We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalupe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Guadalupe Hotel to your Saves list
Guadalupe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Sabica s/n (Alhambra) | Paseo del Generalife s/n (Alhambra), 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Turned up on spec with no booking and looking desperate so they could have hiked up the price but still we paid only 50 euros for a double room overlooking Alhambra.The receptionist was exceptionally helpful and welcoming.. With great english which was a bonus.The location was excellent with discounted parking in the Alhambra car park.As others have said, you can get into the palace complex when the doors open and get ahead of the crowds.
our room was lovely, beautifully furnished and clean.the mattress was very hard and the plumbing was noisy so more than one night might have been a problem.The jaccuzzi bath was a nice unexpected extra but some weird plumbing quirk meant that when the bath tap was opened the shower also came on.the shut off mechanism didn't function.This meant that there was a risk of scalded hands when turning the tap on and off.Hopefully fixed now as I wrote this in the feedback survey.Didnt eat there at all so cant comment on the food but would defo recommend for location as location is everything

Room Tip: We had room 411 which overlooked the alhambra estate and car park so we could see the first coach ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    218
    71
    24
    13
See reviews for
90
207
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Overall a great place to stay to visiit Alhambra. Perfect location and easy access to the palace and grounds. We were in Granada for 9 nights and the only downside of our holiday was the uncomfortable mattresses on the beds, very hard with no flexibility to support the spine. The result was a nagging low back pain and a longing to get back home for a comfortable nights sleep. We did explain at reception after the first night about our discomfort and were offered other rooms on the same floor but the mattresses were all the same. We had to sleep on top of the duvet and blankets for a bit more comfort. On checking out a person on reception said mattresses were probably better in rooms on the 3rd floor and on checking they were. Surely as we were staying for over a week we could have been offered a move to the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms at the back of the hotel have nice views of Alhambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent two nights at the Guadalupe whilst on a short visit to Granada.
The hotel is literally one hundred metres from the entrance to the palace which was perfect because we hadn't booked tickets and therefore could get up early before all the horrendous queues.
The hotel was very clean, staff were helpful and I couldn't think of any problems whatsoever..
We never used the restaurant so can't comment on the food although the restaurant itself looked very nice.
It's a short walk down the hill into the old quarter of Granada with lots of restaurants and interesting narrow streets to explore.
A bus runs quite regularly back up the hill however the walk is hardly challenging.
All in I would highly recommend this hotel for a short visit to Granada.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We reserved this hotel because of its location directly across the street from the Alhambra. It was also convenient because we had a car and we could get to the hotel without going through Granada's old city. Parking was in the Alhambra's parking lot at a slight discount (although it was still expensive). When we arrived the hotel could not find our reservation even though I had a copy of the reservation from my email account. The man at the desk did end up putting us in a suite which must have been the only room available. After a few hours everything was worked out. The room was very nice with a view of the parking lot of the Alhambra. The bathroom was a little old but was clean. We had a continental breakfast with our room. When we entered the breakfast room there was a large buffet but the food was just average. We thought we could eat any of the food on the buffet as no one told us differently. However, when we checked out we were charged a significant upgrade fee for eating the "hot breakfast". This seemed ridiculous given the fact that there was no direction on what was included in what breakfast and my wife and daughter never had any hot food (only the continental breakfast food). The Alhambra is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was very convenient on the day we visited the Alhambra. The walk down to the old city of Granada takes about 15 minutes going down and about 20-30 minutes coming back UP to the hotel. It's very quiet around the Alhambra in the evening when all the tourists have left. Overall this was a decent hotel but we had a few issues with the hotel that left us with a less than desirable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Classy and very convenient for visiting the Alhambra since the main entrance is just down the street. Good choice if you are driving without having to drive through the maze of the old center of town. Spacious room. Quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fumel, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Perfect for visiting the Alhambra Palace Literally just across the road, so have a 6 euro continental breakfast and then visit the Palace. (Book in avance for about 10.30 and then go in about 10.45 and avoid the crowds).
The staff were lovely and 'went that extra mile' - especially the young lady in the restaurant.
The decoration of the room was inkeeping with the situation of the hotel and it was warm and comfy and had plenty of hot water.
The menu, although quite large was fairly limited in choice. I had a steak which although I had asked for rare was very well done, but . . . it was delicious!
The only possible negative was the price of the parking at 15 euros a day. We felt this was well worth the cost as it was directly opposite the hotel in the Palace grounds and had 24 security.
Considering the more than reasonable cost of the hotel this didn't seem dear.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is just across the Alhambra's Gardens, ticket offices and forests. It offers great view and also allows you to enjoy the fresh air even in the early hours. The rooms are silent and gives you the opportunity of getting rest well. The rooms with jacuzzi are also a plus to be mentioned.
It definitely has the optimum price quality deal.
Although it is a bit out of the city, it take 10 minutes to walk to the city center following a lovely green walkway. Plus small buses and city sight seeing buses pass very close to hotel. I have stayed twice in the same hotel for more than 2 nights and definitely suggest it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher floors have better view on the side of Alhambra. Rooms with jacuzzi are unmiss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Paseo de la Sabica s/n (Alhambra) | Paseo del Generalife s/n (Alhambra), 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with charme from 1969.Recently whole renovated, and ideally situated opposite the main entrance of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens A pleasant walk of 15 minutes through the magic woods forest of the Alhambra separes our Hotel from the historic centre city of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel Monachil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalupe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.