We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Austria

Save Saved
You added Hostal Austria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Austria
Cuesta Gomerez, 4, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hostel was located directly on Calle Gomerez. This caused a LOT of noise to filter in from the street up until about midnight or 1 am, and starting at approximately 8:30 am.

That being said, it was a good value for a quick visit to Granada.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene L, Propietario at Hostal Austria, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello, thank you very much for expressing your opinion about our hotel. Regarding the complaint of noise, we just want to clarify that our rooms have double glazing so slightly dampen the noise, that is otherwise normal in a city center. We also have rooms with windows facing a courtyard, which are quieter and stayed in these rooms to our customers upon request previa.We anyway try to take measures to prevent further noise nuisance in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I was on a road trip by car in the south of Spain, last Dec 2011, 2 weeks before Christmas, my destination was Granada, and the reason of this trip was to visit the Alhambra Castle and grounds, because I had heard so much about their landscape gardens, I have been wanting to visit it for a few years.
Thanks to my iPhone I googled Hotels close to the Alhambra and the Hostal Austria was one of the search result, I decided to park the car nearby and went to visit the Hostal to pre-view the room and facilities also checking if the price included free wi-fi which is a must have for me.
I was welcomed by a very friendly receptionist with a very good English and showed the various type of rooms from single to double, I decided on a double for comfort and took one on the top floor. The room included a very comfortable bed, a large wardorbe a small desk and also Air Conditioning and the ensuite bathroom had both shower and bath. No small fridge with drinks but that was fine by me as I am a t-totaller and don't drink alcohol. The hotel is very very close to the Alhambra so it was a 10 minutes walk before you are presented to the stunning beauty of this Castle and its grounds.
I stayed there betwen 13-15th Dec just 2 weeks before Christmas and the town was nicely decorate with Christmas lights which made the place even more welcoming and heart warming. My conclusion in regards to this review is that the hotel is very well situated, it is good value for money if you like to save your pennies and at that price wi-fi is the cherry on the cake as I was able to transmit the pictures taken during the day back to my friends and family back home.
If ever I am back in Granada I will make sure to book a room on this Hostal Austria for sure.

Room Tip: The Hostal is surrounded by bars and restuarants, and top rooms are recommended to be far away as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Would recommend Hostal Austria to anyone visiting Granada. Great value, for a basic and clean room. The best location for either walking up to The Alhambra, or having a night out in Granada (both, I recommend highly). My main tip though - if you use the carpark, you better have a hatchback, or a lot of people to guide you, in and out of the car park building. We had an Audi A4, and without the guidance of my fellow travellers, I would have surely crunched all 4 corners of the car. It's tight. Very tight. But if your car's small enough, it's the perfect spot to park, just up the road from the Hostal, cause otherwise parking in Granada is a bit of mission.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a double room with private bath. Our very first impression of the place was wonderful, because the staff was super helpful in trying to help us with train tickets and with the problems we had turning in our rental car (don't EVER try to drive in Granada! Worst experience of the whole trip!). The room itself was simple but adequate, except for the flimsy excuse for a pillow that was provided. The absolute worst thing about the place is that the walls are paper thin and the other guests were young and inconsiderate party-going types. We only paid 40 euros, so I guess that attracted the youth hostel crowd. It was a pretty good deal for that price, and the people running the place are terrific people, but be sure to bring earplugs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

What I look for in a hotel is cheap, clean and excellent location and this hotel had it all!
We stayed in a double three nights in April 2010 for 40€ per night. The room was basic and clean with a great hot shower and a comfortable bed. There was heating and air conditioning available but we didn't need it because the weather was moderate.

Are you coming to Granada to hang out in your hotel? No way! This place is perfectly located next to Plaza Nueva, a good central hub, and downhill on the very street that leads to the Alhambra. It was an easy walk to the Albaicin and Sacromonte areas as well. There are handy buses quite close and many tasty options for tapas.

I'd highly recommend this to any budget traveler, except for tall / large people who would be too big for the bed and room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one week ago in this nice hostal.
Rooms are not very big but clean. Located just in the hearth of the city with nice places to have breakfast,...
One of the best thing of hostal Austria are the really helpfull staff. We enjoy this trip and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just the worst possible accommodation you could wish for in the otherwise lovely Granada. Very difficult to find it on the first place and when we called them to ask for directions they quite rudely directed us to the google map they sent us on beforehand. Luckily there are some really helpful people in Granada so eventually after having to drive through the smallest street in the world (1.5 m broad is not exactly what you call a street), we finally found a public parking place and we happy enough to leave our car there, not even bothering to check the private garage of the hostal.
After this ordeal we were greeted by the smallest room in the world. Hardly big enough to fit a double bed, it did have a private WC/bathroom the size of a miserable cubicle where you couldn't turn. In addition to that, the bed was extremely unstable and as it only had one double matress, the moment one of us turned, the other one would jump in the air, of course completely awake.
The total misery of the place was crowned by the very thin walls. We were unfortunate enough to have a room next to some young blokes whose loud talks and laughter kept us awake until late at night. Having said that, it should be noted that the location is indeed very central and although the street is small, it's pretty busy especially around 1.30 at night.

General impression: too small, too noisy, very uncomfortable. Even the central location is not a plus as Granada's centre turned out to be small and compact and almost everything you might want to see is at a walking distance.
Avoid this hostal if you can.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Austria

Address: Cuesta Gomerez, 4, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Austria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.