We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good , comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana

Save Saved
You added Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Constitucion 37, 18014 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 128 hotels in Granada
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good , comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

stayed one night befor going to court next door, so a good location for the court house,
friendly staff, very clean room and a nice bar in the lobby.
If you want to avoid the hostals then this is a good economical alternative.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The best way to learn a language is to live with it. My kids have done it. So has my wife. Now it was my turn.

Spain seems like the best place to learn Spanish since that's the language's origin, as I've been reminded. So away we went.

Spanish may sound different in Spain than it does in Mexico, or South America. Since I don't speak the language to begin with, it doesn't make any difference. Before leaving for a month of travel in four cities, I took the precaution of avoiding learning any of the language since it wasn't the same as the Spanish spoken around Oregon.

I was wrong for doing that. How wrong?

The one time you want full command of any language is during a medical emergency. You want to know what's wrong, what's being done, and what to expect. We had an emergency in Granada that resulted in a four-day hospital stay. It all turned out well, but this review might assist others in a moment of similar need.

While planning a trip that includes others, review medical histories. Some in the group might feel like you are prying into their privacy, so you'll need to explain a few things.

If you have a medical emergency in a country where you don't speak the language, you'll still have to answer the routine questions. Except you won't know what's being asked.

Allergic to eggs? Had a tetanus booster within the past ten years? Any past medical history that relates to your current condition? You can answer them easily, but when asked in another language you might as well try explaining the Theory of Relativity.

Start with a list of conditions, followed by the medications taken for those conditions. If possible, translate the conditions and medications into the language of the country you plan to visit.

If you have allergies, check to see if your destination will have allergy threats. Same with asthma. If you have triggers, make sure you know to expect them.

The respiratory emergency facing me in Granada required that I find a way to get one in my party to the nearest hospital in the middle of the night. We were staying in a hotel that locked the front door from the inside so I had to find the night clerk, explain that I needed a taxi, then start all over with the taxi driver.

From Hotel America in Alhambra to a downtown hospital in the dark, I chatted with the driver in our special English/Spanish mix. At the emergency room check-in, I started the whole thing over.

Helpful words at check-in would have been 'pneumonia', 'lungs', 'infection', 'allergy', 'respiration', among many others. Helpful phrases during the five hours I sat in the waiting room would have been, "where is my wife", "may I see my wife", and “how much longer will she be here?"

With my wife admitted into the hospital I left Hotel America in Alhambra the day Michelle Obama planned her visit. I booked into the Princesa Ana Hotel across the street from the hospital and found my greatest ally in the hotel manager.

Enrique Bernardo was the calm in the storm I feared coming. I’ll admit to being rattled. I asked Mr. Bernardo the same questions every day and he answered as if hearing them the first time. Is this a good hospital? Where are the doctors during the weekend? Is smoking generally allowed in hospital rooms? Are there good places to eat nearby?

Mr. Bernardo helped transform what felt like someone coming to their wits' end in a strange place to an oasis of welcoming calm. With his anchoring presence, the storm I felt growing passed. Instead of becoming a hysterical tourist asking for the American Embassy phone number, I relaxed.

It seemed an odd feeling given the circumstances.

Then, during a visit to the hospital, I watched bullfighting on television. I looked at the matador facing the bull and realized he looked just like Enrique. Instead of planning for an encounter like a matador, Enrique found me at the door at the Princesa Ana in full flight mode. He listened to my every need and instead of shaking a cape or brandishing a sword, he settled in to help.

I knew I wasn't the only person in the Princesa Ana, but talking to Enrique Bernardo made it feel that way. His patience and grace turned the pressure down when I felt like something had to give. His kindness with a man on the verge of tears for four days speaks to the heart of the travel experience:

When as many things as you think possible have gone wrong, you're at the beginning of what can really go wrong. You can loose your luggage, your money, even your passport, but you still have your health. When health is in jeopardy, the next emotion is panic. Events often spin out of control with panic. Demands grow unreasonable. Conversations turn shrill in a second.

