We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauro Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Dauro Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Dauro Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acera del Darro 19, 18005 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Varazdin, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If I had to choose the best thing about this hotel, it would definitely be the service. In my life I have never come accross such a positive, optimistic, always smiling, chatty and pleasant staff!! Plus, they are fluent in English and if you are having troubles with your Spanish, they will take the time to slowly walk you through all the details in Spanish. I really felt as if I was staying in a friend's house rather than a hotel.
The rest of the hotel is also very nice, the reception offers a free computer and wifi in the hotel. The rooms are very clean, with a large and comfortable bed. The room I stayed in overlooked the extremely busy street, but the soundproofing is so good that once you close the windows, there is absolute silence, so you can sleep very well. The shower is a bit tricky at first since it has a distinct mnechanism, but after a couple of minutes of fiddling with the faucet you get the hang of it and start to enjoy the various types of showers available.
The position is also great, there is a bus station 1 minute away where you can take the local bus which takes you anywhere you want for 1.20€. If you come by bus to Granada, definitely take the local bus to the hotel (lines 3 or 33) because it leaves you practically at the doorstep.,
The town centre is also extremelyx close, a couple of minutes away, and from the hotel to the entrance of Alhambra you need cca 20 minutes.
If I ever return to Granada, this will be my choice nr. one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NachoGranada, Owner at Hotel Dauro Granada, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your great review.
Ignacio Saez
Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    204
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
83
187
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kagoshima, Japan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed six nights at the Dauro hotel from January 2nd.Best point is the genuine kindness of the front desk staff,and the ability of them to communicate in English,they helped us with any query we had and were always cheerful and enthusiastic , so MANY thanks to Carmen and Susana!

Also this hotel is perfect for the airport bus which stops right outside the hotel and costs only three Euros! I am 68 but could easily walk to central Granada if I took a break for coffee and churros! Or a glass of vino tinto and some great local Queso!

I highly recommend this hotel,the rooms were clean,the beds comfortable and the shower was easy to use and powerful unlike a lot of more expensive hotels. BUT my room was a bit hot!

However, definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel proudly dispays a Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence": I can only think that's because there isn't a Trip Advisor "Certificate of OK but Nothing Special". On the upside, the hotel is located in the heart of Granada and it's easy to walk to the cathedral, shops and night market. There are tapas bars right across the road which are unbelievably cheap and more choice a few streets away. I also went on foot to the Alhambra, but some might prefer to take the bus or a taxi since it's a little further and a steep climb to get to the entrance. (It's well worth it, by the way...I spent five hours there and was entranced by it all.) So what's wrong with the hotel? First and foremost, it's incredibly noisy day and night. Most of the rooms open right on to the main road where traffic roars by from the early hours until very late. Secondly, its decor is tired and its infrastructure is creaking. I could have worked round the noisy exterior by closing the dual-pane windows but I couldn't get the air conditioning to just circulate air - whatever I did it blew hot, even at the icicle symbol on the control - and without air flow it was impossible to sleep in the stuffy room where the maid had overused the spray scent. In the end I resorted to my trusty airline ear plugs and kept the window open a crack. Thirdly, breakfast is only average: the usual buffet with ham and cheese but a limited choice of fresh fruit and only boxed cereals, nothing remotey healthy. And they make the mistake so often found in hotels: as the end of the breakfast period approaches they don't bother to clear away the dirty tables, meaning when you do find a clean table you're surrounded by others littered with detritus: horrible. That said, the friendliness of the staff can't be faulted: very helpful and fun receptionists and an overworked guy called Juan who seems to be there from morning till night, running the breakfast room, parking your car, wheeling your luggage...poor Juan does it all. All in all this place feels like it needs to modernize: it would have been good in the 1990s but doesn't feel like it's moved on. If you want a reasonable price in the heart of the city, go ahead: but you better be a sound sleeper and not have high expectations of the rooms or the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NachoGranada, General Manager at Hotel Dauro Granada, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir.
It's too bad for us to read your comment. We do not usually have such severe reviews. But we appreciate it will help us improve aspects you point. With regard to noise, we can hardly remove the street noise if the window is opened. Anyway, we will review the room thermostats to work properly. With regard to breakfast, I personally take a hand in the matter and I have already talked to the waiter. I am very sorry for your disappointment.
Ignacio Saez
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great hotel, great location and excellent value. It's not 4* but definitely 3* and i give it 4.5. It's excellent in the 3* category. Friendly and helpful reception area. We stayed 2 days here and 2 days at a more expensive hotel. This was better value, ~ 40% of the price of the other hotel. Lots of cafes, restaurants, and little shops. Clean, comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the street side had a little balcony. The room was quiet, no noise from street. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailsham
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hotel is probably only deserving of three stars,however the staff are what makes this hotel special,the reception staff(Susana and Marie Carman?) are so helpful they really go out of their way to sort any probs,very welcome when you are in a foreign country.
Taxi to Alhambra 6 euro's not worth taking bus in my opinion,great places to eat around hotel as well.
The beds are also worthy of comment as they are very comfortable,traffic noise is a problem if you want window open but it would not stop me staying here again,also suspect that whatever hotel you stay at in granada it will be noisy,but what a lovely city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Although the staff was very friendly, I rate this hotel with three stars. At nine am the construction work at the level below us started. We had a room on the back side of the hotel, which is the most quiet part, but as in the rest of Granada, the traffic noise is very loud. The beds were on the small side (queen size). The heater was off by default; you have to call reception to request for it to work.

However, at the early booking rate it is good value for money. The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping district with some nice restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Duaro is a great hotel. The staff are so welcoming and happy to deal with every request. Out toilet's water input was continuously running - whilst we were out they had someone in to fix it. The beds are very firm and super comfortable. Even though our room faces the street and you can hear slight traffic noise, I slept like a baby here! The breakfast was really good with loads of options on offer. The location was just terrific. Heaps of cheap eats - Tapas etc nearby. A 20 min uphill walk to the Alhambra or a EU$1.20 ride by bus - bus stop up to there only 5 min walk away. I great stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dauro Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauro Granada

Address: Acera del Darro 19, 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauro Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Granada in great location in the heart of the city. The hotel has 36 rooms decorated with great attention to detail, and with superb, elegant, modern bathrooms. Among its many facilities, it offers free security boxes, press, minibar, canal +, radio-clock, private garage, WiFi, meeting rooms and conferences facilites, etc. Thanks to its location and proximity to the Granada Conference Centre, this accommodation in Granada is ideal for both holiday and business customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dauro Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dauro Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.