We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the vibe of a coach party hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel M.A. San Gabriel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel M.A. San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel M.A. San Gabriel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Murcia Km 279, 18011 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Has the vibe of a coach party hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Dated, past its best but clean enough and has reasonable wi-fi. Rooms are a bit scuffy round the edges and the beds are quite firm. Obviously been a 'rest stop' hotel and petrol station before the Granada ring road was built. Okay but you could do better staying elsewhere and although it's cheap, driving into town is not fun and taking taxis not cheap. Spend you money on a better hotel where you can walk to the Alhambra/Albaicin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was good for one night, but really could use some attention. Everything looked a little run down. There was only one extremely small elevator that took you to your room, so if you had a big suitcase or were with a small group, you'd have to wait awhile for everyone to get on with their stuff or you'd have to walk your things upstairs yourself.
If you wanted to watch tv, you had to ask for the remote at reception (they kept the remotes behind the reception desk...not sure why though...)
The food here was just okay. Nothing special. Service was also okay. They did have unlimited Wi-Fi, but it was slow and could only be used in the lobby (or surrounding) area and not in the room.
It was also a ways from downtown Grenada ... it wasn't exactly walking distance to anything at all. You'd have to get a cab if you didn't have a rental car.
The one plus is that maybe 100 feet from the hotel entrance there is a short dirt path that you can take which will allow you views of Grenada and the Alhambra. It's an easy walk (maybe 1/4 mile at the most). At night, the city lights were amazing and this was a really cool "extra". Just be forewarned that if you go at night, you'll need to bring a flashlight (or make sure you leave when you can still see a little bit) because the path is not lit at all and once you leave the view point, it's a little dark...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only visited the hotel for one night having travel down from la manga but we arrived early pm so we have time in and around the pool we was very nice clean and a great size
The hotel and bedroom real nice and free wifi so we could catch up
The buffet breakfast was disappointing cant understand why they provide inclusive breakfast and not make a effort guess its down to cost? I only had a coffee and cake not a lot for a big guy?
But would recommend its on top the hill over looking Granada so it's a great location

Room Tip: Don't expect much from breakfast buffet but the restaurant looked real nice and its got a bar wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only book this hotel if you're looking to save money. The staff is very nice, but the hotel itself is run down. The rooms were clean and had a nice size bathroom, but the walls were paper thin. We could even hear people coughing in the room next to us at night.

The hotel is less than a 10 euro cab ride to El Sacromonte.

*Free parking and wifi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

First - hotel is in very weird location above the Granada, so if you don't have your own car, you are absolutely f**ed up!(besides that, it's just next to old gas station). Second - the time there stopped 20 years ago and that's how the whole hotel is equipped (old tv which could have big value in a museum,very old carpets (room 216). Third - no surprise that in this environment no effort can change the final impression of neglected hotel at the end of the world. Above that, the walls between each rooms are so tiny that we could hear each other word, so we had to stay awake as long as our neighbors were. At the top of it, the main attraction of this hotel - swimming pool (which could be very suitable in the summer) is open just until 15th September so by the time we've been there was closed. Resumé: avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Yes, you have to climb a bit to get to this hotel, but the views of Granada are spectacular. The pool is also great; it has lap lines! I got put into the little back villa which was away from my students and other teachers traveling with me, but it was fine. The villas, however, don't have hair dryers in the rooms, so you have to ask the front desk for one when you check in. The outlets were inconvenient as they are located in the bathroom only, but we were only there for one night, so okay. We ate dinner there, which was good, then traveled to town for the flamenco cave dancing. That was interesting, and worth a see. Go to the Alhambra too. Amazing. Really, the only reason we stayed here was since we had visited the Alhambra that day. After the cave dancing, we took a night tour in the city and saw the Alhambra lit up at night. That is something I'll never forget. All in all, the hotel was great for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

There are just 2 rooms for couples, so we get a room for single with a double bed at the first floor with a view on the parking and we payed the same price like on the reservation.
The bed is veryyyyyy badddd
we can heard all others room
we can heard the cars park's with closed windows)
the hotel is at the limit of Grenada
the personnel isn't very smart

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel M.A. San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M.A. San Gabriel

Address: Carretera de Murcia Km 279, 18011 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M.A. San Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 2 km from Granada, the MA San Gabriel will gladly surprise your with its idillic wooden surroundings, where squirrels play among pines.Among the array of services offered, the swimming pool and an extremely quiet and relaxed atmosphere stand out, making the hotel the perfect place to stay for relax.A cafeteria, an excelent restaurant and comfortable accommodations also make part of the property's highlights.Simply decorated and all come with air conditioning, TV, and basic bathroom.Located on the ground floor and serves International cuisine a la carte. A traditional facade to the building decorated in green. Medium in size with a cafeteria/ bar and seating area available.This is an ideal hotel for those not wishing to be right in the heart of Granada but not too far away at the same time. Hotel also has a swimming pool which is almost Olympic size.A tan sólo 2 kms. de Granada, sorprende este precioso hotel, enmarcado dentro de un idílico paraje con bosque de coníferas y población autóctona de ardillas.Destaca su espectacular piscina, y su ambiente de tranquilidad y sosiego, ideal para el descanso y la relajación.Destaca además su animada cafetería, y especialmente su prestigioso restaurante de cocina tradicional granadina.Cómodas habitaciones, muchas de ellas con terraza, y por supuesto salones para banquetes, con el reconocido prestigio de Hoteles M.A.Es ideal para esos que no desean estar en el corazon de Granada pero no muy lejos al mismo tiempo. El hotel dispone de una piscina casi olimpica en temporada de verano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel M.A. San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel M.A. San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.