We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, noisy and uncomfortable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Austria

Save Saved
You added Hostal Austria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Austria
Cuesta Gomerez, 4, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small, noisy and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just the worst possible accommodation you could wish for in the otherwise lovely Granada. Very difficult to find it on the first place and when we called them to ask for directions they quite rudely directed us to the google map they sent us on beforehand. Luckily there are some really helpful people in Granada so eventually after having to drive through the smallest street in the world (1.5 m broad is not exactly what you call a street), we finally found a public parking place and we happy enough to leave our car there, not even bothering to check the private garage of the hostal.
After this ordeal we were greeted by the smallest room in the world. Hardly big enough to fit a double bed, it did have a private WC/bathroom the size of a miserable cubicle where you couldn't turn. In addition to that, the bed was extremely unstable and as it only had one double matress, the moment one of us turned, the other one would jump in the air, of course completely awake.
The total misery of the place was crowned by the very thin walls. We were unfortunate enough to have a room next to some young blokes whose loud talks and laughter kept us awake until late at night. Having said that, it should be noted that the location is indeed very central and although the street is small, it's pretty busy especially around 1.30 at night.

General impression: too small, too noisy, very uncomfortable. Even the central location is not a plus as Granada's centre turned out to be small and compact and almost everything you might want to see is at a walking distance.
Avoid this hostal if you can.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My sister and I booked a double room that was large and clean. The decor wasquaint and the staff was very nice and helpful. The huge double window overlooking the street really allowed us to soak up the atmosphere of the city. It's location next to the old city and the Alhambre was ideal for sightseers like us. A car was not needed. I would not recommened it for anyone with mobility issues as there are some narrow stairs to navigate. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Some aspects were ok: the staff was nice (although in most cases failed to assist, but not becasue of lack of will), and the room was very basic, but ok.
But there were two main (and very serious) problems:
1. Their garage is simply impossible! it is narrow, frightening, and has an automatic light that turns of if you don't drive fast enough. We got our car scratched bad against one of the walls. Do not enter it even if you have too!
2. It is difficult to arrive to the hotel by car. Take one wrong turn
in the old city, and you've had it! better to leave the car in a parking lot and take a taxi to the hotel. All in all: might be ok, but only if you are a budget traveller without a rented car.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

We stayed here for two nights and paid 40 a night for the priviledge. The room was not great. The towels were wet and after we asked them to be replaced we got more wet towels. But it was centrally located and suprisingly quiet. It was a 2 minute busride from the Alhambra and the staff were nice. If you want a cheap room with a bathroom this might do you for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

Visisting Granada for a couple of days in Sepember 2004, we decided to book with Hotel Vienna as recommended to us by a friend. The hotel was full but they recommended their hostal 'Austria'.
After getting completley mislead by their useless on-line map telling us how to get there by car, the guy at the hostal then refused to come and help me get the car into the pedestrianised area in order to park the car. Only when my partner inisted that he come the short walk down the road did he oblige, but not without throwing the garage key on the floor in a rage first. He then told me the street number of the garage. In true Spanish fashion, no numbers appear above the buildings so I ended up blocking a single lane street which is contolled by traffic lights. At this point my irate mother-in-law goes to Hotel Vienna to get the Austrian female owner who also refuses to help us. Eventually after some stern words she arrives to show us the garage door which you couldn't possibly have guessed was theirs!
At last a good point! The young female receptionist of either Austrian or German origin is lovely. She goes out of her way to be nice and takes the sting out of what has just happened. We ask if it is possible to have the room for an additional night as we decided to have a good look round Granada. She says she can't book us in, but there's plenty of room and the guy who works the day shift will take the booking. We get up early and the new receptionist is there along with the Austrian owner. When we attempt to book the room for another night she intervenes and says 'no, no, no' and asks us to leave by 11.00 am. This is the treatment we receive without causing any problem for them, but with major inconvenience from the outset for us. The room also reeked of stale tobacco and dampness. There was also some strange dealings going on in the street right below our window. The bathroom was completley covered in mirrors like a dodgy porn-suite.
It was a blessing being asked to leave that dump. We checked in to a Spanish run hostal up the road named Sierpes, run by a family. We got a split-level triple room cheaper than the Austria, which overlooked a private garden and it also had a T.V. The staff were friendly and breakfast was reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2002

Hostal AUstria is o.k. The decor is a little mished-mashed compared to better hotels for the same price.
It looks a little crudy, but really it's clean. However, the staff are by far the friendliest I have seen during my stay in Spain. And they are extremely accomodating.
The other benefit, is that it is centrally located and only about 20 minutes walking distance from the Alhambra.
However, it is very noisy at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Austria

Address: Cuesta Gomerez, 4, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Austria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.