We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Spanish charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Aljarife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Casa del Aljarife to your Saves list
Casa del Aljarife
Placeta de la Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Spanish charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I actually stayed in 2012. A charming B&B neatly tucked away at the top of the cobbled street with a wonderful, host. Señor Most was "most" accommodating, ensuring all our needs were taken care of. My room was comfortable and quiet, with a window that peered out to the forms of the Alhambra. What a sight at Sunrise. Pleasant-family-style breakfasts and a charming courtyard complimented the experience.
I would definitely return here, as a base for my next visit to absorb more flavours of Granada.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this on trip advisor and booked well ahead of time as during high season for the Alhambra it is difficult to find good accommodation. Christian Most, the owner was good in replying to emails and giving directions to the Casa, however we found these not so easy to follow, so ring and let him know you are here and he will come to get you and help with the luggage. This "5 miinute walk" from the Airport bus is more like 15-20 minutes and apart from the start is all uphill with steep grades, cobbled streets that are treacherous when wet and include steps making it even harder. It's a pedestrian zone so no taxis will take you there, so either don't bring lots of luggage or ring Christian for help but be prepared for an uphill climb. Remember they used to use donkeys here and you will see why when you start to climb!
Once recovered from this climb, we found the Casa a really lovely little place, 4 rooms, ours on the 4th floor (more steps and no lift) having beautiful views over the Alhambra which is lit up at night. We had a twin with two easy chairs and lots of windows, aircon and heating and a separate large bathroom down a few stairs from our bedroom. Comfortable and fairly quiet with little traffic noise.
Breakfast is extra 7€ pp and we enjoyed this one morning. Fruit and cereals, cheese, breads, jams, tea or coffee. We also enjoyed breakfast at a little cafe around the corner as well.
The Casa also has a delightful courtyard for relaxing and Señor Most gives good recommendations for local restaurants and sights, which we found very helpful.
Our only downside was getting here with 2 cases plus carryons as we were away for 8 weeks, but if travelling light it will not be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed only one night at Casa del Aljarife, which located in the heart of El Albaycin. This property is quite popular and it was full when I went. I was praying for a cancellation so that I could stay 2 more nights there, but unfortunately I had to move to another hotel the next day.
The host, Mr Christian Most, went out of his way to help me out and kindly booked another place nearby for me. He is an amazing host and give you very good tips about Granada. I just followed his hand-out and went to a few restaurants he recommended. I had a good time and ate fabulous food.
I loved my room. It was impressively big and comfortable with amazing views of the Alhambra palace. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay in this 300-year old house. Herr Most went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed and by following the directions on his hand-out we found some excellent restaurants. The room was clean and neat, the beds were good with linen and towels changed frequently. The views of Al Hambra from our room (No. 4) were spectacular. We particularly appreciated two well-upholstered armchairs and the excellent lighting for reading, both of which are all too rare. Well-stocked fridge with variety of drinks, breakfast can be any of three levels, as one chooses. Location is second to none with restaurants all around and mini-bus up to Al Hambra conveniently available.

Room Tip: No 4 has the best view of Al Hambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a hard time finding this pension, but when we got there it was worth the effort. Christian is a very good host, and helped us up, and on our departure down, all the stairs. We had the junior suite, which was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were not included in the room rate, but for the little extra that we paid were extremely good and worth the cost. Christian was also very good at showing us, on a carefully plotted map, where all the attractions are in Granada.
However, I would hesitate to recommend this pension for seniors, as there is a lot of uphill and downhill walking. If a traveller is able to do hills and book early, as the pension is small, it is much more enjoyable than a generic hotel.

Room Tip: This is a very old building, with only 4 rooms. All rooms are exdellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good location with a nice and helpful hotel host. Among other he had made ​​a map with an overview of good restaurants, which also were really good. The room was large, with plenty of space. Nice and clean. Nice bathroom. The house is old and well maintained with a lot of charm, and only four rooms. Located centrally in the Albaicin. The hotel has two parking places available. It is a good idea to book in advance if you go by car, parking is otherwise difficult.

Free WiFi and safe. Very good breakfast.

We visited this hotel in last part of october and it was a little chilly at night so we would have appreciated to be able to turn the heat on.

Mr. Ingard Sunde/Mrs. Kjersti Ringheim

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nites in wonderful Alberzin section of Granada. beautiful room with fantastic view of Alhambra. Somewhat difficult to getup the cobblestoned alley ways from Plaza Neuva with suitcases but worth the effort. Knowledgable host but somewhat over powering, maybe his German background.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Aljarife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife

Address: Placeta de la Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Aljarife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Aljarife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.