We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuevas El Abanico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cuevas El Abanico to your Saves list
Cuevas El Abanico
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Vereda de Enmedio, 89, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

First of all, I have to admit that this place is not as convenient as staying in the town. Around the place, there is only one restaurant and a few Flamenco places. To reach the cave, you need to hike up the hills for about ten minutes. In addition, this is not a "hotel"-- more like a bed and breakfast but the host is not there 24 hours. However, I do think it’s worth the work.

Consuelo, the lady who came to pick us up when receiving my phone call from the bottom of the hill, is one of the owners who works there. Although her English was limited, she was very enthusiastic in helping. We were able to communicate and she was very helpful booking taxis and performance tickets for us.

The cave is situated in beautiful mountains, very quiet and homey, and the surrounding area is beautiful. Not far from the cave, you can see The Alhambra glowing at night. My mother and I had dinner at the roof top of that only restaurant, with the view of the Alhambra. This is quite an unforgettable experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

It took us some time and stress to find the caves, but what a fantastic experience is it to stay in the caves! The caves are comfortable, lovely and very clean. The Sacromonte neighbourhood is a fairytale location in autumn. Cobblestone paths, very safe and friendly neighbourhood and a nearby supermarket in a cave in combination with perfect views of Alhambra. Management is very friendly and arranges everything you need. And wifi works too (in te front of the cave!). Highly recommended if you want a special stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

From the moment we walked up the hill to Cuevas El Abanico, we knew we'd picked great accommodation. What a wonderful location! The accommodation was so perfect for us. My friend and I booked a cave house with twin beds. It was so lovely and unbelievably relaxing. Although it was boiling outside, the caves stay cool inside and we didn't even need to use air conditioning. The cave was much bigger than we expected. The bedroom is lovely and restful, great bathroom and really good kitchen to make tea and coffee, with a fridge and cooking facilities. We spent a lot of the time we were in Granada out, but we just loved coming back to our cave house:) Lovely area outside to sit around a table and enjoy the atmosphere. The owner was just wonderful and so helpful. I would highly recommend Cuevas El Abanico if you want a little slice of heaven!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukkasjarvi, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Like most of the historical town centers, Sacromonte is impossible to navigate, so you'll need GPS to find this one. Once you get there though, you're ideally located -- easy walk through residential cliff-top neighborhood to get into the El Albayzín neighborhood, excellent views of the Alhambra, and numerous flamenco bars. The hosts were very helpful, the apartment was huge (and great value), and the sun deck is a perfect retreat. Keep in mind that this is a real, living neighborhood with only a few tourist accommodations, so if you want to be in middle of the hubbub, you might choose to stay elsewhere. However, Sacromonte claims to be birthplace of flamenco, so if you want an authentic experience, then this is your place. Oh yeah, and you get to sleep *in a cave*.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

A bit hard to find - do not use your GPS to find your way, or you will end up stuck in the narrow and steep streets of Albayzín like we did. But the caves are worth the trouble of finding them. We loved the place and the caves are really close to Albayzín and the restaurants there and to Alhambra. Lonely Planet warns about going around in Sacromonte after dark - we didn't experience anything unpleasant at all - the area seems perfectly safe. The people running Cuevas El Abanico are the nicest and most helpful people you can imagine. We can only recommend living here, if you visit Granada. But remember that this is no ordinary hotel with restaurants, pool etc.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandatee88
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in November. The owners were very gracious and helpful. Upon our arrival, we felt the need for a cold beer refreshment. We asked where we could purchase, and the owner gave us one out of his own refrigerator! Couldn't have been nicer. Our Cave was clean and had all the amenities we could want. It is a cave, so not a hotel, so expect a cave, but what a great experience. Rooms were perfect, bathroom was very nice and outdoor area was a nice touch.

The best part about staying here vs. a hotel in downtown Granada, is that you are right in the Sacromonte neighborhood and very very close to the Albycin neighborhood which is a tourist destination in itself. People come all the way up the mountain just to eat here, and all you have to do is walk 5 minutes outside your door! We had a wonderful time just walking around the streets. It was our first stop in our tour of Spain so it was a great way to see old spain. Winding streets, little cafes. Very small streets, so be careful when you are walking and a car is coming.

I would recommend, taking the taxi from the bus stop to the hotel. Otherwise it would be very difficult to find on your own. The taxi ride was approx. 10 euros. We took 2 cabs (we had 5 people) 2 times and each time it was approx. 10 euro per taxi.

The temperature in the cave was a bit chilly for us, but there was a bit of a cold snap when we visited. There are a couple heaters in the cave that can warm you up. We recommend putting one of the heaters in the bathroom when you shower. This was our experience during the fall/ winter. I'm sure it is completely different in the summer months.

There was also not enough hot water for all 5 people to shower with, even though we turned the water off to wash our hair, on to rinse, etc... in an effort to conserve as we assumed it would be a stretch. Even so, we ran out of warm water for the last 2 showers. So I would say there would be enough warm water for 2 regular showers. But, the next night we just split the showers between morning and night and we were fine. Just something to be aware of.

I also couldn't get the internet to work, but since we were only there for 2 days, I didn't even mention it to the owner.

There are some little markets very close for you pick up a few essentials. We were only there for 2 nights, so we didn't need much.

Some great little cave bars and restaurants that are worth trying out. Very friendly people overall, except the bus drivers, they were a bit rude. Have exact change when you get on the bus.

Overall it was a comfortable and unique experience and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

From the first email to our departure we had the most friendly and helpful service. My 22 year old daughter and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of August 2010. This was far superior to staying at any hotel or hostel. The price was reasonable and it was so nice having the open doors, windows, front terrace and upstairs terrace to roam. This gives you such a feeling of home rather than being in a box in a hotel. We had free Wi-Fi and had good connections at all times. The cave was clean and nicely decorated. Simple enough that it was uncluttered but the Spanish feel was there in the tile and decor. It was quiet there with few other guests. We had the most phenominal views of the Alhambra and the city, the road below with some action and music at night that quieted down at just the right time.
we walked down to the city centre and explored all day and took a cab back up for about 5 euros each evening. The upstairs terrace was the perfect place to take photos. You could see for miles and miles. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is perfect for families, couples, singles - everyone.
The kitchen was fully equiped to cook and eat there and there is a small store just a 5 min walk away.
Again, I can't say enough about this being an experience of a lifetime. Where do you get to stay in such a unique place that has all the amenities of home. Wonderful-thanks Carolina!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuevas El Abanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuevas El Abanico

Address: Vereda de Enmedio, 89, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuevas El Abanico 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the Alhambra, caves in the hillside have been converted into houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cuevas El Abanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuevas El Abanico Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuevas El Abanico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.