the road. If you get tired you can walk it one way and get the electric bus the other, 0.70c per trip, these run from 9.00 until 21.00, around every 10 minutes depending on how many times they stop to pick up or drop off passengers or dodge taxis or buses coming the other way. Well worth it for the atmosphere, the locals use these buses and are friendly, vibrant, excitable and loud! Conversations were being held in the bus, between the buses and pedestrians on the street as we travelled down the hill.
The road at the bottom, from Plaza Nueva, has some touristy shops, as you get further up the hill, past the convents; the road opens up into a tree lined boulevard with tables for the bars and restaurants across the road. The two we tried while here were reasonably priced for such a touristy area and the menus and prices are clearly displayed. This is the area with the most imposing views of the Alhambra and the river. Sit and have a drink or a meal and enjoy the views, the atmosphere and the buskers by the river (generally very good). This end of the road is actually called Paseo de los Tristes, so called as the funeral processions all used to pass this way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrera del Darro also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Carrera del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrera del Darro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carrera del Darro to your Saves list