We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Hotel Overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya to your Saves list
Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Madrid 10, 18012 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 127 Hotels in Granada
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An OK Hotel Overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

I Stayed at the Aben Humeya for 4 nights with my family in November 2006. The Staff at reception could speak & understand some English which was helpful and were helpful enough.

I booked a triple room for £50 per night Inc breakfast but when I arrived I was given a quad suite at no extra cost which consisted for 2 interconnected rooms which had 4 single beds 2 in each room. I booked via Hotelclub.

The accommodation was clean and tastefully decorated, although the view from the hotel window was not great. There were issues which the hot water as mentioned previously by other reviewers, in the morning. 50/50 chance of getting hot water, fortunately for me I was ok but my wife was not so lucky,she had to wait 10/15mins for the hot water to be restored.

My final gripe would be the noise, not from outside but from the lift shaft ,our room was adjacent to the lift shaft and the noise was quite loud. I’m a heavy sleeper so did not bother me too much but I’m sure some people will find it disturbing. There was A/C and a radiator in the room which was not required as it was not very hot or cold. I also used the safe in the room which cost 1.75 euros per night for the key.

Breakfast was fine with large selection of items to suite everybody meats/fruits/cereals/ rolls/juice & hot drinks

The location was ok a short bus ride to the main shopping centre or plaza neva area costing 1 euro, or a cab costing 4/5 euros. However if I were to stay in Granada again I would choose some where more centrally located.

There was car parking near the hotel but it was not free I had to pay 14.50 euros for every 24 hours, i.e. overnight parking. The public car park was a 5 min walk directly opposite the hotel.

Overall a pleasant stay with no major issues helped with the fact we were given a larger room than expected.

  • Liked — The rooms were spacious
  • Disliked — Noise from the lift shaft
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for a more centrally located hotel if you can
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    60
    37
    26
See reviews for
25
60
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

This hotel is located between the university and central part of town. Not sure how close public transport is as we arrived by tour bus - we weren't the only tour group at the hotel so get to breakfast early if you want a seat in the restaurant.

It is located part way up a hill and within walking distance of the main part of the city and historic sites. There is a bank at the bottom of the hill where you can pre-book tickets to the Alhambra at a much cheaper cost than going with a tour.

The hotel has a small lobby and our room had a view of the back of an apartment building. The bathroom was small and there was variable hot water availability, like the breakfast you need to be up early to get a good experience.

If I was to stay in Granada again I would look for a hotel closer to the centre of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

I am a high school teacher and recently travelled to Spain with a group of students. This was the nicest hotel we stayed in. The rooms are very nice -- spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The road the hotel is on is under construction, but other than that, a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandlers ford
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

Visited this hotel last week (August 2005). There are major building works on the road nearby, but these are currently not in progress and the hotel was quiet (although roads are inevitably more dusty than usual) and busy (tour buses arriving when were there). Rooms comfortable with a/c and staff speak a little English. Best thing is location- 5 mins. from bus stops into city and also the stop that is for the bus to the airport. Also 5 mins, from a very pleasant park that is really nice to wander around in the evening (nice water fountain displays). Overall a pleasant hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2004

It really is a gorgeous hotel, especially for the price. The room was huge. The bathroom however was not very clean and there were dirty cups for us to use. Also, the room was freezing and on top of that, we had no hot water the morning we were leaving so I had to take a cold shower. Not the best experience. The concierge was very helpful though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2004

I was here in March 2004 on a Contiki tour..loved the fancy flat screen television, wonderful room..real big..the hotel dinner/breakfast..was wonderul..perfect..I had the best Spinach soup for dinner..felt like a queen with the incredible buffet dinner..just everything..you can imagine..and yummy variety of ice-creams for dessert...breakfast..fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, meats, cereals..everyone was really satisfied...so..great place to stay....great place to stay...

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2003

The hotel is clean, modern and has helpful staff. It is close to downtown Granada with many restuarants and bars nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya

Address: Avda de Madrid 10, 18012 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is in the tourist area of Granada, just a few meters from Gran Via, near the Cathedral of Granada, area hospitals, universities and bullring.It offers its guests facilities including a spacious lobby with lift, luggage room, a cozy cafeteria - bar and restaurant, TV lounge, opposite the hotel there is a public parking against payment, ...Its excellent salons offer a extensive catering and event service with a restaurant specializing in traditional cuisine.Other services include laundry and room service, 24 hour reception, concierge, free WIFI in the hotel lobby, wake up service, tourist attention ...Its 162 rooms, tastefully decorated, with the possibility of triple and quadruple rooms, have a full bathroom with tub and bidet, direct-dial telephone, desk, television, air conditioning and heating, a hire safe, ... There are also available hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aben Humeya
Aben Humeya Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.