We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale location, but not for whiners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Hotel America
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real de la Alhambra, 53, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 127 Hotels in Granada
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fairy tale location, but not for whiners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I am rating this property as very good mostly for its romantic and convenient location, the owner and stuff are very friendly, and despite some negatives described below - we had the best sleep (with the open windows) there and all Alhambra romantic atmosphere to ourselves after dark. I am very happy that we stayed there - we saved money on the room, but used the nearby Parador for breakfast, lunch and dinner (we stayed 2 nights and 2 days in Alhambra). However there are few things that are good to know about this property, especially if you are driving.

1. This hotel is located on the property of Alhambra with restricted access - and it doesn't have parking next to it. You will use the general Alhambra parking which is quite far away. However you can get to the hotel door in your car (with a proof that you live there) to unload your luggage. Ask hotel for explanations and directions how to get to it ahead of time.
2. There is no elevator and the staircase is quite steep to get big suitcases to the second floor. We actually left our suitcases in the car and just brought necessary clothes and toiletry in the backack.
3. The room was cute, but the bed was not even queen size, it was rather full size. Bad bedding, bad bad pillows.
4. There was no safe in the room, also air conditioner didn't work - however we didn't use it.
5. Suggest not to eat breakfast there (we had it once) - it comes from the fridge, not really freshly made and not plentiful. Go to the Parador next door - for 17 euro - you will be full until dinner. Dinner is also great at the same Parador.
6. If you have reserved tickets to Alhambra, you can pick them up the night before, and you cant start your tour from the steps of the hotel. You can also get the audio guide from the steps of the Charles V palace - 3 minutes from the hotel door. You can also have a rest in the middle of the day in your hotel room and recharge your camera - this was really awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    83
    29
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
83
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A lovely Bohemian hotel, with a quirky intimate feeling.The hotel staff were very helpful, and we took regular respite from the heat on the terrace drinking beer and eating lunch throughout the day.
The only negative of staying here is trying to find somewhere for an evening meal. The hotel does nothing at night, and we poked our noses into the Parador, sat down, and after 5 minutes of not being attended to, walked out. The view is nothing special. We eventually found a local hotel to eat by the main carpark, although it was nothing special.
The location is phenomenal and, as such, a price cannot be put on it.

Room Tip: We had room 226- the one with the little balcony across the courtyard on the second floor. It is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Yes, as other reviewers have stated, it is a little small. But that is due to the fact that the hotel is on the historic Alhambra grounds. The location is the biggest highlight and it is worth every penny. We were able to walk around the grounds at night after all other visitors had left and fully take in the view of the city. Alhambra is a completely different experience at night.

The service was wonderful and staff were very friendly. The food, mostly sandwiches and soups, were great for a nice relaxing meal. It took at little while to get the food, but when you are on vacation there's no need to rush.

The rooms were unique and decorated to add to the whole experience. Everything was very comfortable and all our needs were met. What more could you ask for from a hotel?

Getting to the center of the city was pretty easy once we figured out the bus schedule. The buses pick-up and drop-off a short distance from the hotel which was very easy to walk.

Amazing views, comfortable environment, and easy location. If I ever get the opportunity to return to Granada, I know this will be the only hotel where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I just finished staying at the Hotel America for two nights while visiting the Alhambra. The location is superb, right beside the sights. The hotel is quaint and furnished in an eclectic style which adds to its uniqueness. Our room at the back of the hotel on the top floor was very quiet and private. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic, but sufficient for our needs. Compared to the Parador next door, the price was much more to our liking. The only downside is a sizeable walk or taxi expenses to and from the main town. Otherwise, no complaints. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our room was small and over looked the main courtyard of the hotel. It was very traditional in decoration. Very clean. The staff were SO nice, giving us lots of information about changing tickets etc... However the breakfast was not very nice as the kitchen was 'closed' but a lovely server managed to boil us an egg. Great if you have an early morning ticket for the Alhambra. The hotel next door was beautiful - Parador, I had dinner there and it was utterly fantastic all round. However the Hotel America is a much cheaper option!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Chose this hotel for it's location only. It is small, clean & basic.
I think this hotel is related to the Parador next door, as I saw the staff to there several times.

The room was nice & clean, looking in to the court yard (room 214) where breakfast is served, there is no elevator, so be aware of this, heavy suit cases will not do.

About the AC : only works at specific hours - very strange. The hours operating does not include the hotest hours of the day, so be aware. As we were not in during the non working hours, it didn't affect us, but if you come in after visiting the Alhambra & the heat, it will definately be a downer.

You can drive up to it's door, after entering the Alhambra's gated door by ringing the bell, but cannot leave the car there.
You have to take it down where the Alhambra tickets are sold & either walk back up, or take a taxi ( which I did, there is no way I will walk up hill in that heat) & that cost 3-4 euro's.

It is an excellent value / location, and that is basically all there is to it.
Breakfast was mediocre, but for 8 euro's / person, what can be expected ? :-)

If you have prepaid your reservation, make sure to bring a print out of the proof, (which I had with me) as it may be confusing during check out. I want to think that it was a language barier & not anything else that reception wanted me to pay what was already paid for.

The hotel does arrange for the Alhambra tickets for a small fee ( a blessing) but you still have to go to the ticketing area, do the smaller queue to pick up the tickets physically, so allow yourself time for this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
552 helpful votes 552 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is next to the much fancier and more expensive Parador. We chose it for its excellent location in the Alhambra complex. It's minutes away from the King Carlos palace and even closer to the secondary entrance to the Generalife Gardens. It's such a luxury to be able to walk back to one's hotel after the late-night tour of the Nasrid Palaces.

BUT... this hotel really could provide better quality for the high prices they charge. The rooms are only air-conditioned from 3 pm to 8 am. It can get pretty hot in Granada and if you need to take an afternoon nap, the heat in the room might make it difficult. For the 160€ we paid, not even continental breakfast was included. This was an extra 8 € for coffee, bottled juice, a sad plate of cold cuts, a bruised kiwi, yogurt and 2 hard buns.

Stay here for the location but eat all your meals at the Parador. A set dinner there is only 30+€, the food quality is excellent and the view of the Generalife Gardens is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Real de la Alhambra, 53, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel America 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Granada
Hotel America Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.