If Enrique Bernardo were a trained crisis manager instead of the manager of the Princesa Ana Hotel in Granada, I couldn't have been in better hands. He was generous with his time, willing to assist without being asked. For me he is the Face of Spain, a guardian angel watching over his city and visitors in need.

Thank you, Mr. Bernardo. And thank you Princesa Ana Hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We spend two nights there, clean hotel with nice amenities at a reasonable price, very quiet. Comfortable and very clean room, in the center of Granada, at a bargain price. What's not to love?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Parking direct next to Hotel! Hotel is easy to reach by car. The room was quite small, Bathroom ok but not as I expect for a 4 Star Hotel. Min. 20 Minutes Walk to Granada Citycentre. Breakfast quite good for spanish Standards. No Internet or WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

I'm not sure what makes this a 4 star hotel. When I stay at 4 star hotels, I am encompassed by luxury. This hotel was far from it. At most it is a 2 to 3 star hotel. Right from the start, the lobby reeked of smoke. The furniture looked old and the hotel, in general, was in need of renovation. Our room was small and felt dusty and dingy. The towel racks were about to fall off. I was reading some of the previous reviews and couldn't believe what I was reading, because they were so far off from my own experience here. Perhaps, this was a nice quaint hotel several years ago. Unfortunately, it has come under neglect and is in desparate need of renovation. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Ok price
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We found the Princesa Ana to be staffed by helpful, friendly people who did everything one could ask. Negatives: The hotel layout is peculiar and not particularly convenient: many stairs, hallway lighting (or lack thereof). The rooms are poorly lighted, (which is not unusual). The beds were overly firm, and television was quite small and limited in choice. The restaurant food was mediocre, but service was friendly. The hotel is a substantial distance from the Alhambra. Positives: In sharp contrast to the previous reviewer, we found the Princesa Ana to be impeccably clean, the bath more than adequate, the desk and bell staff willing to go beyond the call of duty to be helpful. In summation, the Princessa Ana should be ranked as a solid 3 star hotel, not a 4 star. We had just left the Westin Palace Hotel in Madrid, so the Princesa Ana's faults may have assumed a higher profile for us than they merited. One should not have unrealistic expectations when paying under 200 euros per night. Really not a bad place that is trying to meet its clients' needs.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness, helpfulness.
  • Disliked — Bed firmness, noise at night, restaurant food quality, poor lighting, distance from attractions.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Upon entering, the lobby was plain and quiet. Getting to the room we went through a darkened hallway. You had to search for the switch, though it was lighted, but with hands full with luggage, or later on, shopping bags or food, this is not convenient. Inside, the small TV was broken--one of the speakers was blown. The AC/Heater's filter was visibly filthy. I opened the window, and my hands became dusty from touching the curtains. Furthermore, walking on the floor my feet became grey and dusty, which was really unpleasant. The bed was not very large and my husband and I were kicking each other during the night. The sheets were visibly stained in places and smelled dusty. The pillows were lumpy. In the bathroom, which was very small, a flood of water came out despite the shower curtain, which stuck to you as you showered. Most of the towel holders were hanging off the walls just barely, which made me afraid to use them. We had allergies, but no kleenex was available.

  • Liked — location was ok, away from touristy areas.
  • Disliked — not clean. broken TV. dirty AC/heater
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana

Address: Avenida de la Constitucion 37, 18014 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel M.A. Princesa Ana is a hotel with 5 floors, renovated in 2009It is located in one of the main streets of Granada, near the Hospital Virgen de las Nieves and the Courts, in a few meters from the train station and within walking distance of the historic center.It has a spacious lobby, cafeteria, English bar, restaurant, games room and TV room. It has also a garage and luggage.To complement these features offers room service and laundry, wake up service, 24h reception, free WIFI, concierge desk, tourist attention,...Its 61 rooms, including 2 Junior Suites are equipped with bathroom with hairdryer, bath or shower, bidet, minibar, desk, hire safe, direct telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and heating, free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Ana Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel M.A. Princesa Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.