We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya to your Saves list
Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Madrid 10, 18012 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Cupar Fife
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Central Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Buffet meal in evening was good as was breakfast fairly central location bedrooms are dated pleasant public areas and staff were much more friendly than ones in Sevelle and Cordoba

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    60
    36
    26
See reviews for
26
59
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

The hotel was well located, only a ten minute walk from the town centre along a lovely tree lined street. Plenty of cafes near by for breakfast. Friendly staff and clean rooms made this hotel an excellent value for money hotel. The parking is in a public car park opposite, it'snot free but it's secure and manned 24hours a day.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

I thought this would be one of the better hotels during our trip to Andalucia, but I was wrong. Our room was small and dark. The ensuite bathroom was not any better - I was practically taking a shower in the dark as the bathroom had only one light above the wash-basin. The slats of the 3rd additional bed were broken. The hotel's location is not convenient at all, and eating choices were limited outside the hotel. There were no parking, but the best thing about Spain is that on-street parking is mostly free (if you can find a spot). Breakfast was below par, and the breakfast hall resembled some cheap daggy buffet restaurant. Lastly, the hotel staff were quite unfriendly and were more concerned with their chores than attending to customers. Not recommended.

  • Liked — None.
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We (a party of 4 families with children) booked 4 quad rooms at EUR85 a night which is cheap, and deservingly so. Having stayed at a 2 star in Sierra Nevada we all felt the ratings were back to front. The first impression from the outside was one of dread, made worse by the entrance which is shared with a grotty little smokey cafe. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant enough, and the rooms were surprisingly better than the rest of the hotel. HOWEVER there was no air con, and the rooms were stiflingly hot which led us to our big mistake to sleep with the window open and be forced to listen to a party take place on the first floor. Unfurnished corridors meant you could hear everyone coming and going at all hours of the night with little concern for those that might be trying to sleep at 4 am. It was the worst nights sleep I have ever had.
The location of the Hotel is a big problem that cannot be helped. There is nowhere nearby you can eat (ie within 500m) unless you like pizza, of which there were two restuarants available, and one Argentinian which turned out to be very good despite the smokey atmosphere again. This seems to be common throughout Granada, all the good tapas bars and restuarants have opted out of the no smoking ban. Very few have dedicated areas either. There was no breakfast buffet, admittedly we didn't request it because we wanted to see what it was like first, so we were forced to have coffee and four slices of toast (as that is all the bread they had!) in the grotty smokey cafe at the front of the building. All in all a disappointing stay and the pictures make it look a lot nicer than it really was. If you have to stay, get a room at the end of the corridor away from the lifts, and get a taxi when you want to eat out. Oh and overnight parking was a ripoff at Eur15.50.

  • Liked — The spacious quad rooms
  • Disliked — THE NOISE
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

The reception area of this hotel looked nice, even if the staff there couldn't answer the simplest questions, such as where do I catch the bus to the airport. The room I stayed in was at the end of a long corridor so I didn't have too much noise from other guests, my problem was with the noise from outside. The room faced onto the Avenida de Madrid, a busy road on the edge of the student area of the city, and the windows didn't blot out any of the sound. During the night it felt like I was trying to sleep in the middle of the road, I could here the traffic, the binmen arriving at 2am, and even the conversations of people walking along the street. Not only was it noisy but it was cold, winter nights in Granada can be just above freezing and there was no heating that I could find in the room.

  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

This Aben Humeya hotel was the worst hotel I have been in. The staff are not friendly and not multilingual as was described in Hotels.com website!!!
The noise level due to the neighbors is extremely high and I heard even somebody next door snoring all night ( off course , I could not sleep). So if your a parent and are planing to take your kids here, the likely to hear the noise of a couple making love is high! Do not embarrasse yourself!
The only staff in the reception that was helpfull is the two new young ladies that were apparently in training. One of them used their intenet to print the bus schudule to Granada, while one of the senior man in the reception lied to me about not having the internet access.

I paid $523 for 5 night and It does not deserve it.
In the buffet breakfast, oranges, pears and yougourt were missing for 90% of time that I was there.
People go on vacations to relieve stres of life and this hotel was really stressful.
Please do not bother staying in, you will be disappointed
Thanks
Ahmed Hilmy
www.tripadvisor.com
Go to Site
Search the Web

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya

Address: Avda de Madrid 10, 18012 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is in the tourist area of Granada, just a few meters from Gran Via, near the Cathedral of Granada, area hospitals, universities and bullring.It offers its guests facilities including a spacious lobby with lift, luggage room, a cozy cafeteria - bar and restaurant, TV lounge, opposite the hotel there is a public parking against payment, ...Its excellent salons offer a extensive catering and event service with a restaurant specializing in traditional cuisine.Other services include laundry and room service, 24 hour reception, concierge, free WIFI in the hotel lobby, wake up service, tourist attention ...Its 162 rooms, tastefully decorated, with the possibility of triple and quadruple rooms, have a full bathroom with tub and bidet, direct-dial telephone, desk, television, air conditioning and heating, a hire safe, ... There are also available hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aben Humeya
Aben Humeya Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel M.A. Aben Humeya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.