We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but would have stayed elsewhere had we known...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Triunfo Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Triunfo Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Triunfo Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   s/n Plaza del Triunfo 19, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok, but would have stayed elsewhere had we known...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I having been traveling trough out Spain staying in both hostels and high end hotels to get a feel for both types of experiences. Pulling up to the Triunfo there were a bunch if ruff-neck teenagers in the square across from the hotel. Fine, not a huge deal but not what you want to see near your hotel when in a strange city. Hotel is not situated in the best neighborhood, wouldn't go walking at night. Lastly while the website advertises air conditioned rooms they don't have it available year round. Although it's October our room is hot and we can't open the windows because the hotel is on a busy/noisy corner. Had we known of these things we probably would have booked another location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leverkusen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in september 2011. We arrived by car and were lucky to find free parking nearby (parking at the hotel costs 12 euros per night). The guy at the front desk was friendly and immediately gave us a map of Granada and explained how to get to the main sights, all within walking distance from the hotel. The room was of normal size and everything seemed pretty old, but clean. The only thing not so great was some mold beneath the silicone sealings in the bathroom - but that is hard to avoid without doing a complete renovation. Pros of the room: good air-conditioning (effective, but rather quiet) and good windows (no noise from outside), so we slept very well. The room had a connecting door, but our neighbors were quiet. Breakfast was included and was surprisingly good: although the buffet was not very big, they had everything that belongs to a good breakfast - don't miss the freshly cut fruit!
The only thing that really bothered me was that our room was cleaned although we had put outside the do-not-disturb sign all day (since we left laptop and GPS in the room and didn't want anyone to be tempted). But everything was still there when we returned.
Overall the hotel was better than we expected from the reviews and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We made a roundtrip through Andalusia and stayed in this hotel for one night.. We liked it very much.

Near some busy roads, the hotel lies unexpectedly quit near the old jewish quarter of Granada. This cosy part of the city is in walking distance.

Our room was very good. Not very big, but clean, comfortable and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom is fully equiped. The rooms are well isolated, to block any noise from the outside.

The staff is very friendly. The hotel has a terrace at the little square. There is a private parkinggarage, where you can park your car for about 12 euros a day. A good service, because of the lack of parkingspace in the surroundings of the hotel.

We did not have dinner here, but breakfast was very good. Not a full english breakfast, but enough choice and everything fresh.

We certainly recommend Triunfo!

  • Liked — The decoration of the hotel. It has a great atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The minibar was poorly equiped: 2 bottles of water and 2 bottles of juice.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

This was a marvelous hotel. The room a little small (which seems to be the norm in Spain, from what I've seen and also heard from other travelers), but beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was good-sized, and even had a bidet! Our room was opposite an apartment building. The little amenities like soap, shampoo, etc, never seemed to stop. They even left us a sewing kit, dental kit, shaving kit, shoeshine kit--wow! Now, the best part was the breakfast, which they start to serve at 730, a very un-Spanish time but great for us tourists. They had a great selection of cereals, pastries, breads, cheese, chorizo and salchichon, Iberian ham, yoghurt, fresh fruit, coffee, chocolate or tea. If that wasn't enough, for no extra charge they'll cook you some eggs and bacon. It was wonderful! All this for 49 euros a night plus I think about 10 euros each for breakfast (I'm not quite sure about the breakfast price as my traveling companion paid this bill), which you have to pay whether you take the breakfast or not (but why skip it?)--that is still only 69 euros a night!
There is no free internet, but right across the street is a place where you can access the internet for only 30 cents for 15 minutes. The staff at the internet spot (I couldn't actually call it a cafe, although they sell snacks) is very friendly and helpful, even though they don't speak English, and my Spanish leaves a lot to be desired.
The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the Cathedral, etc, although you can walk there in perhaps 15-20 minutes. That being said, we caught a bus for the Alhambra right across the street. The busses come by VERY frequently, and it only costs a euro to go to the Alhambra, which I wouldn't recommend walking to, it's a real hike UP a hill. Of the three hotels we stayed in in Spain, this was the best, and a great bargain. Loved it!

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

We only paid 53.50 eur by booking through Travelocity (rack rate was over 100 eur when we got there). The room was quite small (I think they had squeezed 2 beds into a one-bed room), but for the price we didn't mind. The excellent double glazing kept out all the noise. It was easy to find by car if you follow the directions on the hotel website and approach from the right side of town. They do have payable parking but it is un an underground carpark accessed by lift (so your car needs to fit into the lift OK).

If you turn left and immediately left on leaving the hotel there is a bar on that street open in the mornings for breakfast at a fraction of the hotel's price!

The only downside (nothing to do with the hotel) was that c/Elvira nearby was full of drug users urinating, fighting and vomiting in the street most afternoons. I'd recommend walking into the centre via the noisier Gran Via de Colon if this is likely to bother you!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2004

I travel around Spain a lot (I live here too). I'm not quite rich and not quiet poor, so I look for hotels that are clean and comfortable with good locations, have some character to them, and are reasonably priced. This is one of those rare hotels. The rooms feel slightly luxurious, have nice bathrooms, are fairly large, have comfortable beds, and are nicely & comfortably decorated. The staff is friendly and helpful too. As well, the hotel is also perfectly located on the edge of the Albayzin, meaning it’s not too far a walk from the Alhambra, the Generalife, and the Cathedral (if you don't want to walk...a bus to the Alhambra stops just around the corner).

The restaurant at the hotel has a presentable buffet breakfast and I found the staff there to be friendly and courteous as well. If you want to have a great dinner in a cozy restaurant in Granada I’d recommend: Restaurante Pizzeria La Ninfa on Plaza Campo del Principe. Don’t forget to have a tea at the Kasbah "teteria" in the Abayzin either. Both are in reasonable walking distance from the hotel with the restaurant being a little further away.

To sum up: The Hotel Triunfo Granada is one of our "keeper" hotels and it has yet to disappoint. I guarantee you can spend the same or more money on a hotel in Granada and get far less.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2004

This hotel was a bit difficult to find; Granada doesn't believe in posting visible street signs, so even a map isn't of much help, and the hotel would benefit from some signposting of its own. That having been said, this was a tremendous bargain at 70 euros a night. Right at the edge of the Albaicin district and a short walk from the Alhambra and the city center. Very nice, clean, well-appointed room, marbled bath (plenty of hot water and good shower pressure!), extensive free buffet breakfast. Staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Wonderful hotel bar as well, free tapas with drinks. Restaurant is top quality. Only complaint: our room opened on the Plaza de Triunfo, which on weekend nights tends to be filled with loud revelers until quite late in the morning. Definitely would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Triunfo Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triunfo Granada

Address: s/n Plaza del Triunfo 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Triunfo Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Triunfo Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Triunfo Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.