We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Granada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alixares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alixares to your Saves list
Hotel Alixares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Sabica, 40, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Rada de Moraira, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas in Granada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went on a Gandia Tour trip for Christmas. The location is ideal, close to the Alhambra Palace & a nice walk from there to the centre. There was a great selection of food in the resturant for breakfast & dinner. On Christmas Day we had a gala dinner which was a set menu & as I don't eat meat but I do fish it was no trouble to get me an alternative.
I do agree with other comments that when reception was busy they could have done with more staff. Ditto with the bar as they had happy hour every evening......which of course was popular but there was only one barman which meant a long wait for a drink. He was however always smiling & went out of his way to make sure you welcome.
We intend to return to Granada & will stay at the Alixares again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    296
    210
    60
    33
See reviews for
159
291
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas. The lobby, bar and restaurant are average comfortable. The room lacks maintenance, especially the bathroom, toilet leaks water, here and there cracked tiles on the wall. Clean only at first glance, long black hairs on the bathroom floor, left behind by former guests, dirt on the, stained, carpet, right outside our room. Rather hard mattress, flat pillow, an extra one not present in the room. Minibar empty. Restaurant buffet style, okay, nothing special. Mainly British clients. To far away from the center on a very steep hill.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Salinas, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is situated within a short walk from the Alambra Palace, with a good bus service into the centre of Granada. The hotel is impressive with good failities. However the food was just dreadful and not as we expected from a 4star hotel. As we had only paid for bed and breakfast, we could have bought our evening meal out, but there wasn´t much choice in the area apart from a pizza or similar.

Room Tip: Probably a reasonable choice for a one night stay and visit to Alambra, but unless you are prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Situated a short walk away from the entrance to the Alhambra, the Hotel Alixares is most certainly the best located hotel in Granada for the tourist. There are buses every five or ten minutes into the city centre, but if you are in a party of four then taxis are more cost effective.

I have never stayed in a hotel with such a busy reception area, as there was a constant arrival and departure of coachloads of (mostly far eastern) tourists. Reception always seemed to be in need of one or two more staff! Having said that, those staff that were on duty were always polite and courteous – even when dealing with multitudes of people!!

Special commendation must go to the barman, who was always smiling, and who always went out of his way to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction.

The hotel itself is showing signs of its age - the bar area, rooms and corridors are looking tired and shabby and although they were spotlessly clean, they do need to be re-fitted and decorated

Breakfast was fabulous with hot and cold options available on a serve yourself buffet.

Would we go back … Yes, please!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is the 1 you want to stay in for a 2-3 day visit to Alhambra -- proximity can't be better, in-house cuisine is !excellent! (most reviews overlooked this), very quiet, rooms good but not excellent. The drains smell a bit, like most hot countries, just open the window for 2 minutes :-). Other reviewers (I read many) complained about poor WIFI (not a prob now, Dec 26 2013), room temp (heater now works), rude staff -- perhaps management read reviews & took action?

If you want a driving vacation with great parking, then visit Detroit Michigan -- I hear the motorways are largely abandoned these days ;-) .

I paid 52 Euros for double room, brekky-included -- a bargain even in the off-season.

Worst thing about this hotel was a bus-load of stodgey, fat, foul-mouthed, drunken, lower-middle-class old British tourists infesting the place 2 nights; seems there's no end to ancient Empire's entitlement :-)

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beware, unwary traveller! The stories of one way street nightmares, driving and parking in Granada are all true!

Knowing this, we studied maps and guides and decided on 3 criteria for our hotel: easy driving access (no walking), guaranteed parking and easy access to the Alhambra fort and the old Moorish Albaicin district (another World Heritage site).

The Hotel Alixares ticked all boxes: A straight drive from the autovia A-44 into the Alhambra park, valet parking, 200 meters from the Alhambra entrance and a convenient No.30 shuttle to the centre of town (1.50 euro).

All potential stress points resolved, we thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable hotel, were thrilled by the Alhambra and had easy, and very enjoyable jaunts into the centre of town. The Albaicin by day or night is wonderfully atmospheric and a tapas crawl through the tapas district from 1 to 3 pm is a must-do.

We got very good room rates (mid December) and enjoyed fabulous sunshine on an uncrowded, midweek visit to the Alhambra without the maddening throngs and suffocating heat of August.

For those driving and unwilling to pay higher prices, I suggest hotels to the west and south close to the Alhambra will offer some of the same advantages. If you're without a car, enjoy your stay in the town centre!

Room Tip: South and west rooms will be very hot in summer. Go north and east and 4th floor to escape heat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you want to go to Alhambra it's wonderful a tip get up early and do the Alhambra first as it gets really busy from 11 ish if you want to be central in Granada this is not for you but a 30 and 34 mini bus run every 10 minutes till 11 and drop u off right next to the catedral. The hotel itself is good nice facilities rooms are good and breakfast is good although don't know about cooked breakfast I don't tend to do it, had a couple of nights in bar they stay open to 12 and the staff were pleasent. Overall a nice hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alixares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alixares

Address: Paseo de la Sabica, 40, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alixares 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complete Alixares hotel is located opposite the stunning Alhambra, one of the most wonderful monuments in the world, and a 15-minute walk from Granada's city centre. The hotel offers its guests a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in a modern environment. Hotel Alixares offers Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the building, a reception desk open 24 hours, several fully equipped meeting and conference rooms, an Internet Point, an outdoor swimming pool, a private parking area, a bar and a restaurant, just to mention some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alixares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alixares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.