We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al Bayacin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albayzin

Albayzin
On the hillside opposite the Alhambra, Granada, Spain
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$145*
and up
Granada Day Trip from Seville Including...
Ranked #5 of 90 Attractions in Granada
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named a World Heritage Site, this is the old Moorish quarter of Granada.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Al Bayacin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I love it's Arabian housing style, so peaceful, has a great view from top on Alhambra and another view on El Darro river (el río de darro).

I feel home in this place and I was so touched especially after reading ثلاثية غرناطة

One of my best places I've been to :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    703
    129
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maps? Don't bother”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Leave your tourist map and just explore. You'll get lost, but just sit and have a beer. Head back downhill and you'll find yourself

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Albayzin has to be one of the most unique historical locations that Spain has to offer. Its steep narrow streets paved with river stones is even older than most of the Alhambra. The people were friendly and the bus service to the city [bus 31 and 35] was regular and reliable. There is an abundance of good restaurants providing the tastes of Spain as well as entertainment. We stayed in an apartment in the middle of Albayzin for a week and felt we could have [and maybe should have] stayed for a month. Albayzin is not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Positively exhausting (in a great way)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The flamenco was exhilarating....my feet still ache, and I was watching! What a beautiful culture. We were planning on going to Seville and it was suggested to see 'flamenco' in Granada. So glad we did!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The maze of Granada, atmosphere of a small village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Prepare for a pretty steep walk along the allays in Albayzin. It feels like a maze and looks like a village within the city. We didn't know what to expect and were just wondering around without a goal. Just enjoying the streets, the view and spotlessly white buildings that look like a puzzle. The area is pretty large. Some streets are still so quiet that it's also a nice way to escape the crowds of Granada and the Alhambra. We were very pleasantly awarded with the most amazing view of Granada and the Alhambra (Mirador de San Nicolas).
Be aware of some car and motor traffic. Although the alleys are very small, there is traffic. Even where you don't expect it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albayzin also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albayzin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.