We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you just want to see the Alhambra or just relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alixares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alixares to your Saves list
Hotel Alixares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Sabica, 40, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good if you just want to see the Alhambra or just relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We drove down from Orihuela, approx 350 miles to see the Alhambra but didnt get to see it because of there ticketing system. See other peoples reviews regarding the purchasing of tickets. If you just want too see the Palace then this hotel is ideally located just across from the entrance, however , if, like us you can't get in the palace and you are only there for the day then your options are limited. Next time we visit Grenada we will stay in the city and travel up to the palace.
As regards the hotel, I cant fault it, It was clean and friendly, the receptionist persevered patiently listening to my attempts to speak in Spanish before she began to speak in English. There was a music festival on in the city during my visit so the hotel was busy with music students, some of whom were playing a piano in the lobby that added to the experience.
On the same road as the hotel there are a few souvenir shops and some other restaurants and bars but not many. We had a pleasant walk and called in for a few drinks before returning to the hotel for our evening meal.
During the evening we chose to dine at the Hotels barbeque situated on the fourt floor piazza. The hotel offered a 5% discount for guests. There was a limited view of the city and the experince was not an unpleasant one. The food was quite good as was the wine and beer and I thought reasonably priced considering the location.
The serving staff were helpful and friendly without being too intrusive or interfering, although the poor waiter did knock over our bottle of wine, which he was rather embarrased about but I found quite funny. He did however give us another complimentary bottle despite only spilling a few drops of wine. Its these little considerations that I appreciate more than a grandeous gesture.
As it was my friends wifes birthday, upon their retirement to bed they were surprised to find a gift, on ice, awaiting them from the hotel management. Needless to say we enjoyed sharing it with them.
The rooms were clean and well furnished although there are limited rooms with a balcony . Had I been staying for longer than a day I would have prefered a balcony. It might be worth requesting one If you are considering staying here. We requested adjoining rooms and the hotel duly obliged.
I can imagine the pool becoming quite busy at peak time with limited sun beds and space at a premium.
We stayed on a room only basis and paid an extra 8 euros each for breakfast. Breakfast was substantial with a good variety and choice.
We parked our car in the public car park and as hotel guestrs we got a reduced rate of 14.20 euros for 24hrs.
Because we couldnt get into the palace we took a ride on the sightseing bus that starts outside the palace, we didnt have enough time to explore because of our schedule so just stayed on the bus and didnt get off in the city. The non stop round trip took about 1hr 20 mins and cost 18 euros each.
A good hotel if you want to chill out.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony request one at the time of booking.Beds were firm and extremely comfortable, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    295
    210
    60
    33
See reviews for
159
290
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel was ideally situated for the Alhambra Palace however we would have preferred to stay in the centre of Granada as there is little to see or do in the area where the hotel is. There is a shuttle bus that runs regularly from the Alhambra to the centre of town and Granada is a vibrant busy city.
The hotel rooms were small and do not have balconys, they were clean and the breakfast on offer was adequate. Not enough outside sitting area , overall the hotel is ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Front of hotel has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent hotel, helpful staff, great food, drinks can be a bit pricey but where isn't these days, free wifi, next door to the Alhambra.

would go back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

There were 3 of us in 2 rooms and we were very happy with our accomodations. The main parts of the city were an easy walk or bus ride and Alhambra is literally across the street. The other great perk was an ATM machine on their front porch/entry way. We all thought the rooms were good and the coffee great in the bar. We tried the rooftop restaurant once and thought a bit too high priced. Walking into the city was more advantageous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Firstly it was very hard to find even with a GPS, when you book they don't warn you, even though they are aware of it!!
Checking in was slow and you felt all they were interested in was selling you tickets for the Flamenco tour!!!
It is also a hotel used for large tour groups , so the food ,buffet style was dreadful, and a la carte was bought from the buffet ,but carried by a waiter !!! The person overseeing the dining room was very abrupt and certainly unhelpful.

It's proximity to the Alhambre is great , so if you can get past the above and don't have high expectations you won't be dis appointed , 1 night is plenty. Our room was very clean and well appointed no complaints with housekeeping and we stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Alixares principally to visit the Alhambra, the entrance to which is five minutes away. But we were delighted with the hotel which had wonderful views, an excellent terrace restaurant, a delightful third-floor swimming pool, internet access, an adequate buffet breakfast and from our bedroom window we could even see the snow-capped Sierra Nevada. It would be foolish to take your car into Grenada and the bus stop for the local bus to the city centre is only minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived later in the evening after a long day of driving only to find that there were no more parking spots available. This was just the beginning of all the inconveniences we experienced. There were no staff to assist with out heavy bags. We had to unload, then drive back up the hill to the roundabout in order to then turn around to park in the lot for the Alhambra. The hotel had promised us that the parking would cost the same, but we found out differently the next day. Regardless of the parking disappointment, we entered our room only to find it was very small. On inspection of the bathroom, we initially found a unpleasant hair on the bidet, only to find additional hairs of the sort around the toilet. We were reassigned another room on a different floor (floor layouts were a maze by the way) that was even smaller. The desk was completely pointless as there was no way possible to slide the chair out - the bed was in the way. Dinner on the roof was overpriced for a grill and mediocre sangria. As I said in the title of the review, the only thing good about this experience was that we only had to walk across the street to visit Granada's best attraction, the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens. I would never recommend this hotel, unless you are a traveler that thinks a Super 8 Motel is worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alixares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alixares

Address: Paseo de la Sabica, 40, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alixares 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complete Alixares hotel is located opposite the stunning Alhambra, one of the most wonderful monuments in the world, and a 15-minute walk from Granada's city centre. The hotel offers its guests a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in a modern environment. Hotel Alixares offers Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the building, a reception desk open 24 hours, several fully equipped meeting and conference rooms, an Internet Point, an outdoor swimming pool, a private parking area, a bar and a restaurant, just to mention some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alixares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alixares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.